We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Look, it's no Four Seasons, but I have now stayed at this property twice, both times for activities associated with Bates College. This place gets a lot of use from Batesies and their parents, of which I am one, around move-in weekend and Parents and Family Weekend, [they DO seem to raise prices and/or limit any discounts at those times :-( ]. You can't beat the proximity to campus. (~5 minutes). The rooms are very clean, the lobby is nicer than I expected (though this is the only Hilton Garden Inn I've ever visited), with complementary coffee in the morning and "spa" waters and a tasty cranberry/oatmeal "welcome bar/cookie" throughout the day, a bar that I visited and the restaurant which I didn't. Wi-fi (free for guests) is everywhere. Sara at the front desk is wonderful. The beds are advertised as adjustable for comfort, though mine seemed to be stuck on extra firm no matter where I moved the pointer. The small suite with a balcony and view of the Androscoggin River is perfect if you're travelling with a child (to sleep on the sofa/sleeper in the living room). It is near a number of good restaurants and again, the most important things to me are the cleanliness and the proximity to the Bates campus. Housekeeping does a wonderful job. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Androscoggin River/Great Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    198
    52
    15
    13
See reviews for
180
161
36
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The room was comfortable and spacious (king size bed) with a microwave and refridgerator. The website did not advertise a fitness center but I was happy to find out they had one. The fitness center had decent equipment with two treadmills, one elliptical, a stationary bike and weights. There was a pool and hot tub but did not get a chance to stay in it. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions to where we needed to go. There was complimentary coffee in the morning and fruit water and snacks in the afternoon. The only thing I wished they offered was a complimentary breakfast. There was a bar/dining area where breakfast could be ordered but we never ate there as it was cheaper to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice room, decent hotel. Paid for a King suite and got a one-room hotel room (slightly larger than normal) for an excessive price; a price I might pay for a 2-room suite (that is what was advertised). Very small pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was here for business overnight. The hotel has a kind of fake luxury; it looks very good but is not wholly comfortable. The pillows were lumpy (small squares) and the bedding insufficient for fall in Maine. The staff was very good. The pool is a pretty indoor pool, quite small, and the hot tub was very clean. Dinner at the hotel was just average. I wish I'd found another place to eat. The waterfalls outside the hotel were lovely. The business part of the trip was excellent, with adequate equipment and service (we ate breakfast and lunch). Parking was easy and plentiful. Bring black electrical tape: there are lots of little lights all over the room when the lights are out. My room had minifridge, microwave and Kerig coffeemaker.

Room Tip: Bring black electrical tape: there are dozens of little lights on from the various electrical gadget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The wedding reception was held here and we got a room at a special rate. The room was very nice even though we did not upgrade to a riverview room. There was a football team that arrived late in the evening but if we hadn't opened our window we would not have heard them. The halls were clean and very quiet. The food for the wedding was really good. The maple, walnut glazed pork was great. The staff was very helpful and polite. We went down for the breakfast and beat the football team by about 30 minutes and so we got to dine in quiet. The cooked to order omelet was perfection! There was secured parking and we really enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Redwing227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Turn the lights off in this very expensive room and you can still read a newspaper from all the ambient and extraneous light! From clock radio to the TV to the microwave and hairdryer, all appliances were lit. The smoke detectors and thermostat were lit. Add to that the light leaking under the door, through the peep hole and around the draperies, and there was no way to darken the room enough to sleep. From now on I will travel with a black out kit of black electrical tape and opaque material to blot the offending light. But I would like to know what the point of all those lit appliance is.

The hotel was remiss in curtailing the noise and commotion in the third floor hallway that sounded like a cross between a polo match and wind sprints until well after midnight.

All in all I had a miserable and expensive night at the Hilton Garden Inn in Auburn.

Room Tip: The Great Falls are a lovely sight, but noisy. Choose side away from the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadNancy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the Garden Inn in Auburn for a night on a business trip. The room was very spacious with a spacious bathroom and view over the river and waterfalls which was very nice. The breakfast offered a good choice of everything you need including made to order omelets and eggs. It's walking distance from the city centre streets offering a variety of shops, bars and restaurants. Definitively a good address in Auburn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Marcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
2.6 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Address: 14 Great Falls Plz, Auburn, ME 04210-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing