We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Restaurant”
Review of River Front

River Front
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Abbeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The food, restaurant, waiters, waitresses, All great! The menu has many things to offer for many taste buds and picking something to eat is a tad hard to do especially when you know how good everything is. Again the owners keep this restaurant beautiful updated and continue to strive for a well rounded experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodgodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, LA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Location”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

You can eat your meal while having a wonderful view of the Vermilion Bayou and the Chruch.

Helpful?
Thank mscjn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Eats on the Bayou”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Six of our family met in Abbeville to enjoy the annual Giant Omelet festival. While there we had lunch at the River Front Restaurant. The restaurant sits on the banks of the Bayou Vermillion. The inside is spacious with a rustic appearance. The walls have rough driftwood pieces above a course of brick like wainscoting. Photos of old Abbeville contribute to the local charm of the restaurant. There is a deck outside where you can sit and enjoy the view of the bayou and the occasional passing boat. We had a nice variety of orders so were able to get a good sense of the overall quality of the food. We started off by sharing an appetizer of fried alligator bites. I had never had alligator before so was interested in trying it out. The bites were good and served with a honey mustard sauce. It seemed to me to have a slightly rubbery texture and tasted like a combination of chicken and mild fish. We were told the meat came from the tail of the alligator. Most of the entrees came with a choice of two sides. Our samplings included:
• Grilled chicken served with corn grits and a stuffed potato. Judged good
• Crab cakes served with corn maque choux and cabbage and tasso. Tasso is smoked ham or pork and the corn dish is corn kernels cooked with bell peppers, onion and tomato. The crab cakes were a generous size and very lightly breaded. It was mostly crabmeat and very little filler. Judged excellent.
• Chicken Angelo which was a grilled chicken breast over angel hair pasta topped with parmesan cheese and béchamel sauce. The béchamel sauce was excellent and there was enough of it to keep the dish from being too dry. There were only a few pieces of the grilled chicken. The combination of ingredients was good and it would have been perfect if there had been more chicken and instead of being laid on top of the pasta incorporated into it. Judged very good.
• Seafood gumbo with all three seafoods – shrimp, crabmeat and crawfish. Judged excellent.

We decided to share a dessert and chose the homemade bread pudding. A warm and fragrant large portion was brought to the table. The pudding had a praline rum sauce over it with a distinct cinnamon taste and was divine. The only thing I missed from this version of bread pudding was raisins. But this recipe was so good we got over that. The dessert was also judged very good.

We enjoyed it all so much we went back for lunch again the next day. If you’re ever in Abbeville, get to the River Front.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Augcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“from studewood tx”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Food was great and corn grits was HITTIN!!! Had steak and fish was great and the price was right topped with desert Bread puddin!! UUUHHH GGGOOOOODD!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderfull”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

great place to eat or hangout on deck near river for a drink,even has a deck for boat traffic in river

Helpful?
1 Thank stevie2hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Front also viewed

 

Been to River Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing