We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Property, Location and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Milan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milan
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Property, Location and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel Milan was recommended by our immigration attorney. It was an excellent suggestion! Located in the El Cangrejo neighborhood which is very safe day and night, you have a choice of many of Panama City’s finest restaurants to WALK to (Manolo Caracol, Siete Mares, Martin Fierra, 1985, Machu Pichu, Tasca de Angel and Angel Restaurant) as well as nice budget restaurants (pizza, Italian, local Panamanian, etc.). The hotel has wi-fi in the rooms, a large closet and code entry safe, hot water showers, TV w/ some English stations, A/C, firm beds and a couch or large arm chair in the room. The hotel is immaculately clean, our room was big and much nicer than the website photos, the staff is very attentive and polite and it has an attached restaurant open all day with good prices and food. We asked for a quiet room away from street traffic and got it. Because the floors are tile which is traditional in Panama, the top (seventh floor) is the best because no one is above you. There are many car rental places a block away and a casino with plenty of gambling options. The staff primarily speak Spanish so if you do not, it’s best to learn some basic words or bring a dictionary to help. You can ask to speak with someone in English. You can book your reservation online in English through their website and you will receive a confirmation response in English. If you pay cash, the rate now is $65/day including tax for a room for a single or couple with double bed (which is a queen bed). All cab drivers know where Hotel Milan is located and the trip from the airport should be no more than $25. I recommend calling Edwin who speaks fair English and drives safely, not like a maniac. He charged us the ‘locals’ rate while everyone else charged the much higher ‘tourist rate’. His cel number is 66697579. It is customary to leave your hotel key at the front desk whenever you leave the hotel. They will make the bed, mop the floor and replace towels while you are out. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you want to ensure it is quiet, ask for a top floor room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SonoranLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    121
    44
    16
    24
See reviews for
31
137
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This Hotel costs far more than U$50.- a night
if you pay cash and stay over a week you might get this price
just a single room is about U$75 per night
Beds are worn out comparing to Hotel beds in Colombia
Occupancy rates are generally low in panama
prices could be much lower

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbelizeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Milan for 18 days (Jan. 2012). The hotel was spotless...they have an amazing cleaning staff. The air conditioned room was large and comfortable. We had a queen size bed, two bedside tables, a small round table (about 30" across), a small make-up table or desk (about 30" wide and 15" deep), and 2 dining room type chairs. There was an amario with ample space for two travelers' clothing, and a TV stand with 3 drawers underneath the TV...nothing luxurious, but everything you need. Free Wi-Fi was available in the rooms, but we found that the signal strength varied not only by floor, but also by your room location on that floor. It was usually adequate, sometimes quite good. The bathroom was a reasonable size with good water pressure. There was little counter space in the bathroom. The rooms do not have microwaves or refrigerators. A few staff members speak some English. (The owner's daughter went to school in the States.) Most speak only Spanish, but they are all friendly and helpful. They will gladly hail or call a cab for you. (We did not care for a private car driver, not a regular taxi driver, who is sometimes used by the hotel. He charges "tourist prices" for driving you places. We did not feel that he was genuinely friendly.) The Milan has a lot of rules, which are clearly displayed, resulting ia a better class of people who stay there...the "ladies" from the casinos are not welcome to rent a room there. People who are not registered at the hotel are not permitted to go up to the guest rooms. We met many fascinating people from many different countries who were staying at the hotel during our stay. Hotel Milan is on a busy street. We were usually able to hail a cab from the Milan, at more reasonable prices than outside of the Hotel Veneto, just a block or two away. We appreciate the safety of the driveway turnout in front of the hotel. It enabled us to enter and leave taxis without opening car doors on the street. There is a small coffee shop connected with the hotel. We felt that the food was okay, but nothing to write home about. The Hotel Milan's prices are very reasonable. It is the best value for the money that we have found in six trips to this wonderful city. We have stayed at a number of hotels in the El Cangrejo area, but we are repeat customers at the Hotel Milan. That says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank panCZkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Rooms are large, clean, and reasonably priced. The manager, Ana, is very helpful and accommodating as well as speaks English well. The room attendant was a hard worker; but, otherwise the concept of "service" is vague with the other employees as is apparently true for most of the Panama Hotel and Restaurant businesses. Internet access was good as well as is the hotel's location to the various Casinos. The new addition to the hotel should be a good upgrade for the rooms since our bed was lumpy, air conditioner noisy, TV screen smallish and ill-placed, and the room lacked wall or table lamps.

Room Tip: Deal with Ana; otherwise, you may be invisible to the rest of the desk staff as a non-Spanish speake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This budget hotel was very clean, and the folks who worked there were very nice. Rooms were large. A few things I wasn't happy about. Only two towels per room. They wouldn't give us an extra towel! Offered to pay for it but no go. No iron available. Only 1 key to each room. If I went out and my wife stayed, I needed to have the Bellman let me in to the room. ice in the hall but no ice bucked. Gave me a plastic bowel to get ice when I asked.
Very well located in Panama City. Easy to get to and leave. Indoor parking at no charge.
A little too "Budget" for my liking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hotel Milan is a modestly priced hotel with a convenient location. Taxi transport to the Tocumen airport runs $25 from there and $5.00 to Allbrook. Staff is bilingual. No outside guests are allowed up to the rooms. There is a restaurant with good food at reasonable prices next to the lobby. Meals for $7-8.00. They do serve alcohol. A great Rey supermarket is a 10 minute walk away. Beds are comfortable, and all rooms come with desk, table and chairs, as well as a very comfortable couch..and of course TV...in English. Rooms are airconditioned. There is free internet in the lobby (one)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building are a bit warmer, and there is slight street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Staying at the Hotel Milan is an international experience. The staff is friendly and always efficient. If you have business or pleasure in Panama and need a clean comfortable room to sleep with good internet access this is the place to stay. It is easy walking from here to the banking center and lots of restaurants in the El Congrejo area.

A new addition with larger rooms will be opening later this year. But the off-street free parking is a real plus for this affordable hotel.

Room Tip: Internet is available in the lobby if you do not bring your own computer. Adjoining restaurant is NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toscana Inn Hotel
Toscana Inn Hotel
#13 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#60 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevilla Suites Apart-Hotel
Sevilla Suites Apart-Hotel
#67 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Property: Hotel Milan
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, 31, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Panama City
Hotel Milan Panama/Panama City
Milan Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing