We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best sushi in Panama and maybe the Western Hemisphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zk Nikkei Cuisine

Zk Nikkei Cuisine
Ranked #44 of 814 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Panama and maybe the Western Hemisphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are sushi lovers and have dined at many sushi restaurants over the years, although I must admit that we have never had the pleasure of eating sushi in Japan. In any case, this is one fine sushi restaurant, and without a doubt, had the best sushi we have ever experienced. Now that's a recommendation, my friend! The rolls are large, delicious, and beautifully presented. The cost per roll is more than what most sushi restaurants charge, but worth the price. The service is a bit slow, but the food more than makes up for this deficiency. The restaurant itself is very upscale and attractive, a great place to spend a leisurely hour or two. There is valet parking, which is a big plus in traffic-challenged Panama City. If you'e looking for good sushi, this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    73
    27
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have to say, so far this restaurant has the best sushi in the country as a whole, I am Asian and I have to say they come very close to that taste of sushi we were used to.And they have valet parking,a big plus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Igorotak06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice restaurant with nice decor. Very attentive staff.
Food was very good, especially the sushi! It's nice that you can also order a half roll as well as a full roll! The other dishes looked really nice but were served luke warm instead of hot... Which was a little disappointing. But all with all it was a nice evening. Not too pricey either.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mall_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Panama City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here in December 2012 with my sister. We sat at the bar and got to speak with one of the sushi chefs as he worked. Feeling adventurous, we asked the chef for his recommendations for both hot and cold sushi. The most beautiful, I have to say, was the dragon roll; however, every single thing was out of this world! Very fresh and different! Not your run of the mill sushi combos.

The price was great for good quality sushi. Between the two of us, including five rolls, drinks, and dessert we spent around $50.

The ambiance was intimate and would lend itself to a lovely date night. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheeky_panama_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent Asian Food, nicely presented.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The place is at the ground floor level of a huge Bank Tower. So no sea view or skyline. Sake has its own reserved parking area and guests' cars are well protected. We didn't need a reservation, although it was a weekend evening.
We ordered a mixed teppanyaki (beef and shrimps) and a Salmon teriyaki.
But before that we enjoyed every drop of the incredibly delicious miso soup.
Both main dishes were tasty, cooked to the desired term and creatively presented.
Not so good: The mixed teppanyaki contained two (2!!) shrimps only.
We would have enjoyed that presentation even more if it hadn't been so dark inside - the only light came from two large TV screens, showing submarine life at a coral reef.
For dessert we shared a Chocolate pyramid filled with home made strawberry ice cream. Great chocolate, the ice cream inside was still very hard and tasted average, at best.
Staff are knowledgeable, trained and courteous, something rare in Panama's restaurants.
All in all a nice dinner at an acceptable price in good atmosphere, but with some flaws.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbDurchDieMitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zk Nikkei Cuisine also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Zk Nikkei Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing