We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa del Marisco

La Casa del Marisco
Ranked #37 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Best paella, crab and sea food delights. The prices are good compared to the awesome quality of the food. They have a delicious spicy sauce and the vibe is excelent. They have a dress code and it makes it very interesting, dont come in sandals or boorad shorts! You wont be aloud.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    151
    59
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We where at this restaurant twice and the service was excellent and thé food was délicious but we found a little expensive. Its very clean and suggest that you reserve because it gets very Busy sometimes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too much hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place was supposed to be amazing; it was good. The service was great but the food wasn't. Had th mixed seafood platter for two. It was quite salty. If you're looking for an upscale place, you may like this restaurant. But in my opinion, you can get tastier seafood elsewhere...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Truly Local Spot to get Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The atmosphere: There wasn't a tourist in sight on the "wharf". It's clearly not an upperclass spot either; but full of local families and friends ready to eat some cheap, fresh, delicious seafood. The place is bustling and LOUD. It is not a place for a quiet, calm meal.
How to order: You cruise down the strip of seafood kiosks, check out the menus, pick a location, and take a seat. Someone will come by to take your order.
The food: I forget which kiosk we chose but we ordered a couple beers and the shrimp and plantains dish, which were delicious, prepared simply, and served with the head on. I looked around and noticed that most of the people around us had ordered a fish dish, but couldnt tell what kind. The best part of the meal was the ceviche (octopus and shrimp) that we ordered later (much, much better than the mediocre, fancy trio of ceviches we had at the trendy Tántalo restaurant in el Casco Viejo the night before).
The service was prompt and polite. Be aware that the kitchens close at 9 - but ceviche and beers are served until later. Please note that we didn't really come with a plan as to how to get a cab home, there isn't much around there so you might want to plan better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClowClow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - worth every bit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

OK it's not the cheapest place about (not that it's particularly expensive either). It is however very, very good. We went Saturday evening and did not have to book. It was good to see most of the diners were local.
Our waiter was very helpful and made recommendations for us. Marisco is seafood so it was obvious to concentrate on that - the langoustine and avocado salad starter is very good and also the bacalao (grouper) with a green pepper salsa and langoustines in a sherry sauce. Very well cooked and presented. The Spanish wines in particular were quite expensive - go for the S. American ones, just as good.
I for one came out with that pleasantly full feeling after a very good meal. For a couple - two courses, bottle of wine and coffees the bill was about $130.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Marisco also viewed

 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to La Casa del Marisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing