We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuvalu's only hotel”
Review of Vaiaku Lagi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funafuti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vaiaku Lagi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Funafuti
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel is well run, spotless, and just 100 metres from the airport.

The rooms were roomy. Go for an upstairs one. There are 18 rooms in total. When we were there, just one other room occupied - a sign of how few tourists make it. During our week there, the PM held a reception, there was a cultural/dancing/singing night/ and Friday and Saturday had discos!

The food is good, though not much variety There are one or two nice restaurants in the 'village' including an excellent Chinese one.

High speed internet cafe 50 metres away, by the way.

The hotel has a wonderful view of the lagoon and a superb little jetty which is ideal for swimming off.

In 2009, it is nearly Aus$120 a double a night.

Take cash - no credit card facilities!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank effaheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

We were aware that Tuvalu has around 150 tourists a year and is not really set up for tourists.
The view from our upstairs room was magnificent as we overlooked the lagoon. We did have a bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.
The bathroom has hot and cold water taps however the hot water has never been connected so there is no hot water. As the water tank is on the ceiling if you have an afternoon shower the water will be warm
The breakfast was fine and so were the meals. The local chinese restaurant has tasty meals for a reasonable price.
Tuvalu is an interesting place and the locals are friendly. We had an enjoyable 5 day as we did a lot of walking and talking to the locals. Also attended a Methodist Church Service On the Friday was an Island Ball at the Hotel. We attended and sat with a local family who were very friendly and filled us in as to what was happening

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Chooch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank ludoarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank 美香りん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PincTada15e99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vaiaku Lagi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaiaku Lagi Hotel

Address: PO Box 10, Funafuti, Tuvalu
Location: Tuvalu > Funafuti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Funafuti
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Vaiaku Lagi Hotel Tuvalu/Funafuti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing