We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland, overpriced Mexican fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante El Patio Mexicano

Restaurante El Patio Mexicano
Ranked #756 of 963 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bland, overpriced Mexican fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

well, we area afficianados of Mexican cooking. What was represented and an enchilada was a thin half a tortilla with about a tablespoon of shredded chicken and very, very mild sauce, both 'suisa' and 'roja' were tasteless with NO heat or spiciness. We asked for 'chips and salsa' and were served a fairly decent guacamole, pico de gallo, and something that might have been described as refried beans in a little bowl, for which we were charges $6.30-as an aside, these were listed nowhere on the menu as a extra cost item! Although, it was the cheapest thing we bought. Another case of two trips in one, first and last, we had such high hopes when we read other reviewsl ;(

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank islandshamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican restaurant in Panama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

It's about time that I wrote this review of El Patio, our favorite Mexican restaurant in Panama. We have lived here over 2 years, and we go to this restaurant about once per month. And it is a place we always take people who come to visit us.

Note: this is the same place listed separately on TripAdvisor as "Patio". Not sure how to get that reconciled.

When you first walk in, the decor is a little overwhelming. Seemingly every inch of the place is painted and decorated in bright colors and different artifacts from Mexico. In fact, it's so much that overall it comes off as fake. But when you're sitting at your table and look at each part and piece, it is quite impressive.

If you like margaritas, you will have perhaps the best frozen margarita you have ever had at El Patio. We have been to Mexico many times as well as eaten at Mexican restaurants all over the southwest U.S. (we also have a home in Arizona), and these margaritas are our favorites of all time.

The menu admittedly focuses a lot on meat. The dishes are authentic Mexican, so for you Gringos whose only Mexican experience are the chain restaurants in the U.S., don't expect to find your meal stuffed with cream cheese and covered with melted cheese. The Marimbas (ribs) are dry-rubbed with spice, not lathered with sweat tomato-based sauce. The nachos are served as in Mexico: a small dish of tortilla chips and several separate dishes of sauces, guacamole, etc. with spoons to add a little to each single chip.

Good red meat in Panama is difficult to find, but El Patio consistently has good cuts and cooks them to perfection. One of my favorite dishes is Mujer Dormida. My wife invariably gets one of the enchilada dishes.

The service is great. You are greeted at the door and then choose your table; and just a look at any one of the men will bring them to your table quickly.

There is one important negative about this place: it is expensive, especially by Panama standards. Meals are $15-20; the jumbo margarita is $11. As you can read from the above, though, we still consider it to be a good value. But I'm sure that if it were less expensive we would eat there more than once per month.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daryltiffanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fodors likes this restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

which makes me think i should never trust Fodors.
The food was terrible. Bland and boring.
I had the roast suckling pig portion. it was 4 very decently cooked pieces of pork but completely without flavor. there were no spices on it at all. not even salt or pepper! it came with a small scoop of with rice and refried beans (which were terrible) and it was $25!!!!
My wife had the Fish "conflictado". it was 2 pieces of fish, breaded and fried within and inch of their lives and floating in 2 different sauces: a green mole or verde and a red sauce of unknown origins. Both sauces were completely without flavor and watery.
Oooon the upside... the margaritas were pretty good and the decor is really great (thats why i gave it a 3)
We also met a lovely Panamanian couple who offered to take us back to where we were staying. We ended up having drinks with them and chatting for some time.
So a good time was had, despite the food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank landry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

Good place!

Helpful?
Thank peggyjum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
1 review
“GREAT SINCE MID NINETIES...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I`ve been there thousands of times since the mid 90´s and it is one of the most amazing places in my city. Time goes by and they do not change their quality standards. That is important. Service, food and enviorment are just great... Will always recommend it...

Virginia/La Casa de Carmen

Helpful?
Thank Casadecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Patio Mexicano also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante El Patio Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing