We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel wasn't anything remarkable. It was simply average. We stayed for a week and had to settle for a smoking room as that was all that was available despite daily requests to move to another room if possible. That said, we had a king suite. The beds were comfortable. The sofa bed was not. The first night the sheets smells of smoke and I requested fresh linens and remarkable they didn't smell any longer. It make me suspect that the sheets weren't changed prior to my arrival. I found the room relatively clean but details were missed (cobwebs in corner, curtains nasty). Our ac worked great. Pros: great job on breakfast, DVD players in suite. Staff helped with local recommendations. Cons: main bathroom off of breakfast area had broken lock. No sign was posted. When brought to stafff attenrion, it was well known that it was broken but shrugged off. Rude signs at elevators. Tacky! We were warned that it wasn't in a very good area and to not leave valuables in the vehicles.

It was an average stay at an average hotel. I didn't feel it was a value at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kblank003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kblank003,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate the kind words about our hotel, comfortable beds, breakfast menu exceeded your expectations and great staff. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    26
    14
    18
See reviews for
25
21
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

As always, HI and HIE are our choice of stay in any city. This hotel is very good, clean, and the staff was welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and had all I needed. Well worth the stay - price is right as well. Breakfast is typical HIE fare. This will be our hotel of choice while working in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millionmiletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are so happy that your were pleased with your stay. As always we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Do not waste your money on this disastrous hotel. I was assured that internet capabilities would be furnished in my room, and that was not the case. When I asked the front desk clerk for assistance, she was rude & not helpful. When I tried to get my money back since I was not going to stay, I received no help or refund. The Candlewood Suites nearby was extremely helpful, sweet, & well priced. The suite was great and the staff was above and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Tom P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience you had with our internet service and the dissatisfaction our service level has caused you.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a recent overnight trip with my wife. Upon arrival, the receptionist, Troy, was very nice and had all my information readily available, which made for an expedient check-in. He made sure to point me to the locations of all the amenities, such as the gym, pool, business center, and continental breakfast area.

The room was nice and clean, and the A/C was superb. It was set on 60 when we walked in. Included with the room was complimentary wi-fi.

Location is nice, right off McAuthur, which has many food and retail options within a 10 minute drive.

My only gripe was noise. The walls seem fairly thin or uninsulated. I could hear people next door, in the hallway and above me all night. Other than that, we had a great stay, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others visiting Alexandria.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very nice and apparently relatively new facility. Our suite was very large, with a comfortable chair and ottoman in the bedroom, which also included a very large TV. The living area was furnished with a sofa and coffee table and a 32 in TV. It also included a wet bar (i.e. a bar sink, refrigerator, microwave, plus cabinet space). All the furniture was high quality and contemporary styled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterene L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for making us your choice hotel while in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Will never stay here again. Upon arrival, the receptionist was more concerned about getting off shift in an hour than helping me out. She did not tell me any of the information about the hotel or what time breakfast is served, like any hotel employee that has been to hospitality school would do. All of the equipment in the gym is broken except for one treadmill and despite several weeks of business travel, the signs saying the repairman has been called never budged. The rooms are filfthy- the floors are sticky (even the carpet) the rooms are missing things like channel lists, menus/phone numbers for the pizza that is advertized on the desk stand, even when set to full blast, the alarm clock isn't louder than a whisper, the maids are lazy and forgetful- not replacing towels when they remove dirty ones from the room- leaving trash cans sitting in the middle of the room, leaving their cleaning spray on the table. One day when I came back to my "cleaned" room, the sheets had fresh brown spots on them that weren't there when I left that morning. The circuit on the air conditioner was broken when I first entered the room. There were bugs everywhere. Look out the window and there are washclothes covered in brown filfth all over the grass behind the hotel. The pool has more sweat from swimmers than water/cleaning chemicals (One dense hotel guest actually said "ohh this is a salt water pool, my momma has one of those"... yea it wasn't salt water). The A/C unit and fridge in the room were extremely loud, waking me up several times during the night. I was leaving for work one morning as they were setting up breakfast (They should set it up earlier than they do in my opinion) and politely asked if I could take a cup of cereal with me and was rudely yelled at that I had to wait until breakfast was set up... Meanwhile the cereal is sitting right on the counter infront of the lady- not like I was asking for the hot breakfast items. Then when I had to extend my business trip it took three times of talking to rude and in competant employees who promised they'd check and get back to me if a room was available before they finally charged my credit card for the extra nights without telling me/checking if the room they found was acceptable for me since it wasn't the same type of room I had booked. It is insane what kind of hospitality being a polite/patient hotel guest gets you around here- not impressed at all, maybe I need to start yelling and being rude to get treated like a normal human being around here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear angry g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

At check-in the desk clerk and a housekeeper where too busy degrading a fellow employee. I was not treated as a platinum member of this hotel group nor on this very hot day was I offered a bottle of water. The next morning I was awakened to the staff yelling to each other down the hallway. And my bill was under the door. I called the front desk. They had realized that I was staying an extra day using points, but would not make me move since it was not my fault. I consider points hard earned not a default. Also what is up with the stained entrance and rank and unkempt flowers. THANK GOD THERE IS NOW A CANDLEWOOD!

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Candlewood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theressa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Theressa C,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and in particular with the benefits you are entitled to as a valued IHG Rewards Club Platinum member. We do always ensure we provide the benefits according to each level of our loyalty scheme. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with our staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We value you as a IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#5 of 24 in Alexandria
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
#12 of 24 in Alexandria
42 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Address: 2340 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria LA Hotel Near Popular Attractions and Businesses You will enjoy a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Alexandria, Louisiana, conveniently located three miles from Alexandria International Airport (AEX). Lodging at our Alexandria Airport hotel puts you in close proximity to local Louisiana attractions and businesses. The whole family will love staying at our Alexandria Holiday Inn Express which is just three miles from the Alexandria Zoo. After visiting more than 600 animals, immerse yourself in the beautiful, local works permanently exhibited at the Alexandria Museum of Art. Those who enjoy the outdoors can spend time, three miles from this Alexandria hotel, at the Kisatchie National Forest. Are you in town on business? Don't settle for just any hotel in Alexandria when you can lodge at our hotel, conveniently located near Rapides Regional Medical Center, Union Tank, St Francis Cabrini Hospital and Proctor & Gamble. Also, our Alexandria Airport hotel offers 650 square feet of meeting space, so you can host on-site meetings. We also provide copying, faxing, and printing services. Our Alexandria Airport hotel cares for you by offering free high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. You can unwind in the Fitness Center or swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy a good night's rest in our triple-sheeted beds. Call today for our Alexandria hotel's rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing