We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not if you are planning to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not if you are planning to sleep”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just spent a night in there. First the positives: very friendly and helpful staff( the owner gave us a ride to Panama Vejo without charge because he was going in that direction).
We rented a double room with a private bath: room was tiny and quite run down. Because it is next to a restaurant a a lobby with the computers in was very laud late into the night. Even with earplugs we could not sleep. I am really flustered by the prices being charged in Panama City and the little value for such a price!
Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beata65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
31
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything with the exception of the bug infested bed was okay. The B&B was otherwise okay. The staff was friendly and I wasn't there long enough to say whether it is a good place to stay long term. I stayed for one night before heading to Bocas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brume07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvamayita P, Manager at Panama House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest:
We appreciate your valuable comments. As you know bed bugs is not a border problem, because it is a place of lodging we are vulnerable to receive by means of luggage, which can be brought by a guest unconsciously. The success of eradicating this problem depends on specific measures to be taken by different methods of fumigation and preferably eliminate mattress. It would have helped much if we had known immediately by direct reporting, so as help us deal with the issue immediately, as doing so can also directly implement corrective measure immediately. We do not doubt your good intentions to alert both the business and traveler and therefore we are immensely grateful and ask that you email us the location or room number to expedite the remedial process.
Thanks again for supporting our business and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice family run hostel: basic but clean room, good breakfast and a nice garden to relax. We stayed for three nights and would come again. English speaking staff, city center is easily reached by metro-buses

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights this spring break. The location is in adage neighborhood located in el cangrejo. It is close to the bars and restaurants of via Argentina. The owners were friendly and helpful. Decent breakfast and great places to hang out, meet travelers, and have a drink. Use of kitchen is a plus. Walking distance to the El Rey grocery too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

the rooms are nice and clean, the garden is wonderful and the vibe is fun.
convenient kitchen for self catering, but also breakfast at the place.
the staff is extremely nice and helpful, and can book you a ride to San Blas and store your bags when you go away.
the location is not so central, but gieves a feeling you're out of the city with the convenience of being in the city/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieS237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Casa de Carmen (= Panama House) is a bit further from the main city tourist traps - therefore if you visit just for a couple of days and would like to see the most important parts of the city, it might be better to pick a hostel in Casco Viejo. Casa de Carmen was popular (1) among stopovers (coming from wherever just to sleep for 1 night and leave for the airport) or (2) people staying for a long time who do not want to be in the city center mess. I lived there 1 month studying Spanish with Spanish Panama which is just 15 minutes away.

Overall it is a quiet place with not much going on. Some of the staff live there, some come daily. There is always someone speaking English, although not all of them do. I had not have any problems with them, but at the same time we did not became really close. Inside, it is clean and nice, with a big TV, DVD, A/C, the equipment is quite good. For Panama standards, a bit overpriced though. They keep the doors locked and make sure that people follow the rules and do not make too much mess. Don't expect too much craziness going on there. I had sleeping problems since the A/C in the doorm is extremely strong and it can get very cold at night - make sure not to get sick the first day. For going out, I would recommend Via Argentina, very international and unique place in Panama but that is another story :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Staff spoke English and were very professional. The manager Emma is very nice and polite. They have a laundry room that guests can use and a beautiful backyard to chill out. Rooms were clean and its pretty close to everything u want to be close to in Panama City. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 113 in Panama City
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 113 in Panama City
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 105 in Panama City
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 105 in Panama City
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Av 1A sur El Carmen, Panama City, Panama (Formerly La Casa de Carmen)
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panama House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panama House offers our guests a high standard of customer service.Our hostel is equipped with kitchen facilities, Internet, parking, laundry room and much more…making your lodging experience…Unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Panama House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Carmen Hotel Panama City
Panama House Bed & Breakfast Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing