We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet location and good service level” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Balboa Inn
Ranked #5 of 84 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riethoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quiet location and good service level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this B&B at the beginning and at the end of our self-drive tour through wonderful Panama. We stayed three nights in total.
Second time arrival felt like we were coming home. Managers Bill and Mieke have been great hosts: they know the country very well and gave very useful advices, such as a great fish restaurant at Amador causeway.
The B&B has a small garden that was teeming with all kinds of birds, due to the location close to the protected Ancon hill nature reserve.
To get to the city, we had to take taxis. Some taxi drivers had difficulty finding the B&B, so take the map that Mieke and Bill provide.
We found the room furniture a little basic and outdated, except for the nice mural paintings. The rooms could use some makeover in our opinion.
Other than that, we loved the quietness of the location, the morning's waking up with bird sounds instead of traffic, the good breakfasts, the birds and the hosts. Thanks Mieke and Bill!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    119
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
201
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Balboa Inn for the beginning of our journey to Panama and again at the end. From the minute we arrived it felt like home. Bill and Mieke were amazing hosts, very helpful, very accommodating, and extremely enjoyable to visit with on the terrace. The breakfasts were great, it's in a nice residential area that is close to the airport, the bus terminal, and Albrook mall. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. We couldn't get a taxi to the ferry one morning so Bill woke early to drive us there. Mieke reserved a 2 day excursion for us to San Blas while we were off exploring Panama. When we arrived there for the end of our stay, I only had one foot out of the taxi before they were both at the door to greet us....ahhh, home sweet home! This was truly an amazing place to stay because of the hosts. I will definitely recommend to anyone that wants a carefree place to stay in Panama City. Even though the Balboa Inn is in Panama City, it sure didn't feel like it.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms but room # 10 was my favourite because it opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mieke and Bill - two very helpful hosts who are well suited for the job! Breakfasts were delicious and the open-air breakfast area tropically pleasant. The neighborhood is residential and quiet but for the occasional small plane taking off or landing at the nearby local airport. Several eateries within walking distance but English is definitely a second language here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreFournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recommend Balboa Inn Bed & Breakfast highly. It is centrally located which makes it a great base point or a perfect way to begin your trip. Mieke & Bill Hamilton have a great family approach to making our stay flawless. They exceeded our expectations by providing excellent service and always sharing helpful information. They are the ultimate concierge, which made everything easier for us. The Hamilton’s were full of knowledge of Panama City and other neighboring cities, no question was too big for them to answer. They even provided us a driver for a fee who was just as friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We will definitely stay here if we return to Panama.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaKeiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We felt like home from the first minute we arrived. Mieke and Bill are perfect hosts always helpful and giving useful advice for an enjoyable stay in Panama and Panama City - they are perfect managers and very nice people too. The rooms are very clean and provide you with everything you need and the sitting on their garden veranda is much better than a visit to any botanical garden - the perfect place for a stay in Panama City. We wish we can be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here while participating in the Panama Ironman 70.3. It was a great location for being able to bike a little before the race, and very convenient for biking to transition, and home after the race was over. This side of the city is quiet and safe. The Balboa Inn is located in a nice residential area. Mieke and Bill are great hosts and were so helpful with accommodating all our unusual needs -- bike transportation, an area to assemble our bikes, and even a 4:30am breakfast for race morning! We were so grateful for their flexibility and support.
Thanks Mieke and Bill!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This little B&B is in a very quiet location but not far from the old town and very convenient for escape from Panama City being not far from the bus station, internal airport and the road westward. On the gentle slope of Ancon Hill the garden is lovely and full of birds. The owners are warm, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and cool from the a/c and though it overlooked the road, quiet and a good place to watch overflying parrots. The furnishings were a tad tired but it had everything, lamps, fan and a good shower. The breakfasts were good and eggs freshly cooked for you as you ate the fruit or cereal. We had arrived from Europe 23 hours after leaving home and never was a bed more welcome or needed. There is as always in Panama, wifi and a pc in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzungu_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
3.1 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Panama Hotel
El Panama Hotel
#52 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
2.9 mi away
Toscana Inn Hotel
Toscana Inn Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Property: The Balboa Inn
Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancón) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing