We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the noise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuatro Tulipanes
Ranked #5 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the noise”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in 2C for 8 - 9 days during a time of major road construction outside the building. The inconveniences of noise and limited sidewalk access were more than offset by the fine quality of the apartment, the excellent attention of the staff, and the overall ambiance of Casco Viejo. My only fear is a major increase in prices once the construction is finished and more people discover the benefits of this historic section of la ciudad de Panamá.

Room Tip: The two bedroom, two bathroom apartment 2C is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for the feedback and this guest is very right in saying how annoying the construction is in Casco Viejo at the moment. While the roadwork is almost complete, it has been a challenge to keep guests happy, comfy and quiet amidst all the chaos. Thanks for bearing with us in this tricky time!

As for pricing, Los Cuatro Tulipanes is in a unique position to be able to honor our original pricing scheme. It's inevitable that new hotels will pop up in the $300/night+ region. But because we're the oldest existing luxury accommodations in Casco, we believe our value is our greatest asset and don't intend to change that any time soon :) Thanks for staying and also for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    22
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
159
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in 3B for 6 nights and made it our base for all activities in and around Panama City. With teens it is great to have the additional space and we loved the neighborhood. Enough people have already posted reviews about all of that.

I am in the customer service business and strongly believe what separates the good from the great is how they handle the inevitable bump in the road. We had a few bumps that were rectified before we even had to say a thing.

Construction makes navigating Casco Viejo on foot a challenge: Sandra gives a free tour showing us how to get around.
Construction noise: upgrade to an available apartment further from the street, we did not ask, it was taken care of before we arrived
Change in apartment has less than ideal bed configuration: Extra bed arrives in 30 minutes
Super Hi-tech washer becomes temperamental: Staff washes clothes without being asked

We will be back! I promise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
This is truly one of the most special Trip Advisor reviews we've ever received. As most previous guests can appreciate, things in Panama don't always go as planned. So we've spent the better part of the past decade learning to think on our feet, adapt to challenges, and (most importantly) make complications as easy on guests as humanly possible. Hearing feedback like this from such a lovely group is really what makes the hospitality business for us: we like to think of our guests as friends in town visiting for a few days. And while there are some things out of our control, we'll definitely do our damnedest to make your visit a special one. Thanks for such thoughtful words and we anticipate your return visit: sans construction!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of 4 loved our stay in Apt. 3A. Evan made the reservation process easy and arranged for airport transfers. Sandra provided a thorough orientation of Casco Viejo and offered great shopping recommendations (my daughter loves her Mola shoes!!!!)

The Apt, in a historically preserved building with exposed stone walls, was beautiful and spacious with hardwood floors, double wide stairs, colorful local art, wind chimes, lots of sunshine, and balconies/decks everywhere. The main deck provided ocean views on two sides and my son could have sat there all day watching the ships pass through.

Casco Viejo is a perfect fit for those interested in history and architecture. The French and Spanish style buildings which had decayed for decades are being restored with original details preserved. There is an interesting book in the apartment which documents Casco's history and includes photographs of original buildings, how they looked upon deterioration and how they appear now after restoration. Reading this book gave us a much greater understanding and appreciation of Casco.

We enjoyed many delicious meals, shopped for local crafts, visited the beautiful churches, strolled the plazas and ate very fresh ceviche at the fish market. The people of Panama are very friendly and welcoming and with our limited Spanish we were able to navigate our way easily. We highly recommend a stay at Los Cuatro Tulipanes and hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of 5 plus my nephew stayed in 3a and it was wonderful! The apartment is gorgeous. We had three bedrooms. My husband and I had the third floor bedroom with a king size bed and our own bath. My 2 boys were on the 2nd floor with a room with 2 twins and their own bath. My daughter had the first floor bedroom - a full size bed. At the last minute, my nephew decided to join us. We were able to get a queen size air mattress (one of those high ones) for him -- it was very comfortable.

We had a beautiful roof top terrace where we enjoyed breakfast and afternoon cocktails each day. Right in downtown Casco, we were around the corner from many wonderful restaurants and the Deli Gourmet (we bought some breakfast items and a couple bottles of wine).

The staff of Los Cuatro are just terrific! They were warm and welcoming, quick to offer suggestions and to help out in any way. I highly recommend this property!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCFamily_of_five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We love NYC travelers!!! And apartment 3a is a tremendous space for families and we're so psyched you got the absolute most out of it! With the roof deck and split level layout, it makes for a much more spacious and convenient vacation than a few hotel rooms put together, wouldn't ya say? We'll be keeping our eye out for your return trip!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family of four stayed in Monjas 2C – a wonderful apartment! Lots of space, beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds, nice bathrooms. This was our first stop so I didn’t appreciate the perfectly working AC and fast internet until we stayed at other places.

It was easy to book online. Evan coordinated our airport pick-up with no issues. Their recommended driver, Blas, was very helpful, prompt and friendly. His English isn’t perfect (but much better than my Spanish!) and he is such a nice man it was great to tour with him. Sandra was a wonderful resource and provided great tips and restaurant recommendations. Everyone we encountered through Cuatro Tulipanes was gracious and helpful. Truly outstanding people.

Casco Viejo is undergoing lots of construction at this time – it can be noisy, with some streets torn up and barricades – however, we were still happy with our location and would make the same choice again. I think that being in Casco Viejo gave us a better feel for Panama than other areas or typical city chain hotels. We did not want a rental car and it was nice to have many restaurant choices within just a few blocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
This is great that you pointed out Casco Viejo's current construction status. While it makes for some annoyances here and there, it very much characterizes our lifestyle in Panama: make the best of things! Here's to powerful air conditioning units!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family stayed in three of the apartments at Los Cuatro Tulipanes in December 2011. First of all, the apartments are huge and very nicely decorated; one building used to be a nunnery and had the restored original stone wall still exposed! Evan was so helpful getting us situated and giving us tips and ideas on activities, restaurants, and local hotspots. With 8 adults and 2 kids, we were able to cook breakfast and some dinners in any of the apartments. Casco Viejo is a lovely part of Panama and multiple times we commented on buying a place and moving there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We LOVE getting reviews like these! Especially because we've started inviting more and more families to stay with us (with the new Monjas 3a and 3b combination). Our Monjas building is perfect for groups as it offers the privacy of "living like a local" (only coincidentally) right next door to your kids/parents/siblings/friends...etc. Come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sympathetically restored apartments amongs the ruins of Casco. We stayed in 2A - one bedroom apt over 2 floors Plenty of character but with all modern amenities. Very helpful staff - local & American. When my wife got food poisoning and we had to delay our travel, they allowed us a very late check out and offered to book us into another apt as they already had another booking for that night.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCascoBoys, Owner at Los Cuatro Tulipanes, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It was such a pleasure to host you guys (and kinda stinky about the food poisoning). Monjas 2a is getting lots of acclaim of late because it's our smallest, most economical apartment yet still, compared to a traditional hotel room, it's got so much more space and character! Little known Tulipanes secret: Monjas 2a was our office for the first 4 years of our existence until the brilliant Evan Forbes came along and whirled it into a beautiful little studio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#37 of 113 in Panama City
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#67 of 113 in Panama City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 113 in Panama City
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
0.2 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 113 in Panama City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cuatro Tulipanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuatro Tulipanes

Property: Los Cuatro Tulipanes
Address: Avenida Central entre Calle 3ra y 4ta | Casco Viejo or Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avoid the boring chain hotels! We are a boutique fleet of luxury apartments for rent by night in the historic district of Casco Viejo, Panama City. Located just minutes from downtown, Casco Viejo is a supremely unique neighborhood. Los Cuatro Tulipanes specializes in 100% personalized service and 100% authentic travel experiences. Travelers only... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Hotel Panama City
Los Cuatro Tulipanes Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing