We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent food.”

Rolandeau's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent food.”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have been going to Rolandeau's weekly for over 10 yrs. and Never had a Bad meal. Everything from Seafood, to Best Lamb ever, to Prime Rib, fresh Caesar salad with homemade dressing, wonderful desserts and beyond. We love to sit in the Bar with Nick, who keeps Us laughing the whole meal. Its a Dining experience NOT just a meal. We have eaten in some of the BEST restaurants in Vegas, Portland, the Caribbean and beyond and Rolandeau's is right there with them. Excellent is an understatement !!
C.C.Cummings

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CCCummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You Pay for the atmosphere, but the food is good”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great french onion soup, cooked a long time by a master soup maker. Prime rib was okay, Seafood was superor to most in Lewiston-Auburn.. Service was much to be desired.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
422 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We won't go back”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A large restaurant with heavy, dark interior from another era. An impressive, expansive menu that doesn't match up with the product. Service was less than impressive. The greeter expressed surprise that we would show up without a reservation, when only a couple of the other, numerous, tables were occupied. The food was not as well prepared as we expected. In short, I doubt we will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northshore,Ma.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hell's Kitchen”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Run away--do not walk My friend and I were surprised to see prime rib on the lunch menu. We ordered the prime rib plus chicken. First we did order an appt. --It arrived lukewarm. That alone shoul have alerted us. When our lunch came everything was cool. The waitress said the cook would warm it. Well that would not be acceptable; and asked for the chef. He came to the table ready to snatch the meals for the microwave. I said the would not do. He put his hand in my face ; and proceeded to criticize us in no uncertain terms. We were frightened and asked the waitress for the check to include what we ate and drank. We paid the bill ; and gave the waitress a generous tip.(She was great.) What a schocker.The interior was nice; but the (chef/owner ) certainly does not respect his customers. How could he stay in business?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BlaiseNorthshore_Ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Old Style" is Sometimes Appreciated”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

While carpets and booth seats may need overhaul, the charm of Rolandeaus is the feeling of stepping back in time, or maybe visiting Sleeping Beauty's castle about 60 yers into the100 years sleep. At our anual Easter trek, we find the food is excellent, the white table cloths and real table settings are elegant, the same kind and stately waiter in his black suit and starched shirt is comfortable. When I am there March 31, browsing the very formal menu of succulent selections for Easter dinner appetizer, entree and dessert, I will order the Rob Roy. No other coctktail matches the mood.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocasta531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rolandeau's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rolandeau's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing