We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Outlaw's Barbecue

Outlaw's Barbecue
Ranked #5 of 160 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everything at Outlaw's is good. My favs are the Chopped Baker with beef, loaded; or the hamburger and fries. My husband likes the ribs. And can't have anything without the half loaf of onion rings!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    22
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Ultimate Mistake”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having been here many times in the past, and several times this trip, Outlaws was going to get another good review. But things happen. I went by after the ain dinner rush, as this place is hopping during lunch and dinner rush, traffic backing into street. I ordered the 1/4 chicken white, potato salad and baked beans. I returned to room and was sorely disappointed upon opening continer. The cold and hot food had not been seperated, causing the potato sald to be warm and mixed with bean auce, an un-appetizing arangement. Previously, slaw or salad had been packed in a seperate styrofoam cup, keeping it proper temp. The chicken was not cooked all the way through. The skin on the rib side of the breast was still gelatenous, basically raw and flabby. The wing bone as very difficult to seperate, again a red flag. This meal was my last at Outlaws this trip, and possibly for a long time. I can overlook all other protein under cooked but poultry. Pay attention folks. If you lose a customer because the chicken isnot ready, they may try you agan. If you loose them to food poisoning....well...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franklinmilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My sandwhich had nothing but the hard burnt outside of the brisket that I could not chew.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmlollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“BBQ good, bring and extra shirt”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Outlaws has two locations, one in Alexandria and one in neighboring Pineville. My colleagues and I go for lunch from time to time and have been for the odd dinner. The daily specials are usually the best deal.

The BBQ plates and loaded potatoes are tasty, the service is friendly in the lunch-line style ordering area, and the place is spacious, so there's never an issue with finding a table.

The one major drawback, in my opinion, is that your clothes will smell of BBQ smoke for the rest of the day, which can be a bit annoying after a while. Perhaps that's understandable, given that is a BBQ place, but there are times when the air is a little thicker than it should be!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibcgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Copenhagen?”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The girl that served me was less than happy to be there, and made that known. After about the 3rd bite with the bbq sauce, I began to have a familiar taste. One that I had when I dipped Copenhagen, years ago. I didn't eat the rest, but had heartburn for the entire next day. I cant swear that's what it was, but, I won't return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sezzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Outlaw's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing