We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck with charges-no flexibility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Booked a room at this Alexandria hotel for ball tournament. On Friday before tournament got changed to different city due to weather conditions. This hotel would NOT refund our money even after talking with corporate. Really makes me NEVER want to use Holiday Inn for ANY reservations. Where is customer service in this day of each hotel chain fighting for customers???? Will never, ever stay at Holiday Inn again!!!!!! Watch your reservations everyone!

Room Tip: Never choose this location! They will not help you when circumstances change..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear TLC337,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Alexandria.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Made my reservation on line. Had a busy day at the hospital and clinics. My 80 year old father in law needed a good bed, so it was a no-brainer: Holiday Inn always has the best beds. WRONG.
Checked in at 2am, requested late check out, "no problem"; the guy at the desk wrote it down. Sitting on the beds was like sitting on a pile of rocks. Laying down was worse. The queen beds in our room felt like 30 year old box springs. It was not going to be a good night's rest (no other rooms available swap into either).
At about 8am, Housekeeping came around, beating on doors and yelling their entry alert. We didn't have a "Do not disturb" sign, not that could be found anyway. Housekeeper comes pushing in. What happened to our late check out? She had no such note. Said they were full and needed to get rooms ready. So what then? She was wanting us to get up and leave? Went to the front desk. The morning clerk was busy. Said she had no note of a late check out for our room, and besides, they were busy right now. RUDE. It was time to get away from this place.
Leaving, the hallway was strewn with dirty laundry and barely passable. Had to pick our way through the piles of sheets and towels. Passing the desk again, the clerk wished us a good day. Really?
I am sold out for Holiday Inn, and have been for many, many years, and will continue to be. This location...if it was my first experience, would be my last; I'd be disgusted and never want to set foot in another H.I.E.
If you need a good room in the area, try Sleep Inn across the river in Pineville.

Room Tip: I suppose the better rooms are....somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We are so sorry that you encountered problems with your stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you when you are in our area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a clean hotel with adequate facilities and is typical of what can be expected from this organization. The staff should learn something about nearby businesses (restaurants, hair dressers, etc). They seemed genuinely to know little or nothing about what was nearby or even a few miles away and how to access these services. That was the major failing of this hotel. A nod to the attendant in the breakfast room, who was helpful and kept the food complete and fresh. Glass in a hotel room may be expensive but plastic glasses are not adequate.

Room Tip: This hotel 'did the job' required for us for the short time we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Jerry T,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay. I am happy you like our clean hotel and attendant at the breakfast room. However, please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet expectations. I apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the some aspects of staff service you received. Your comments have been forward to the appropriate departments so that any necessary improvements can be made.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next trip the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Four GREAT days of rest, jacuzzi tub, rest, jacuzzi tub, and more rest. A fridge for my wine and food, and I was SET!! Never left the room for two whole days of solitude. Needed peace and quiet retreat and the front desk was very accommodating!! Roomy FABULOUS King bed that was the most comfortable I have experienced. I even asked the front desk the brand of the mattress so I can order one for myself at home!! Final day, I found the breakfast bar and was pleasantly surprised. The cinnamon rolls were hot and tasty!! Coffee and juice abundant. Cookies at the front desk and free bottle of water for the road upon departure. All around GREAT experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were very pleased with everything this hotel had to offer. The room was always clean, as was every area that we passed through. The beds were really comfortable and it was quiet. Not only was check-in quick and pleasant, but the staff also made sure we had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend for business trips or personal stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kem J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to know our loyal members are pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Roomy King room. Extremely Clean with all the necessary amenities. All of the staff I encountered were extremely friendly, including front desk, management, and housekeeping. Hotel provided special treats for the guests such has a "Happy Hour" in the evening where soft drinks, wine and snacks were available in the very large community room. Coffee was also available 24/7. A variety of hot, baked cookies were made available at the front desk. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel. The only thing that was of concern was that we had a ground floor room along the rear side of the hotel. There are no other buildings behind it and it has a wooden privacy fence; however, the window was covered with heavy sheers but the drapes did not close, they only framed the sheers. If anyone had wanted to go behind the building they could have probably been able to see into the room. I would prefer to have the choice of closing the drapes.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor and make sure that the drapes can be closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Large king room. Clean. Great breakfast! Helpful staff. Only complaint: make sure your room is away from the stairway. Door to stairway slams unbelievably hard and loud. Woke me at 6 AM. This was after my door handle was jiggled - my room was the last door on the left - stairway was last door on the right. Also, try to get room on top floor - less walking around noise from upstairs.

Room Tip: Away from stairway - top floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer satisfaction is always our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
#10 of 24 in Alexandria
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#6 of 24 in Alexandria
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Address: 2340 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $106 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria LA Hotel Near Popular Attractions and Businesses You will enjoy a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Alexandria, Louisiana, conveniently located three miles from Alexandria International Airport (AEX). Lodging at our Alexandria Airport hotel puts you in close proximity to local Louisiana attractions and businesses. The whole family will love staying at our Alexandria Holiday Inn Express which is just three miles from the Alexandria Zoo. After visiting more than 600 animals, immerse yourself in the beautiful, local works permanently exhibited at the Alexandria Museum of Art. Those who enjoy the outdoors can spend time, three miles from this Alexandria hotel, at the Kisatchie National Forest. Are you in town on business? Don't settle for just any hotel in Alexandria when you can lodge at our hotel, conveniently located near Rapides Regional Medical Center, Union Tank, St Francis Cabrini Hospital and Proctor & Gamble. Also, our Alexandria Airport hotel offers 650 square feet of meeting space, so you can host on-site meetings. We also provide copying, faxing, and printing services. Our Alexandria Airport hotel cares for you by offering free high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. You can unwind in the Fitness Center or swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy a good night's rest in our triple-sheeted beds. Call today for our Alexandria hotel's rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing