We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balboa Inn
Nearby Hotels
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Panama Marriott Hotel(Panama City)
$143
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$114
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis(Panama City)
$160
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riande Aeropuerto(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$100
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$182
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
266
130
20
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
130
20
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamador causewaythe canal administration buildingcanal zonealbrook airportcasco viejoquiet neighborhoodcovered patiogreat hostswithin walking distancetaxi ridefelt like homeplenty of hot waterfresh fruitspent nightsold cityrosiedriver
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 429 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Balboa Inn is well situated to allow easy access to Panama City, Panama Canal Locks, Amador Causeway, Ancon Hill, many fine restaurants and the Pan-american Highway. Mieke and Bill Hamilton were fantastic hosts with inside knowledge of Panama and expert guides. They were able to expedite our forays into Panama and surrounding areas.

George & Sherry D.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came to Balboa Inn as the final leg of trip around Costa Rica and Panama and the hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. It is nicely located in a safe neighborhood within lush tropical gardens. Rooms are clean and spacious with TV, AC and fan. Breakfast is served in the garden and caters to all tastes. Special requests are responded to very swiftly. The owners can provide you with a number of tips which helps you to make the most out of your stay in Panama City. Just make sure that you keep the business card of the hotel always you when you are around in town as taxi drivers are often confused about its location and might have a hard time finding it. Just ask the owners - there are always ready to help you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the Balboa Inn on three occasions during our trip to Panama in April. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. Everything in the rooms functioned well and the garden was a great place to hang out and watch the local wildlife. Breakfast was great and the fresh baked goods were always on hand in the morning. Cold beer by request was a nice touch as well!

Thanks Bill and Mieke for a great stay, we hope to be back again someday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a lovely place. The couple who run the hotel are extremely friendly and provide lots of useful information on what to visit and what you should pay for things. Rooms are good with A/C, fan and TV. Breakfast is also good.

Taxi's are cheap so nothing is too far away. Good alternative to the big chain hotels which seem to be very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller211234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This comfortable and airy inn is nestled in an attractive and safe neighborhood that is close to transportation, restaurants and the Allbrook Mall. We have stayed at hotels in the rain forest of Costa Rica and I must say we have never seen as many birds as we did while enjoying our generous and delicious breakfast at the Balboa Inn. We got so caught up watching the birds and Agoutis we almost ignored our breakfast.The birds were fascinating and it was a lot of fun seeing the Agoutis so close up. The rooms are clean and bright, tastefully painted with nature scenes. One aspect I really appreciated was that the bathrooms included wash cloths along with bath and hand towels. Mieke and Bill are so warm and inviting and share their love of birds along with their guests. They know the most exciting tours and tour operators and are extremely helpful in making arrangements. When we are in Panama City we will always come to the Balboa Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews