We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of A-Banda

A-Banda
Ranked #345 of 1,366 Restaurants in Panama City
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 2, 2018

We have dined here twice in the past three weeks. the first time was a Saturday night. They were very busy. The place was full, including one table of twelve or more. Even so, the service was attentive. We had an appetizer of Spanish marinated olives-as good as any we had in Madrid-and Paella with calamari and shrimp-excellent. We each had the house red wine-Lagrimas de Maria-by the glass. It was reasonably priced and good.

Our second visit was on a Friday night. We were the first customers at 6:30 and only a couple more tables were filled when we left after 8:00. We had an appetizer of Morcilla and onions-terrific. We agreed that it was better than Morcilla we had in Madrid. I had the fried Anchovies and my wife had the Andalucian-style fried pork ribs. For some strange reason, although entrees come with a choice of potatoe, salad, or vegetable, the waiter said the anchovies didn't come with a side. I ordered french fries ($3.00). I'm glad I did, they were perfectly cooked and seasoned. The anchovies were good if a little fishy-very similar to Smelt in the U.S. My wife's fried ribs were outstanding-crisp but still moist with fried slivers of garlic. We had a bottle of Spanish Rioja (very reasonably priced at $26) that was excellent. As was true on our first visit the service was attentive without being intrusive.

Our only complaint is: on our first visit, some noisy and ill-behaved children were allowed to run around the tables in the patio where we sat, greatly annoying the diners, while their parents sat inside and the wait staff did nothing.

This restaurant has an extensive and interesting menu with good service and well-prepared food. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dtfwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

Real paella and other Latin food. We went on a recommendation from a local who had eaten there the day before. No other tourists were in there . Was great food and service.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank sam444442017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Excellent service that is not always easy to find in Panama. The lady that helped us with the menu and recommendations on food was excellent! Great salads, wine and paella.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philipfoley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Me and my wife, had high expectations for this spanish food restaurant, EMPTY on a saturday night, no ambiance, it took about 45 min for our appetizers to arrive and they brought them together with the food.

We didn't complain at first but when our meal was cold we asked for it to be heated and where met with a GRUNT by the waiter.

To end this terror story it was raining when we left, and they wouldn't call us a cab or lend us an umbrella to get one ourselves

REALLY SAD - NOT RECOMENDED

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Regelio2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

They have great customer service, the guy from Switzerland is super nice and served us even out of his official working hours. He was coming to the restaurant to pick some stuff on Sunday, but they are closed on Sunday. We were at this same moment going to the place to have lunch and he was nice enough to serve us before leaving.

Brasileiros, eles servem Açaí. Bom o suficiente!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabriellpss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-Banda also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to A-Banda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing