We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super helpful friendly folk”
Review of The Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Balboa Inn
Ranked #4 of 78 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Super helpful friendly folk”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived late in Panama and Bill and Mieke went out of their way to accommodate us - cleaning up a room that had just been vacated in the evening. Very friendly and very knowledgeable - they shared their knowledge of the city and where to go.
Nice sitting area - indoors and outdoors.... although there seemed to be quite a few smokers staying there!

The inn is in a quiet, safe location and easy to get to the causeway, to the old town, to the locks. to the huge mall.... and the bus station.

The room was clean, comfy, and quiet. Had a good sleep! Could use the internet at no charge.

We enjoyed this city - had visited 40 years earlier....when we went through the canal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIWIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    126
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
215
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pros

We chose to stay her to be away from the city noise and grime, and it was quite peaceful, and a short distance from the bus station, Amador Causeway, and Cerro Ancon. Meike and Bill were very helpful organising taxis etc. The room was spacious, and bathroom small but worked OK. A/C and fan worked fine.

Cons

The place is slightly shabby, and the taxi drivers don't know where it is, which can be tricky, although it is close to the canal administration building. There is nowhere nice to eat nearby, although you can walk to the restaurants at the end of Amador causeway in about an hour. We did try Nico's which is 5 minutes walk, but found it to be a sort of fast food mall, and no alcohol. Better to get a taxi to the Casco Antiguo - should only be a $2.50 taxi ride, but as soon as they realise you are a foreigner the fare doubles!

There is definite smell of stale smoke about the place, which non-smokers may find unpleasant.

Overall we had a pleasant enough 2 nights here, but compared to everywhere else we stayed I would say $50-$60 would be a fair price to pay. We did expect a bit smarter for $90.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiceandCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bill and Mieke have tremendous knowledge about local restaurants, tours and sightseeing, and are terrific hosts and interesting to talk to. They are smokers, and our room was right above the smoking porch, and we like to leave the windows open. They were very accomodating when we mentioned it. The rooms are good and clean, common area is nice, and the yard is nice, including the occasional toucans. Yes, there are neighborhood dogs that bark, but this is Panama, and that's part of the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bill and Mieke are terrific hosts. We stayed for three nights with our two small dogs, and will return shortly. We were given great advice regarding restaurants, self-service laundry, etc. The common area is a lovely place to meet other guests, check the computer, and watch the wildlife that is so nicely sustained in the yard. Breakfasts are ample and good. The neighborhood is very nice for walking; very secure. Best of all, they loved our dogs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Balboa Inn over New Year's. I don't think it deserves the rating of average that I gave it, but I also don't think it deserves a rating of very good. Good is how I would rate it. The directions to meet the driver at the airport were perfect. We arrived at the Inn late, around 11:30, to be met by Bill, who seemed in a hurry to just tell us the basics so he could get back to bed. Hey, I know it was late, but it was his choice to own a bed and breakfast! The Inn is in an upper middle class type neighborhood and is one half of a duplex. The downstairs is spacious, nicely decorated, and opens onto a garden with lots of birds and the occasional agouti (garden is almost an exact duplicate of a Hilo, Hawaii backyard). We had an upstairs room (#5) which was average - nothing great, except the wall paintings were very nice. It overlooked rooftops and the street. I was a bit grossed out by the dead soap with hair on it in the shower. We had no glasses in the room and had to request them. Bed was fine, room basically clean. Towel rack in bathroom fell off the wall. We stayed 3 nights and it seemed as though the room was attended to only once. Room also had 2 nightstands with cool touch lamps, and a closet. The breakfast was also average - 3 cereal choices, eggs and bacon (on request), a few different breads, peanut butter and jam, liquid yogurt, cut up fruit, juices and icky coffee. A dog barked at night which made it difficult to fall asleep. Both Mieke and Bill are smokers and they have part of their outside patio reserved for smokers. Mieke was quite helpful with questions; I found Bill more reserved. Over New Years, restaurants closed early, and Mieke had called around to find out which ones were open, which was very helpful (we had to make reservations at 3 PM!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Bill and mieke are so helpful from transfers to tours to restaurant recommendations. The rooms are clean and this place would score higher if it wasn't for those dogs going all night. The breakfast is nice with eggs served and the garden is a nice touch. Bring earplugs and if you have a problem getting a cab back to their place say nikos cafe, the cabbies know where that is!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snipersdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Balboa Inn for a total of 4 nights in December 2012. The hosts Mieke and Bill helped to make our visit to Panama City very memorable. They helped with transportation and offered great ideas for what to see and do during our visit. The Inn itself was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.8 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
#50 of 113 in Panama City
835 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 113 in Panama City
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
3.1 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balboa Inn

Property: The Balboa Inn
Address: Cruces 2311A | Balboa, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balboa Inn is a small Bed & Breakfast at the foot of Panama's main landmark, Ancon Hill (Cerro Ancon) in Balboa. Conveniently located between the downtown area, Amador Causeway and just minutes away from the domestic Albrook Airport, Casco Viejo, and the Panama Canal you are away from the city noise yet have access to all its services. The Balboa Inn: a great location, personal service, a real breakfast. Simply good value. Why settle for less? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Hotel Panama City
The Balboa Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing