We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market

Market
Ranked #22 of 849 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is good, if you're craving American food, this is the place to go. Prices are reasonable, and they do have some more Panamanian type food if you want. Nice ambience, would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yookyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    205
    82
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dinner at Market was very good but brunch was even better! Not many restaurants in Panama offer brunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielleK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our regular dinner spots on our monthly business trips to Panama. The bartender(s) makes a mean vodka martini and the sliders with blue cheese and bacon are a must. The fried chicken, hamburgers and steaks are fantastic. I would pass on the spinach and artichoke dip and the ribs as they are average, but everything else is consistently yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank constantmovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
664 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were visiting Panama over New Year's and this was one of a very few places that were open on the evening of January 1st. Since we were staying at a hotel within walking distance of the restaurant this was a plus but the atmosphere and the food were all terrific. Service was timely with a lot of attention to details like refilling wine glasses...The menu had a variety of choices for meat, fish and pasta lovers and the prices were comparable with the rest of the area eateries. The restaurant itself is set back and a bit easy to miss on a walk past. Upon entering it is nicely set up with a large extra room for when it is very busy. The decor is pleasant with wine bottles arranged along the walls. We were a party of 6 and I appreciated the great space between the tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place, Friendly Help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

6 of us ate dinner there New Year's evening, it was one on the few places that were open on the holiday. This was our second dinner there and each was a very pleasant expeience. We were with a travel group staying at a hotel locally so we had visited the Calle Urguay area several times during our visit.
I had the hamberger special and my wife had the schrimp and they couldn't have been better. Other members of the party all were pleased with their entrees.
If your going by taxi no problem but if your walking or driving yourself study the map. You will find that Panama City street signs are no existent and different streets tend to have the same name.
If you are english speaking and don't speak spanish ask for Johnathan as your waiter, he will tell you he doesn't speak english but he knows enough to explain the menu. Ask for him anyway because he is a super friendly helpful guy. He looks to be about 14 but he says he's 23 and is married with a daughter.
Do give this place a try I am sure you will enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing