We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Museum

Nice smaller Museum. Lots of information about the prison. Told of a couple of attempted escapes... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2018
Brenda p
via mobile
Interesting insight to a penitentiary.

I visited the Museum early in the morning and enjoyed lunch there also. The museum has a lot of... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2018
Patricia1209
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
33
19
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
19
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop worth a visit fascinating place electric chair prison grounds state penitentiary inmates weapons death dolls guard confiscated video louisiana information housing history
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 56 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the museum. It was clean and informative. Many things that were macabre and dark. A great piece of Louisiana history! Buy the Hot Sauce! Its amazing!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank isaacbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

I was one of a bus load of travelers who were on a Mississippi River stream boat trip. The Prison employee who led our tour was very articulate and interesting. We toured the grounds, had a presentation in the Chapel by a prisoner who has earned his college degree within the prison, and then went to the Museum and gift shop. The latter are modest but interesting and the souvenirs are good quality.

Prisoners demonstrated several of their jobs which include training bloodhounds for police and sheriff departments all over the US and raising and training work horses. Other prisoners grow and process vegetables for the 6000 prisoners there as well as those at 4 other state facilities.

I most certainly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank VirginiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2015

Our group had already taken a guided tour of Angola Prison before we stopped at this museum just outside the main gate. Having only recently visited the historic Red Hat Cellblock and its gruesome execution chamber, gawked out the bus window at the Death Row complex, and seen enough prisoners, barbed wire and guard towers to last me a lifetime, I thought this museum would have little worthwhile to show me. I was wrong. This is actually a very fascinating place in its own right. The inmate weapons exhibits alone make a visit worthwhile, and this is not to mention the prisoner rodeo exhibit, the realistic cell, the prisoner casket, the prison hearse, or the “Gruesome Gertie” electric chair replica.

The museum gift shop has some interesting souvenirs. One is a t-shirt that has cell bars and an inscription that reads: Angola—A Gated Community.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2015

We participated in a tour of the prison grounds, chapel and museum as part of a tour organized by a Mississippi River Cruise.Our bus of passengers was accompanied by a member of the administrative staff from the prison and on our way to the site we heard of the history and the current situation at Angola prison. When we arrived at the chapel, which was indeed inside the prison we met with a prisoner who shared with us his story. He had found peace through religion and his narrative was passionate and full of much praise for the warden who had established a seminary within Angola. Unlikely as it may seem the warden, Burl Cain, dropped in and addressed our group. It was later explained to us that this had never happened before and it was emphasized how fortunate we were to have met this esteemed gentleman. As we walked between the two chapels and then back to our bus we did pass by groups of prisoners. The prisoner who addressed us earlier met us at the check out point and we shook hands,everyone wishing him well.We then went to the museum and gift store before again departing through the extensive grounds of Angola and back to our boat. It was an interesting experience ... not uncomfortable but really awkward. The men we passed were respectful and pursuing their daily routines but I found the experience to be somewhat voyeuristic.We did hear a lot about financial cuts that had deeply affected the institution so I suppose the tour provides a source of income for Angola.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015

A bit out of the way but worth the visit. Very interesting. It is right across from the main entrance to the prison which i took a photo of but was warned about, oops. Electric chair, prison cells and a lot of history.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank lammylammyts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews