We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bar El Bodegon

Restaurante Bar El Bodegon
Ranked #89 of 805 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Finally escaped the International Living marketing blitz and go out into Panama City. We found El Bodegon on line and it was wonderful. Great food, reasonable prices especially given the quality of service and the ambiance. Since we generally eat early, around 7, we had no problem getting a reservation when we called at 6. By the time we left around 8:30 the restaurant had filled up.

We had a great time practicing Spanish and they enjoyed our efforts to use their language while they enjoyed speaking English.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worker_bee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to linger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sat at the tapas bar for hours drinking excellent wine and tasting the tapas offered that day. Both the food and service were excellent, a nice place to have a quiet and enjoyable evening. We were never rushed even though we stayed for a long time

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank magdalena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place to Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Clearly a place for a superb meal and exceptional ambiance. The food is outstanding and the service is attentive. We went on a Friday evening for dinner, and reservations are a must. You will not be disappointed. If you are looking for an evening to remember, this is the place to go. Who knows, you might even see the President of Panama having dinner there as well, as we did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food with super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Service is one of the best you can find in Panama starting with the guy at the parking lot. ambiance is great went for the Cochinillo and it was perfect. The croquetas were great, smooth and creamy inside. The piquillos, great too. Portion of vegetables for the cochillo was small and so was the expresso which came cold. Pricy but a very good choice. Will go back to try other dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruzannibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Territet, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A Very Good service and the food very excelent, the restaurat is elegant and quiet. They have wonderful selection of wine.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marcela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar El Bodegon also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Bar El Bodegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing