We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I rarely get away from our children, so when we do I like to try and make it count. We were in town for a Pirates Hockey game and looking for a place to stay. I wanted a room with a fire place and a jacuzzi for two and the Fireside Inn had one. The price for the room was at least $100 less than it would have been anywhere else and that is what attracted me to book the room. I am so glad I did! We ended up staying in their honeymoon suite which I highly recommend to anyone and everyone. The suite was two rooms with the bedroom being separate. The bedroom had a beautiful gas fireplace, a large flat screen TV, and a really nice Jacuzzi. I could have spent a week in that room. The other room had a nice small kitchenette, dining table, sofa, and TV. What really impressed me was how clean the room was. Every nook and cranny was wiped down and spotless. The other thing I loved was the products they use. I had forgotten my shampoo and thought that I was going to have to use the crappy hotel ones that are provided. I was so excited when I saw they use Bath and Body products. I do agree that the hotel is dated, but it's not worn down at all. All the furnishings are clean and nice looking. The shower/bath/jacuzzi/kitchen all look brand new because you can tell they keep them extremely clean. Even though the linens in pictures look like those cheesy ones from the 90's they aren't nearly as bad in person. I told my husband we have to go back once a month. It was such a nice relaxing stay and yet didn't cost us an arm and a leg. Thank you for such an incredible room at such an affordable price!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Lindsay W,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.com. I am so happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed a romantic weekend getaway with us! I have passed along your kind words to all of the staff here at the Fireside. My housekeepers are ecstatic to hear you noticed all of the details they put into cleaning the rooms, they don't miss a beat! We are thrilled to hear you will be joining us again soon, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    27
    8
    23
See reviews for
35
28
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First of all the staff is very pleasent and that is much appreciated. Breakfast is basic but you can surely get bye. The overall building needs $$$ put into it, it's older. The beds are fine and the room was clean. Might consider other choices when returning to area, just to compare prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v1960t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear v1960t,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff here at the Fireside Inn & Suites! I appreciate your comments about our facility. We are an older property and we take into consideration the different areas in need of improvement based on feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass along your comments on the cleanliness of your room to the housekeeping staff- they are some of the best!! We hope to see you next time you are in Auburn!

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was hesitant to stay here based on some of the bad reviews and the price but we are travelling with 2 dogs which limits our choices. The base rate was $109 which was fine but $20/pet and tax brought it to $160 which is much higher than we have been paying on our cross country road trip. I must say that other than that our stay was great. The room was spacious, clean and everything worked. We had a microwave and refrigerator. Most surprising was a Keurig coffee maker. I have never seen this before in a motel. The breakfast was more than adequate with both cold and hot items. And you could sit down at the tables in the adjoining pub which was closed so plenty of tables. The grounds were great for our dogs with huge grassy areas. We were given a water bowl and dog biscuits at registration. We also got a small crème filled chocolate cake treat, like a devil dog as well. All this good stuff and we were in the old section of the motel in a pet room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear patandjon,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Inn. I am so happy you decided to give us a chance and had a great stay! I am sorry you found our pet-fee to be priced too high; we keep the fee at a “per pet” rate due to the extra time that goes into the cleaning of those rooms. I am happy you enjoyed all of the treats provided at check-in. You can look forward to receiving a whoopie pie, dog dish, and having a Keurig Coffee maker in the room anytime you stay at a Fireside Inn & Suites! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We began our 7 day vacation spending the night here. Made reservation based on the website. Big mistake! The only thing this hotel has going for it was the friendly staff. Period! Dark, damp, dirty rooms ... even when switched because first room on the ground floor was even more unacceptable and disgusting than the second floor one. This place needs a TOTAL overall from floors to ceilings. We paid more to stay at his shabby inn than any of the other wonderful establishments that followed! Very disappointed. :(

Room Tip: My tip --- do NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear E O,
I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy our accommodations. We are an older motel and with this summer being so wet and dreary it did give some of our rooms a dark, damp feel to them. I’m sorry you were unhappy with your free upgrade to our deluxe fireplace room. Being on the second floor these rooms usually get the most daylight and having a view of our courtyard usually would help to lighten the feel of the room. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Fireside Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about this place as it was located just off the highway. But, the front desk lady was so welcoming to me, and gave me personal attention all the way to my room in the newly renovated section of the hotel. Upon rising the complimentary breakfast was far more than I'd ever seen in a hotel. I slept well....no truck noise from the highway. The 2nd nite my TV did not work, so I was moved to an even better newer renovated room; I felt like royalty at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay at a hotel that may look like a truck stop. All was well at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanceb1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear nanceb1439,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fireside Inn & Suites. I am happy to hear you gave us a chance and had a wonderful stay! I apologize for the television acting up on your second night here; we were in the midst of a major turn-over and unfortunately it caused disruption for some of the TV’s (all which have now been resolved). I am happy to hear my front desk clerks were very helpful in making sure you were comfortable! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Auburn!

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed there for the balloon fest. The room was a little out dated. the bed was very comfortable. The free breakfast was very nice for the weekend. the staff was very nice and help full. Was a little high in price. thought the place would be nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannhanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear maryannhanlon,
Thank you for taking a moment to review us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Auburn for the Great Falls Annual Balloon Festival. It is a busy time of year for us and always helps us to wind down the summer. I would like to thank you for your opinion of our rooms. We are always trying to update our rooms by adding modern amenities such as the Keurig coffee brewer and Bath & Body Works products, but being an older building it does have a more vintage feel to it. I’m happy to hear my staff was helpful and accommodating to you during your stay and that you enjoyed the continental breakfast. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was small and crowded with furniture. Carpet was really dirty and sticky. Tiny bathroom. When I turned on the shower faucets, the escutcheons were loose and moved exposing holes in the tile. The lobby was really outdated, but the people at the front desk were friendly. I would, nevertheless not recommend this as a place to stay

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Rita M,
I’m sorry to hear you had an unpleasant visit during your recent stay with us at the Fireside. I agree with you that there is a lot of furniture in the rooms; however we like to accommodate to all guests so all needs are met. Also, I would like to note that not all rooms are as small as the particular room that you were in. I will be passing along the information regarding the shower faucets to our maintenance department to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Amanda Fyfe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
5.3 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites
Address: 1777 Washington Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel featuring an array of room types. Fireside Inn & Suites offers large two-room suites with kitchenettes, deluxe hotel style rooms, and economically priced motel-style accommodations. Fireside Inn & Suites is conveniently located at exit 75 off the Maine Turnpike, 4 miles from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Auburn
Fireside Inn & Suites Auburn, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing