We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just for the Sancocho..nothing else!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafeteria Manolo's

Cafeteria Manolo's
Ranked #212 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Orange Walk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just for the Sancocho..nothing else!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been to this place 3 times,since it is very close to me. To start with they take forever to take your order..once i went alone & they served a man sitting like at a table an inch away from me,,,who came after me ...first & completely ignored me..i had interrupt the waitress & let her know about my presence. The cashier seemed to be the one who was more attentive to me than the waitress. From what i've tried there ..the spaghetti is just plain, the chicken was not tasty & the sangria not good. The only thing i go there for is for the Sancocho ( panamanian soup) It is a huge serving at a very low price & delicious. But other than the sancocho nothing else has proved to be worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IndyO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    124
    86
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions, mostly cold service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had dinner this evening. We had a steak each with plantain/chips, and a drink.

The meat was good and the portions were big. It's a cafe not a restaurant. We were recommended it by a shopkeeper - plenty locals eating there this evening.

Total bill was s$37.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great food and service; The staff were attentive, the food was well prepared and served, the location is central, clean and safe

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nev011170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Low Prices, Okay food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Came to Manolo's for lunch cuz we didnt want to spend much and didnt feel like travelling (right across the street from the Veneto). Had chicken croquettes (I found a bone in a croquette-- didnt urk me out though, guess I was too hungry to care) Ordered a chicken lasagna with "red" sauce. NOT MARINARA SAUCE. More like a stew-type sauce. Like the sauce you get from "carne guisada".. Service was so-so, as is the case in Panama. Overall... I would stop here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JK F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good, service not so great!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited the restaurant late evening during a weekday and we waiting for ever for service. I asked the manager to please have someone take care of our orders and still had to wait another 15 minutes before the waitress showed up, and when she did she had a poor attitute. Finally the
food came out, the seafood platter I ordered was good, and nice size portion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaryta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafeteria Manolo's also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Cafeteria Manolo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing