We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but needs renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Alexandria I-49
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Cologne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Affordable but needs renovation.”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Classic bummer. Hotel soso. Got smokers room instead of non, room looks dated bit run down. Bed and bath clean, so that's alright for staying a night only.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naineshh2003, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Alexandria I-49, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Hello!

We are excited to announce the Super 8 has undergone extensive renovations since the January of 2011. After an approximate $1MM price tag on these improvements, we are certain to make a a fresh impression upon you!

We appreciate our past guests who have given their candid feedback. We hope to have even more feedback from our valued guests at this new hotel to continue our commitment to high quality and customer satisfaction.

The Super 8 of Alexandria has not only evolved into a fresh new look and feel, but also new management with brand new attitude. Please, come stay with us... and see the difference!

Thank you so much for your business.

- Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    62
    35
    36
See reviews for
71
47
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We placed the reservation online and got there and had to wait for 30 minutes for them to find it in their computer. We were told that sometimes the computer misroutes the reservation to another hotel halfway across town. We asked if that had happened if they could just make sure we stayed at the one we were at, and was told no. Once we checked in we asked when the pool closed and they said "Normally it's 11, but the owner's wife is here and she says the noise bothers her so we close it at 9." So we get to our room and I go to make coffee...and almost vomit...there is a moldy filter/coffee thing. We call to see if we can get another coffee maker. The front desk attendant takes it and comes back saying that she couldnt find another one, but ran scalding water over it and it should be fine. Haha..no. I choose not to have coffee. I go to give my three year old a bath and start rinsing the tub, just for good measure and see something on the side of the tub. I run my finger on it and it was skin cell residue. I call the front desk AGAIN and ask for cleaner and a rag. She brought it to me, apologized and left...didn;t even get someone to clean it. I got on my knees and scrubbed the tub. After my daughter's bath, I turn down the comforter only to find PUBIC hair all over the sheets. Not just one, just at least 10!! eewww...I go to the front desk again and ask for clean sheets and she gives them to me. And I had to put them on MYSELF!! Woke up the next morning, breakfast was ok. will NOT stay there again...please dont waste your money!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Covington, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This is my second review of this hotel (see Covington traveler). We stayed here last year during a Thanksgiving holiday visit because the rates were cheap. We decided to stay here again to attend a funeral for the same reason. There was some lobby construction underway back in November. Now that it’s complete, it appears only slightly improved. It was just your basic hotel off the freeway with interior corridors, a pool (which we didn’t use), and a continental breakfast (just okay). Pluses: housekeeping was timely, microwave and mini-fridge was convenient, large TV with lots of cable channels, free high-speed internet access, and since it was hot in La., the air conditioner worked fine. Minuses: although the room was non-smoking, it still had a slight lingering “smoking” smell. Apparently the hotel uses any available rooms as either smoking or non-smoking. Didn’t like that!!! Hotel is near railroad crossing and train whistles tend to be very loud, even throughout the night. A bearable annoyance. Other than that, it was a decent enough stay. Since there are a few newly-built hotels in the area, should we need to visit again, we probably will not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cov Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stopped here on our way to Mardi Gras. I had made reservations on-line, so we got a decent rate which is why I chose this motel. The room was tired with an old polyester bedspread and drapes, lumpy, dirty carpet and no extra pillows or blankets.

It was OK for a quick pit-stop on a road trip, but I would certainly not stay here again, no matter how cheap the rate.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank galveston_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Pleasantly surprised! Fast check-in and out. Several restuarants within walking distance (Cracker Barrel, fried chicken). Clean room and a comfortable bed. Possibly renovated recently. Would have liked a crib for my one year old but otherwise a good overnight rest stop.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, food near-by
  • Disliked — no crib
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Decent low-budget hotel. However, the halls were full of cigarette smoke smell and even though we stayed in a non-smoking room, it smelled like a former smoking room. The bed was not very comfortable and the pool was not even open (even though it was still summertime.) It was not the worst hoel I've ever stayed in, but I wouldn't reccomend it, unless you just need a really quick place to stay on your way through town. Also, even though everything says that the hotel is very new, it seemed like it had been around for a few years at least.

  • Liked — Cheaper than other hotels in the area
  • Disliked — The cigarette smoke everywhere
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whitethrone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We checked into the hotel and was assigned a room. The room was clean, but there was one problem. The window would not lock and had been broken into prior. There was evidence that someone had attempted to break in asevidenced by the cracked window track which held the window pane inplace. You could literally lift the window out of the track and enter the room from the outside. When I brought it to the attention of management, they gave me anther toom but never mentioned that they would fix the problem. I wonder how many people have checked in with their valuables to return later and find their room broken into and their valuable gone. Check the windows to your room fold, especially if they are on the ground level!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank bunny1bunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#4 of 24 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 24 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Alexandria
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Alexandria I-49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Alexandria I-49

Property: Super 8 Alexandria I-49
Address: 6017 Old Boyce Rd, Alexandria, LA 71303-5057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Alexandria I-49 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Alexandria I-49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Alexandria
Super 8 Alexandria
Alexandria Super 8
Alexandria Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing