We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, Great Tours!”
Review of Patty's Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patty's Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were very happy with our stay at Patty's Casitas. It was clean, cool, and spacious, with several nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Patty and her helper prepared interesting and filling breakfasts, and Patty conversed easily with us on a variety of topics. Rudy was an absolutely stellar tour guide. He specializes in small group sizes. We very much enjoyed our visit to the Embera Indians (only four of us visited the village that day) and our boat ride on Gatun Lake (just Rudy, the two of us, and our boat pilot). With Rudy spotting, we saw much more wildlife than we would have seen on our own, and we learned a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYTravelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Patty and Rudy's place in Bella Vista. It was centrally located in a picturesque neighborhood and within walking distance to a number of great restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. I recommend utilizing Rudy's guide services if you are going to Panama City for the first time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Patty and Rudy were wonderful. We could not have asked for better accommodations than what we had at the condo in Amador. We were so well taken care of down to our last cups of coffee. Rudy's tours are flawless. We will return.
Ken & Rita Stanley, California

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Like the title suggests, Patty and Rudy are simply the best!

The only reason we took a vacation to Panama City was because we got cheap airfare ($150 roundtrip including taxes) from NYC through a crazy deal. We knew nothing about Panama besides the fact that it had the famous canal. And we don't speak any spanish besides the very basics (ex. hello, goodbye, thank you, count to 100, etc). Looking back on the trip, we were so glad to have stayed at Patty's Casitas! Their advice/assistance helped with the language barrier that definitely exists there. Details below.

We stayed 4 nights at the B&B in the suite (2 rooms, 1 bath w/ shower and his/her sinks) which was basically a part of their house with a private entrance. The rooms are not fancy, but are spacious, super clean/comfortable, and the A/C worked well in the hot/humid weather. The WIFI was fast and they even have a computer for you to use (I brought my own laptop). The mini-bar was filled with very reasonably priced snacks, water, drinks, beer and we definitely took advantage of that. The B&B is located on a mostly residential street, but there are a bunch of restaurants/bars/nightclub within walking distance (10 minutes or less!). And there's also a supermarket 10 minutes away by foot.

The breakfasts every morning in their open air dining room consisted of bread w/ butter & delicious jam, beautifully cut/displayed fruit (we got mango, watermelon, papaya, and pineapple on our days there), yogurt, cereal/milk, cold cuts/cheese, some kind of hot food (ex. eggs, yuca patty), fresh fruit juice, and coffee/tea. It was always too much food and we could never finish it all. If you have any dietary restrictions, just let Patty know and she will accommodate you.

Although the room/location was great and the breakfasts were delicious, it was Patty and Rudy that made the experience that much more delightful. They are genuinely friendly and helpful people who love what they do and carry on their business with passion and integrity. They took care of us so well from the moment we landed to Panama to when we left to stay at another place in Casco Viego. They answered our countless questions about the area with thoughtful/honest answers and smiles on their faces. Rudy arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport at 11pm and welcomed us to the B&B with drinks when we arrived. When I got some mosquito bites on the 2nd day, Patty gave me some vinegar to rub on my bites for relief. They gave us great restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us. And when it was time for us to leave, Patty arranged a taxi to take us to our next location and told us to call them if we had any questions during the rest of our stay in Panama. It was just great service all the way around by them.

And the other great thing about Patty's was Rudy's Tours. I would highly recommend them, especially if you don't know the area and/or do not speak much spanish. We signed up for 2 tours for our first 2 days. The first day was the Canal & City Tour where Rudy took us to visit the Panama Canal and the various parts of Panama City (Casco Viejo, Panama Viejo, etc). The second day we took The Other Panama Tour where we walked around areas where the commonfolks live and experienced a more authentic Panama. Rudy was very knowledgable about the history/culture of Panama and we learned a lot about the country. His easy going nature made us comfortable from the start and it was just a pleasure spending time with him on these tours. He never hurried us and spent extra time to wonder with us when we wanted to go into various shops to browse. In fact, my wife and I enjoyed the tours so much that we booked a 3rd tour with him to see the Embera Indian village. And as expected, we had a great time on that tour as well (definitely our favorite!). We just cannot say enough about Rudy's skills as a tour guide. He is professional, thoughtful of his clients, and an all around man of integrity. The tours were all reasonably priced and worth EVERY PENNY!

Like I said earlier, everything was just great at Patty's Casita. They are the best. If you're headed to Panama City, stay at Patty's and take some tours with Rudy. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank value_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We spent 4 days in the studio apartment in Casco Viejo. Patty and Rudy met us at the airport and made us immediately feel very welcome. They drove us to the studio, gave us information on the area and a cell phone to call them if we needed anything. The studio was immaculate and very well appointed. We have travelled all over the world staying in similar types of accommodation, and I really can say that Patty's attention to detail surpassed anything I've seen. The studio had all the essentials one needs, including details such as books, DVD's, first aid, lots of good information on Panama and the kitchen had everything including basic supplies such as tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper and many other items which make a short stay much easier.

We took advantage of Rudy's tours and visited the sights of Panama City, took the train to Colon where Rudy met us in the van. He then took us to visit a traditional native village where we went by canoe, we visited the Gatun locks and generally learned a lot about Panama. Rudy is a wealth of knowledge and is a wonderful guide. Learning about the culture of a country through the eyes of a local person enriches the travel experience. Rudy and Patty provide a top service to any traveller. I highly recommend them. Thanks for a great stay in Panama City!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livinlifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our vacation and 2 nights at the end of our vacation at Patty's bed and breakfast. We were picked up at the airport at 9:30 at night. Our room was roomy and very clean and had everything we needed. We did 2 tours with Rudy and have nothing but great things to say. The breakfasts were great, Patty even gave us breakfast to go on the morning we left for the airport. Patty was very accomodating with our arrival times and allowed us to leave our luggage there until our flight at the beginning of our stay. Patty and Rudy are very friendly and do a exceptional job catering to their guests. We didn't want to leave. The location is very close to a lot of sights in the city. It is easy to catch a cab and for a few dollars go anywhere in the city. Our favorite place to eat was La Posta, best meal ever!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We found Patty's Casitas (and Ruby's Tours - Patty's husband) from a friend's recommendation. If you are coming to Panama I would say look no further. Patty and Rudy are WONDERFUL people #1--secondly high integrity - what they say they do (with willingness, eagerness & "white glove" treatment). They also have two other locations besides their B & B..to fit whatever your preference is for lodging. Rudy's tours are complete, unrushed, informative AND something that really impressed me..was if Rudy didn't know the right answer he would say with a great smile. Don't know that!!! No windy stories from Rudy, as a native Panamanian, he understands the culture of his people. As a world traveler, Rudy, has developed an open, receptive attitude toward all cultures and socio-economic levels. Can you tell? My sis and I can't give enough stars to these 2 STARS of the Panama area. Choose Patty and Rudy and you will come away with high praise .. as my grandkids would say their are "da bomb

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VerySatisfied_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 115 in Panama City
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#9 of 115 in Panama City
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 115 in Panama City
1,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#31 of 115 in Panama City
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patty's Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patty's Casitas

Address: Calle 49 | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer top notch accommodations in the most sought out neighborhoods in the city...Bella Vista, Casco Viejo (the Colonial neighborhood - a UNESCO World Heritage Site) & the Amador famous for its Causeway at the entrance of the Panama Canal.We also have a gorgeous 1 & 2 bedroom Villa in the beautiful mountains of Capira - 50 minutes from the city...the views will take your breath away...please inquire.This is your one stop shop as we also provide airport transfers, tours with Rudy (certified tour guide), and we can welcome you in English, Spanish, French, German and Italian.We, Patty & Rudy, are 100% dedicated to our guests...let us make your Panama vacation an unforgettable one;-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patty`s Casitas Hotel Panama City
Patty`s Casitas Bed And Breakfast
Patty's Casitas Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing