We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Sombrero's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sombrero's
Ranked #43 of 160 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Food and service were surprisingly good... wasn't expecting it from a Tex-Mex place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Higher Quality Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is not your same old local cheapo mexican restaurant, so the prices maybe a little more, but I like fresh ingredients. I tried the Seafood Chili Relleno and it's made with a Fresh poblano pepper and stuffed with seafood - it's the best. My wife had the Beef Enchiladas dinner and probably two people could of eaten that dish alone. So far this is the best mexican food I've eaten in Alexandria, since they closed Cucos.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glen3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The prices were higher than what you usually see in Mexican restaurants, I wanted to order just a burrito to keep the cost down, and they gave me a plate with rice and beans along with it which kicked the price up. I didn't say anything about that, but probably should have The food was ok, but the burrito wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be. I didn't really care for the seasoning they use in the meat, but that's probably just me. Our waitress was good, she kept our drinks filled but you could tell she was inexperienced and needed more training. Over all, I probably won't eat there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“We were hurridly blowin' throught town and needed a quick Mexican fix!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were so pressed for time. The restaurant was crowded and we considered going elsewhere but we were seated right away. Shared our "in a hurry" story with our server and he was blazin' fast! He quickly took our order and we were served and eating in no time!!! He was very attentive and as we were leaving he brought both of a "water to go" with a lid for the rest of our afternoon trip. That was extremely thoughtful and sensitive on his part. Wish I knew his name! And THEN we learned that the restaurant had been open only 2 weeks!!! We saw no room for improvement so if that attests to their management, hooray for them. They need to be made The Gold Standard!!! We very highly recommend Sombrero's.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurabender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero's also viewed

 

Been to Sombrero's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing