We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
21
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkthe ownerhot watersouth pacificsnorkel geartropical paradiselouvered windowsmy wife and ilodgebendebislandmealsbeachesworldboatstars
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 24 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2014

I have read all the reviews of other people that have stayed at Vaoto lodge, not much has changed except Ben was flying solo when we were there, so we pretty much took care of our own breakfast and lunch, Ben said ' whatever is in the kitchen is yours to eat' and each evening he would cook dinner for us, although my wife and I cooked a chicken curry one night which Ben was very grateful for.
Favourite things that we did was to take all five dogs for walks, they loved that and would leap around like puppies when I whistled for them. Snorkeling out to the reef was great, and I would quite often bump into the black tipped reef sharks, the closest I got was about 10 feet which made the adrenalin pump a bit, but in all honesty they are more wary of us than we need to be of them.
The beach is lovely, my wife loved just bobbing around in the little waves adjacent to the little beach fale.
The planes are flying again!!! to Ta'u and then you have to get a boat across, do not count on the planes still flying though, and you really do have to check with either Polynesian or inter island airlines, Bens place is lovely, we have only been back a week and I miss it already, not an easy place to get to, but well worth the effort.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank DavidSier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This lodge has it all- location, service and value. Ben and Marge are two of the sweetest people you can meet in this world. The service is based on your needs and they are willing to take care of it all including home-cooked meals with homemade bread. And the location is stunningly beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sirena670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The place is run by a very nice couple, Ben and Deborah, who are not only very helpful but also very laid back and relaxed. The lodges are fitted with fans, mosquito netted windows, nice bathrooms (hot water, yay!) and proper beds.
My friend and I stayed there for five days and would have liked to stay longer if circumstances had permitted us. The national park is right next door, and there are a couple of great hikes through rainforest and along cliff edges – the views are absolutely stunning! Of all the places I've been in the Pacific, this must be one of the most dramatic, pristine and gorgeous places. The fruitbats are everywhere along with several endemic bird species – and the snorkeling is fantastic as well. If you like beaches you'll find one of the most beautiful ones here as well.
The lodge has a couple of bikes and sit-on-top kayaks, that you can use and both Ben and Deb are happy to drive you anywhere in their truck and point out the beginning of the trails.
What else to say? The food is excellent, and Ben makes lovely little deserts! Cold water, coffee, tea, ice tea and Tang is complimentary, while fresh coconuts and beer is for sale at very reasonable prices. Laundry is cheap to do. They have a well stocked library. And we saw whales three days in a row!
It can be a bit tricky to get to Ofu, since the plane is no longer flying out there, but with a single phonecall to the lodge, everything was taken care of and all we had to do was arrange for plane tickets to Ta'u, where we were picket up in a truck and taken to the wharf, where our boat driver waited to take us to Ofu.
Go go go!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LotteReiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Vaioto Lodge is the only lodge on Ofu and is situated outside the village, at the end of an abandoned airstrip, and at the beginning of the National Park. This family owned lodge is well kept, nicely manicured grounds, clean/functional rooms, and communal kitchen/lounge area perfect to hang out after a day at the beach. The owners are very friendly, often coming to relax on the beach with their guests and chat. Almost all the food has to be shipped in on the cargo ship from Tutuila so if you let the owners know ahead of time of any specific meal requests....they are more than happy to cater to your needs/requests.
Ofu Island itself is stunningly beautiful...truly an untouched paradise. The National Park reef is unlike any I've ever seen. But be ready to get stranded on Ofu as boats/planes often need to be repaired and scheduled trips get postponed...but honestly, if you're going to be stranded on an island in the Pacific...Ofu and Vaioto Lodge is the best place for it to happen....you'll probably be happy to hear that the plane is broken because you're not going to want to leave this hidden paradise.
P.S.---ask the owner to take you to the ofu/olosega bridge at high tide if you feel like an exhilarating bridge jump into the pristine pacific waters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveler_684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not only was the setting of the lodge wonderful, with the National Park and its reef, with the odd beauty of a defunct airstrip stretching towards the sun through bird-filled trees and the sheer mountain, but the owners of the lodge were great. It felt, in part, as if you were not just a guest, but also a member of the family. Great people, in an absolutely pristine setting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TylerPortland_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews