We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
26
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park hot water place to stay great hosts the owner south pacific snorkel gear tropical paradise family run breakfast and dinner fish louvered windows piece of paradise plenty of space beautiful beach ben deb
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 29 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017

We had a lovely 6 days/nights at Vaoto Lodge on the island of Ofu. Deb and Ben (owners) could not have been more gracious.

The accommodations are basic, but you are literally across the "street" from the beach and you have everything you need, including ample fans, hot water showers, comfortable beds, access to laundry and a full-service kitchen, books/games, a pool table, wifi when necessary, friendly company, and plenty of cold drinks.

We and our children loved every minute at the Lodge.

We went snorkeling/swimming at a nearby beach and saw endless sea creatures, including a shark! We hiked into the mountains and saw amazing views and more wildlife. We husked coconuts and drank/ate them on the spot. We visited the local store and made friends with the owner. We talked to Ranger Ben with the National Park Service and followed his suggestions to make our trip even more enjoyable. We had nightly feasts prepared by Deb and Ben (and their daughter and her boyfriend) which left us stuffed and satisfied. We spent hours doing nothing completely unplugged and relaxed. If we ever have the chance to go back, we will!

Thanks Deb and Ben for a great week!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem essentially the same. Some may/may not have kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lccrisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

My wife and I stayed at Va'oto Lodge a few months ago during a work trip for seismic research. We loved the place and found it very romantic. Deb and Ben were very friendly and accommodating. The cook was also very nice and had lots of good things to say about the island. The meals were good and the rooms were very clean. The grounds maintenance was superb and the beach was to die for! 5 stars Va'oto!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brittany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2016

Trip of a lifetime, Snorkeling paradise. Deb and Ben are wonderful and fun hosts. This place is a challenge to get to but absolutely worth the effort. This is Paradise and you have it all to yourself. Pago Pago, Tutuilla is a hidden treasure and Ofu is even better. Our 7 days on Ofu were absolutely the best part of our 35 days touring the Samoan Islands. In fact we returned to Pago Pago from Apia early to do more snorkeling. I have never been to a safer or friendlier place.

Room Tip: Very basic accommodations most beautiful location possible
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KENNY444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

If course visitor s to Ofu don't expect a Hyatt. No AC, no wifi in room, but cute visitor s like geckoes, skinks and cockroaches stop by. Comfy bed. Hot water. Snorkeling adjacent. Airport next door. Raina the cook very unfriendly and dont expect coffee early. Ben and Deb owners are excellent

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
4  Thank Diane_E_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We could not miss the amazing coral reefs of Ofu and Deb was invaluable in making that happen. She helped get our reservation made with the very difficult Polynesian airlines, arranged our boat transport, and even arranged a stay on Ta'u as well! We can't thank her enough for helping us visit all 3 units of the national park.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3danimator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews