We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak place”
Review of Market

Market
Ranked #23 of 1,016 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Basel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Steak place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wonderful place with lots of atmosphere if you feel in the mood for a real steak or burger. Efficient staff, great wine selection, nice POSTRES!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    233
    90
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When you're ready for American food...”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Market is the place to go to get burgers, salads, friend chicken or other classic American food. The staff is fluent in English and the kitchen staff has obviously learned the language as well as the food and service were consistently good. Suitable for families and for couples, Market is a nice change of pace, particularly for a lighter meal

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fletcher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It's my second time, it didn't get any better...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are at Carnival time in Panama. We decided not to partcipate in the Panamenian Carnival this year, but went out to dine. My idea was to go to one of the few open restaurants in Panama, have some meat or hamburgers, my wife and daughters chose Market. I had visited Market previously and didn't particularly enjoy the experience, but they had changed their location, maybe the taste also changed. The service is good, the decoration very masculine with walls covered in wine bottles, the seating arragement is definetly upgrade cafeteria, the prices are not. Everybody in my party concluded that the meal (even though we all ate different dishes, all meat) was tasteless. I asked for a "california hamburger, well done" and got it "rare", the fries were very salty, the meat tasted raw and the bread crumbled in pieces as soon as I started eating, the restaurant had maybe ten clients. Only my 8 years old grandaughter was pleased with her mini bugers.
As I said this is my second visit, I feel it didn't get any better, I'll have to let other people enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEDTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New setting, old friend”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was the first time I had visited Market since it had moved to its new location; the old building is now demolished. The new building is bigger than the old offering more covers and is about to be expanded further with the opening of a speciality delicatessen, offering imported fare from Europe.
The menu remains the same with reliable old favourites, typically good steaks and burgers, and their special hot artichoke and cheese dip. Served by efficient and friendly staff, same friendly management.
A relief to find all is well after the move.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahungrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is good, if you're craving American food, this is the place to go. Prices are reasonable, and they do have some more Panamanian type food if you want. Nice ambience, would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yookyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing