We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's my second time, it didn't get any better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Ranked #23 of 817 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central America
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's my second time, it didn't get any better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are at Carnival time in Panama. We decided not to partcipate in the Panamenian Carnival this year, but went out to dine. My idea was to go to one of the few open restaurants in Panama, have some meat or hamburgers, my wife and daughters chose Market. I had visited Market previously and didn't particularly enjoy the experience, but they had changed their location, maybe the taste also changed. The service is good, the decoration very masculine with walls covered in wine bottles, the seating arragement is definetly upgrade cafeteria, the prices are not. Everybody in my party concluded that the meal (even though we all ate different dishes, all meat) was tasteless. I asked for a "california hamburger, well done" and got it "rare", the fries were very salty, the meat tasted raw and the bread crumbled in pieces as soon as I started eating, the restaurant had maybe ten clients. Only my 8 years old grandaughter was pleased with her mini bugers.
As I said this is my second visit, I feel it didn't get any better, I'll have to let other people enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MEDTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    204
    78
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New setting, old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was the first time I had visited Market since it had moved to its new location; the old building is now demolished. The new building is bigger than the old offering more covers and is about to be expanded further with the opening of a speciality delicatessen, offering imported fare from Europe.
The menu remains the same with reliable old favourites, typically good steaks and burgers, and their special hot artichoke and cheese dip. Served by efficient and friendly staff, same friendly management.
A relief to find all is well after the move.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahungrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is good, if you're craving American food, this is the place to go. Prices are reasonable, and they do have some more Panamanian type food if you want. Nice ambience, would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yookyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dinner at Market was very good but brunch was even better! Not many restaurants in Panama offer brunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielleK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our regular dinner spots on our monthly business trips to Panama. The bartender(s) makes a mean vodka martini and the sliders with blue cheese and bacon are a must. The fried chicken, hamburgers and steaks are fantastic. I would pass on the spinach and artichoke dip and the ribs as they are average, but everything else is consistently yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank constantmovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing