We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athen Pizza nice experience Hard parking”
Review of Athens Pizza

Athens Pizza
Ranked #136 of 1,031 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Athen Pizza nice experience Hard parking”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Located in an area in the city in a Gas station, parking horrible, food pretty good. we used our GPS maps from panama-gps.com to find this Pizza location. Prices were fair and the service pretty good, atmospher good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    62
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Slow service but usually good food when finally arrives especially if owner in residence.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Good greek salads and their own type of pizzas usually very noisy inside better to eat outside on terrace.

Helpful?
1 Thank holeinonesummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good as it gets”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

this is a great pizza place, with fine service, old style waiters, and excellent pizza. only problem is street parking on narrow road.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRCONNOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good price”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Since we are traveling with kids we pick a restaurant with pizzas for our first lunch in Panama city. Tonight we will be more adventurous and try some Panamanian cuisine.
The pizzas at this place were delicious, the kids were happy and we are ready to go and explore more of Panama. Maybe go into Caso Antiguo and walk around there.
The Athens restaurant is convenient located not far from our hotel, Marriot.
Good option if you are traveling with kids...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natalja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Despite the slightly unorthodox surroundings and atmosphere of the restaurant (one is at a gas station, the other 2 are in 'not so nice' areas), you can't expect gourmet Pizza and 5 star service for the prices you are paying. In all the pizza parlours I have eaten at in Panama, Athens in my favourite. Unlike most restaurants in Panama, Athens doesn't pretend to be something it's not and doesn't require fancy clothes for a mediocre and sub-par dining experience.

Maybe you've seen that scene from the movie "Along came Polly" when Ben Stiller begins dabbing the pizza with his napkin in hopes to reduce the size of the pool of grease thats sitting on top of his lunch. Well, this is very often the case at Athens, their pizza's can be very greasy. Whenever I go there, I order simple pizzas and 'accessorize' with the Tatziki that you can order on the side. In all honesty, it's not Tatziki, it's much closer to Labne but it still tastes delicious when you eat it with the Pizza. Also, another highly recommended dish is the Ladopsomo.

This is probably not a place to go to for a nice civilised family evening, but more of a 'hang out and eat cheaply' kind of place.

If you are in the mood for a quick pizza and aren't fussed about appearance, Athens in your place. Personally, I can be pretentious when it comes to dining out, but somehow I still find that Athens in my exception to the rule. If you do choose to go - don't go in with high expectations. Just take it for what it is and try to enjoy. You might actually find yourself back there sooner rather than later.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara-Jane-Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Pizza also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Athens Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing