We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is your average Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is your average Hampton”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I always stay here when passing thru on business. I will probably next time too. But that's mainly because the other options are not as good.

This has no real bearing on my "average" rating but it is worth noting - on my last visit here I had reserved a suite and it was unavailable when I checked in due to some folks staying a few extra days. It happens. But hey, they should have been moved to a different room to accommodate my arrival. Pretty sure I didn't get a rate reduction either for the lessor room, but not complaining as it's all about the points.

I do recommend the place, but will be watching the reviews.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnitedMillionMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your feedback.

Our goal is to exceed your expectations and I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you so we can strive to score even higher with you on your next trip. Please feel free to ask for me on your next visit or call me at any time.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    95
    40
    26
    10
See reviews for
128
56
25
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff in this hotel is 1 of the 2 best I've ever encountered anywhere in the world! Near airport, great room layouts with the window directly in front of the bed in some rooms instead of beside the bed. I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

The room layout is nice in this hotel. I would recommend you try one of our Studio Suites next time you are in town.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My stay at the Hampton Inn in Alexandria, Louisiana was the typical busy business trip I frequently make. Being a frequent traveler, I encounter many different hotels and attitudes, which range from awesome to poor. This stay was slightly different because I left something in my room. I was worried at first but when I called the hotel back, Hannah at the front desk had already started to handle my problem. I was going to ask if they could mail the small item to my home and she had already boxed it up in anticipation of doing just that. She only waited to confirm my address, which was a smart thing to do because I recently moved and my Hilton Honors profile had not been updated yet. Traveling for business is not always the best time, but when the hotel staff members are in good spirits and have awesome cheerful attitudes, it makes for a much better experience. One of the staff even made some great recommendations for the local cuisine. The next night, the staff recommended some delivery, since I was too tired to go out but was fairly hungry after working 12 hours. I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I come to this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

Hannah does a great job for us and I will be sure to share your comments with her and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were scheduled to stay for just 4 nights and had to extend to 9 and for those 9 days we couldn't have asked for a more friendly, helpful, and welcoming staff. Many thanks to Desmone and Hannah.

The buffet had the usual suspects of bread, bagels, English and pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. The hot breakfast changed each day some days scrambled eggs, western omelet, steak and eggs, or cheese omelet. The meat selection varied too.

At the end of the day, there are cookies at reception....known to my great granddaughter as "secret cookies". One night after dinner when we came back to the hotel all of the "secret cookies" were gone. When I saw Jennifer (the lady who manages breakfast) in the morning I told her of my great grands disappointment that there weren't any more cookies. Jennifer offered to bake her some! Now how often does that happen? Thank you Jennifer!

The room was clean and comfortable and a respite from some very trying days.

A short drive from the hotel there are two very good restaurants. Verona Italian whose owner, Tony Fracatti, is very welcoming and makes you feel a part of the family and the food is very good. You have to try the Lemoncello Mousse Cake. We found this restaurant to be a favorite with locals

The other is the Cajun Landing and as the name implies Cajun food that was very good. The bread is simply divine and melts in your mouth. Save room for the dessert. Another local favorite.

Another restaurant is Spirits that is more of a sports bar with a limited menu that is a favorite of locals, but wasn't for us.

We appreciate the attitude of all of the staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

The winter storms have been a challenge for us this year. I know you were not thrilled about having to extend your stay but we are glad to know your stay was enjoyable. We pride ourselves in providing great hospitality and it is great to hear the positive feedback.

Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRY, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place was like a home away from home. Great place to stay. I will stay here again. The service was great. The staff help me find a route to make it to my business meeting safely during the ice storm. The rooms were also clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Managed to stay at the Hampton Alexandria during the snow ice storm in late Jan. The Hotel staff was very helpful during the snow in helping us find places to eat close by and routes to our destinations each day as I 49 was shut down. Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 692ckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianpolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very nice and well maintained hotel. Staff is very courteous, friendly and efficient. I stay here every year and will continue to do so. May be just a touch pricey - but that is driven by the competition for rooms during the week I am in Alexandria.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Curtiss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.


We welcome feedback from our guests, whether it is positive or it is constructive criticism. Please rest assure that your issue with the tub has been addressed and we are taking the necessary action to correct the issues you experienced.

Again thank your kind words. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#5 of 24 in Alexandria
336 reviews
6.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Alexandria
7.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
#9 of 24 in Alexandria
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Address: 6124 W Calhoun Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-5067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing