We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters smothered in butter and cheese”

Shucks The Louisiana Seafood
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Abbeville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oysters smothered in butter and cheese”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I know people love this place but I was surprised to get my "traditional oysters," which were huge and would have been great if served otherwise, smothered in hot butter and cheese. I like my oysters chilled and served with some garlic and lime so to cook them like that completely masked and killed the flavor. My daughter's sandwich was smothered in mayo and my husband's salad was pretty mediocre. The bread pudding was ok but too dense for my taste. This place was big disappointment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    69
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erath, Louisiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“still very good”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Revisited this spot again recently. Had a different dish this time. The service is still very good, friendly and attentive. Owner walks around and is good at engaging the table to ensure you are being served promptly and with good attitude. Loved the catfish -but had the seafood platter this time. Portions were excellent (had to ask for "doggie bag") . I like their method of frying-not too heavy on batter and no excess grease on the plate. So--if interest in a family (mainly adult due to loud noise and beverages) gathering-try this spot

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best oysters in the south”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you like oysters go to Shucks and get the charbroiled. You'll never eat them any other way after that. The staff is also great real southern hospitality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ordered grill seafood platter. Portions were bountiful and flavorful. I will be back for more on my next trip thru!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I like to visit Shuck's Seafood Restaurant when we are in town. It is a nice place to take friends and family. The service is very good and the atmosphere is comfortable, you can sit and chat and just enjoy being together. Their Poorboys are very good, my favorites. I usually get the oyster Poorboy and my sister gets the shrimp. I don't think we are the only ones that enjoy their seafood as it is always crowded but what is nice is they have plenty of parking spaces. That is not always the case with the restaurants in Abbeville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shucks The Louisiana Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Shucks The Louisiana Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing