We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Balboa Inn
Ranked #4 of 84 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trego, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Full Week”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent a full week at the hotel. Bill and Mieke were fantastic! We had a rental car problem and they were on the phone right away getting us a new way of transportation.
The animals around the yard always kept us reaching for the camera and finally the last day we were able to see the Toucans.
The view from Cerro Anton was just unreal. It was a hot hike up the hill but worth every calorie that we burned. We saw numerous birds and a sloth on the hike.
Best part of the trip for us was the fishing on Gutan Lake. We caught over 50 fish and had a wonderful guide.

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms that looked like there would be a problem. There are dogs in the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
212
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Balboa Inn, left our bags there while we took a two day trip to Isla Contadora and returned for our last night in Panama City prior to returning to Canada.
Our room was clean and bright and of a good size with a king sized bed. AC and TV worked fine and there was always hot water in the shower. Our hosts, Bill and Mieke chatted with us on the patio while pointing out the interesting birds in their yard. They were also a great help in getting us taxies, telling us things to do and see in the city and they helped us arrange our trip and accomodation on Isla Contadora. They are located in the west end of town, a short walk from Cerro Ancon, and a short taxi ride from Casco Viejo, Parque Metropolitan, and the local airport and bus station. They are also within walking distance to a good restaurant, a bank, and a grocery store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bill and Mieke are knowledgeable, friendly, professional and will do what they can to make your time in Panama work. They stored our bags after checkout and let us hang out until our overnight bus was ready. The rooms are clean and very well kept. Service was prompt. Breakfast was always good. And the location in a suburb near the Canal Administration Building made for quiet restful evenings with other guests and our hosts. Taxis are easy to get and food is nearby just past the church. Ask Bill and Mieke about the Portobello tour. It was a major highlight of our trip and wouldn't have happened without them.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our three night stay at The Balboa Inn was absolutely a wonderful experience. A pleasant out of the city B&B a short cab ride from Miraflores Locks (Panama Canal) and Parque Metropolitian, and within walking distance to Cerro Anton, Panama Canal Administration buildiing and other attractions. Don't miss a short trip by car or cab to recommended restaurants on Amador Causeway nearby. The indoor / outdoor dining and social areas of this property provide the perfect opportunity to relax and enjoy the local wildlife, a favorite beverage, and fun conversations with innkeepers Bill and Mieke and other guests after a day of activities. Innkeepers Bill and Mieke are extremely knowledgeable of the area and Panama and attentive. Our only dissapointment was having to leave for our next destination.

Room Tip: Chat with innkeepers Bill & Mieke about your specific concerns. You'll find them more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

You will be hard pressed to to better than the Balboa Inn for many reasons, however if you need 5 star deluxe, then go find it and pay accordingly elsewhere.

The highly experienced management will do their utmost to ensure your stay both at the Inn, and the country in general goes smoothly, safely and as serenely as can be reasonably expected.

Further note should be made of the fact that there is a high return rate amongst guests, and that prospective new guests booking late must frequently be turned away.
This is not your regular, plain vanilla, corporate accommodation and I understand that many long-lasting friendships have been forged between both staff and guests, and guests with each other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived late in Panama and Bill and Mieke went out of their way to accommodate us - cleaning up a room that had just been vacated in the evening. Very friendly and very knowledgeable - they shared their knowledge of the city and where to go.
Nice sitting area - indoors and outdoors.... although there seemed to be quite a few smokers staying there!

The inn is in a quiet, safe location and easy to get to the causeway, to the old town, to the locks. to the huge mall.... and the bus station.

The room was clean, comfy, and quiet. Had a good sleep! Could use the internet at no charge.

We enjoyed this city - had visited 40 years earlier....when we went through the canal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIWIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros

We chose to stay her to be away from the city noise and grime, and it was quite peaceful, and a short distance from the bus station, Amador Causeway, and Cerro Ancon. Meike and Bill were very helpful organising taxis etc. The room was spacious, and bathroom small but worked OK. A/C and fan worked fine.

Cons

The place is slightly shabby, and the taxi drivers don't know where it is, which can be tricky, although it is close to the canal administration building. There is nowhere nice to eat nearby, although you can walk to the restaurants at the end of Amador causeway in about an hour. We did try Nico's which is 5 minutes walk, but found it to be a sort of fast food mall, and no alcohol. Better to get a taxi to the Casco Antiguo - should only be a $2.50 taxi ride, but as soon as they realise you are a foreigner the fare doubles!

There is definite smell of stale smoke about the place, which non-smokers may find unpleasant.

Overall we had a pleasant enough 2 nights here, but compared to everywhere else we stayed I would say $50-$60 would be a fair price to pay. We did expect a bit smarter for $90.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiceandCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
1,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Property: The Balboa Inn
Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancon) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing