We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada 1914
Nearby Hotels
$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$97
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
40
38
13
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
38
13
5
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 97 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

arriving late at night we could not figure out where we ended up. the next morning we ate the basic breakfast of toast with jam and coffee and hanged around the garden area for a while. there are nice little seats outside, an outdoor kitchen,wifi and very helpfull staff. after experiencing the city a little more we found out that we got a really good deal. although the old part of town is probably more exiting this little, charming place in a quieter part of town is a great option!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaRomanelli, Owner at Posada 1914, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2015

I'm the owner of Posada 1914 and i'm sorry but the picture you posted is not Posada 1914. Your review is Fake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We arrived late (10pm) and were welcomed graciously. It's a hostel...basic room, great ambiance. Room was basic, old, but clean and enough for us. Beds comfortable. Aircon a relief. No English, but friendly. Bread, jam, coffee, tea for breakfast. Walking distance to grocery and eateries. Panama City is a maze and if there are street signs, they're impossible to see at night. Even with good directions, it took us an extra hour to find the place....not the hotel's fault, although they don't have a sign on the road...you're right on top of the place before you know you're there. Recommend hiring a taxi....even if your driving...just follow him. Be sure to take address and phone number of hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patthemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaRomanelli, Owner at Posada 1914, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

Sorry but this comment shouldn't be on my hostel page! Posada 1914 opened in 2014 and It is impossible that you stayied with us in 2011. Wrong and fake comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Great location up from a little park and near everything. 2 blocks from nice restaurants. Service was nice but didn't go out of their way. Lovely garden, hammocks, outdoor benches. A/C is the breezy kind, too breezy. For the price didn't think this was a great great value. Internet was a joke, took me 25m to get to a page. When I complained they said "sometimes it gets busy." it's a hostel, yes, but it's not that cheap. The connection should work. also, when I locked my luggage up and went back to get it, instead of supervising or getting my things they just gave me the key to the closet where everyone's things were locked. So, your things are safe there in theory, but probably not in practice.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalDigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaRomanelli, Owner at Posada 1914, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

Fake review!! This person was never my guest at Posada 1914. In 2011 my hostel was still closed!!! Shame!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here the first 2 nights of our holiday in Panama. Hostal Urraca is a relaxing place in a safe part of the city and this is exactly where we hoped for! The rooms are simple but very clean and they have airconditioning. The atmosphere is very nice, there is a cozy garden with a hammock and tables. We liked it that we could use the big kitchen to prepair a breakfast (there is a basic breakfast included) or lunch. A big super market is located in 5 minutes walking distance. Also the staff is friendly and helpfull. We felt very comfortable and safe in this hostal and the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_and_R_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked this accommodation for the first days of our travel. We were tired from the nearly 24-hour journey, and turned out that Hostel Urraca was the perfect choice for resting and exploring the city.

Our room was simple but pretty, beds comfortable, very clean. There's a lovely patio and garden with comfortable seating.S SiWireless internet if you have your own laptop, but you can also use the guest computer. Printing service was quite expencive though, I paid a dollar per sheet.

The staff was very nice and helpful, although no-one spoke any English (they advertise having a bi-lingual staff), luckily they were very pateant with my poor Spanish.

The area is very safe, clean and green, and the hostel is next to a pretty park. Supermarket, restaurants and everything else necessary is just around the corner. It is easy to hail a cab on the street and the hostel is also quite close to some good shopping (malls etc).

It's not the cheapest option, but in Panama city everything is quite expencive - I highly recommend you spent a couple of extra bucks and stay at Hostel Urraca, you can't go wrong with that.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews