We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed there for the first time and I found it pretty typical of HIEX. No problems, clean, great beds and very nice staff! I glanced at the other reviews and I have a frown on my face. I do not recall any of these "problems" in my stay there. In fact, I can not think of any negatives. I will say that the price I paid was for certian on the high end for HIEX but, well, I can live with that.

I would not say this place was ok if it were not. I have stayed at 70+ different Holiday Inns this year- some better, some much worse- but overall, it has all the great things I like about HIEX. No worries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the very first review I have ever felt compelled to write. So disappointing for a Holiday Inn. In addition to being the most unclean hotel we have ever frequented, we cut our two night stay to one after being unable to sleep due to a lack of sound barriers in ceilings, walls, floors plus the added aggravation of uncourteous people allowing their children to run and scream down the halls at all hours of the day and night. My immediate reaction was to duck and run each time the a/c unit kicked on as it sounded like two consecutive gun shots. The only positive would be the fact that I used the opportunity to further teach my daughter the importance of common courtesies.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear kdbec,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed one night. The bracket that keeps the mattress centered on the frame had broken off. So the mattress had shifted. When I came close to the bed the bare metal cut my leg. I told them about it in the morning. Also our air conditioner went off during an electrical storm. So my stay was not all that pleasant.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed there twice, each for a week. The rooms do have nice furniture, and the staff is nice. There was a really foul smell each time. Signs of the rooms not being cleaned were present. So much so that I bought some disinfectant and sprayed everything I might touch.
There was a filter in the coffee maker, a piece of toilet paper in the peep hole, and it just didn't seem like the rooms had been properly cleaned. Hopefully, If I have to return, the Candlewood will be open by then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sezzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear sezzmi,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked our room furniture and you found our hotel staff nice. I am sorry that you were let down by the level of cleanliness in your room. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort you may have experienced.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were on the way to Vicksburg and stopped for the night here. Excellent property, very clean. We would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txfrmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 3 years ago and had a great experience. Needing to stay in Alexandria again we re-visited the same hotel, this time with a four year old. Great service, friendly staff, clean rooms with new flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator. Decent breakfast. Easy parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael52463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Newly updated furniture, clean rooms and very friendly service. Small details were missed, pictures are nailed to the wall, with a poor attempt to cover nails, the outside of the windows are filthy and hard to see out of. However, the hotel hits the important things; it is clean, staff was great and they had warm cookies at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatersfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
#12 of 24 in Alexandria
45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
#9 of 24 in Alexandria
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Address: 2340 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-4219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $113 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria LA Hotel Near Popular Attractions and Businesses You will enjoy a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Alexandria, Louisiana, conveniently located three miles from Alexandria International Airport (AEX). Lodging at our Alexandria Airport hotel puts you in close proximity to local Louisiana attractions and businesses. The whole family will love staying at our Alexandria Holiday Inn Express which is just three miles from the Alexandria Zoo. After visiting more than 600 animals, immerse yourself in the beautiful, local works permanently exhibited at the Alexandria Museum of Art. Those who enjoy the outdoors can spend time, three miles from this Alexandria hotel, at the Kisatchie National Forest. Are you in town on business? Don't settle for just any hotel in Alexandria when you can lodge at our hotel, conveniently located near Rapides Regional Medical Center, Union Tank, St Francis Cabrini Hospital and Proctor & Gamble. Also, our Alexandria Airport hotel offers 650 square feet of meeting space, so you can host on-site meetings. We also provide copying, faxing, and printing services. Our Alexandria Airport hotel cares for you by offering free high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. You can unwind in the Fitness Center or swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy a good night's rest in our triple-sheeted beds. Call today for our Alexandria hotel's rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing