We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient place for a competitive price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veneto Hotel & Casino
Ranked #101 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a very good place to stay. Big room and comfortable, very clean also plus a good view of the city. We didnt ask for breakfast as it was absolutely overpriced and yoo can find fine cafes very close. If you dont mind the casino atmosphera and very doubious looking people around, the place is just perfect to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PirataGambrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Veneto Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 728 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had an awesome stay at the Veneto.. we booked the cheapest room and requested a single large bed rather than 2 beds in our room but we didn't get them. So we asked if we could change and without telling us they put us into a new room which was the PREMIERE SUITE worth more than twice what we payed for our room for free!. What an awesome surprise. The staff were great it was clean the casino was good couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikitene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Veneto Hotel&Casino, but I was in Panama City for business for several weeks and I went to gamble at their casino many times. At first sight,, the casino is aging but nice, especially if you prefer smaller casinos. The live entertainment on weekend evening is of good quality and there are many people drinking, dancing and having fun besides those who are gambling at the tables. As you probably know already, the Veneto casino is a hangout for the ladies of the night. They come in all shapes and forms and there is one for every taste. They usually arrive after 8 pm and rush hours seem to be between 10pm and midnight. They will not bother you beyond a smile and a blink and will let you come to them if you are interested. By the way, smiling back at them will be interpreted as an indication that you are a potential client and might lead them to waste time on you. So if you are not interested, don't smile back at them (that's the best way to be nice). If you like playing live poker, I am told that they have the best poker room in town.These are all the good things I have to say about this casino. Now the pot.

I have stopped going to the Veneto casino because of growing security worries. First, I had a false sense of security because of the security guard who was scanning people for weapons at the bottom of the escalator leading up to the casino. I later found out that to the left, just besidesf the sports-book room, there is another entrance: that side-entrance is the one used by the ladies of the night and most of the locals, including the hustlers about which I am to say a word. The security guard standing by that side-entrance does not scan anybody for weapons, so that the scanning at the main entrance is just a show to make tourists and visitors feel secure, and I don't like being lied to.There is a groupe of men, most of whom between the ages of 30 and 45, who are hustling foreigners by standing behind them and cheering them up whenever they win a hand, tapping their shoulder or high-fiving them if they happen to turn around. If you ''befriend'' one of these hustlers (and here, by ''befriending'', I simply mean acting in a normal polite way), you soon will find out that you have a group of them behind you, giving you advice, pretending, if you win, that is because of their good luck, etc. Eventually, they will pressure you to place a wager for them, or to give whatever money they can eke out of you in whichever way they can get it. Now you could say that you have witnessed similar things in other casinos around the world. So have I. What upsets me ishow little the dealers and table managers seem to care when their clients become upset with the hustlers' behavior. In some instances, I have seen rich tourists harassed at the table by drunk and aggressive locals, only to see the dealer look at his feet and the table manager look the other. Why would the Veneto casino be willing to vex its best clients in order not to confront people who clearly bring them no business and nothing else but trouble? Why do the dealers managers seem afraid of these small time hustlers? The only hypothesis that I could come up with is that the management has somehow lost the countrol of their casino floor to a local low-life street-gang. And that is not the only place where they have lost countrol.

Avenidad Veneto, where the Veneto hotel&casino is located, turns out to be a pretty dangerous place at night. The security of the Hotel begins at the door and ends at the door. Take a step outside and you are on your own. Being an occasional smoker, I strongly suggest that if you want to smoke, you should do so on the balcony of the sports-book room (you will find the black door leading to that balcony at the very back of the room). The problem is, the sports-book closes pretty early. When it is closed, you should go outside of the main entrance (and not outside of the side door that I mentioned previously). Stay near the door, within the space occupied by the corporate taxi drivers (recognizable by their white polos). To my dismay, while smoking there, I happened to witness, in the last couple of weeks, two physical aggressions right across the street from the main entrance of the Veneto hotel, feet away from the terrasse of the Cafeteria Manolo. In the first attack, three big women ganged up to immobilize and mug a drunk tourist. In the second attack, which occured last weekend, a guy was slashed in the face just after crossing the street. I had seen that guy in the casino not long before. He rushed back to the entrance of the Veneto and two security guards stopped him and called their supervisor. I couldn't see the face of the guy, but he was bleeding heavily, as I could see looking at his feet. The supervisor arived after a minute or two and asked in spanish to the bleeding guy if he had been stabbed in the hotel. The guy spoke English and didn't understand the question and the supervisor was not eager to make himself clear. I saw at that point that the guy's wound was about 6 inch long, running from his left ear to within an inch of his mouth, and it looked deep. The bleeding was not slowing down and a pool of blood was forming on the sidewalk.Someone eventually translated the question and the guy in blood said ''no''. The Veneto security supervisor than did with his hands the ''I'm washing my hands off of it'' sign and said with absolutely no sympathy whatsoever: ''call police''. He would not even call the police or an ambulance for that foreigner who did not speak spanish and had just been stabbed next to the Veneto Hotel where he had been a client all night. Just to be clear: this is not an instance of discrimination: the guy in blood was Caucasian, in his mid-forties and dressed casually. This just seemed to be a case of gross indifference on the part of the Veneto hotel&casino for the security and well-being of their clients once they take one step of their venue. Imagine if someone has a heart attack in front of the Veneto Hotel: will the security supervisor tell that guy to call an ambulance for himself? That does not come near to meet international standards. I was disgusted and decided at once that I would never go back to gamble at the Veneto and that I would write this comment.

To finish my story, after the incident, I spoke with a few locals about Avenidad Veneto. I marvelled at the fact that from the balcony of the sports-book room, where I usually went smoking, I would regurlarly see one of the three women having taken part in the mugging incident: she would just hang out in front of the Veneto hotel, not far from the entrance towards the El Panama Hotel. I described her (4:10-11 feet tall, about 180-200 pounds, dark skin, attached short hair) and all the locals knew exactly whom I was talking about and showed no surprise at what I had told them. The locals' account is that she is part of a groupof 5 women who ''terrorize'' Avenidad Veneto at night. ''There is mugging every night on Avenidad Veneto'', a few of them told me, ''right around the Veneto Hotel''. Once in while, it gets bloody, and sometimes fatal.I was told that everyone knew who these five women were: the regulars of the neighborhood, the Streets vendors, the police, the Veneto security guards, the corporate drivers servicing the hotel, everyone. Hopefully, now, that includes even you. I guess that for the locals, tourists walking around at the wrong time of the day are fair game, and it looks like the Veneto Hotel&Casino doesn't give a damn about what happens to its clients once they have stepped outside.

Moral of the story: if you decide to go the Veneto, take a cab back and forth, even if you come from nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
17  Thank BusyTime2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at the Veneto for 3 days. Beds were very comfortable. Casino was nice,drinks were overpriced,so we went to the bar next door and had a blast. Service was good. Very interesting experience. Going back in October.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAJUNKAMIKAZIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

money was stolen from the safe in my room and my friends room and when I complained they acted dumb, but I could tell by the look on their face that they were steeling. If you call that your safe is locked they will put on a act and bring a computer and act like only the manager can open their safe but the fact is they have a master code that can open any safe and that is how the employees steal money from your safe. they stole 1000 dollars from my safe and 700 dollars from my friend. everyone stays at this hotel to party and gamble and they know that and everyone getting drunk do not remember how much money they have and they take advantage of that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank samir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Please be very careful, if you reserve on line your credit card is charge, by some reason is not inmediatelly charged the amount, when you arrive to the hotel the credit card is charged again.
At the end of you stay, surprise you are charged twice for the stay.
Be very careful!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Veneto is centrally located in the El Cangrejo area. It is a Wyndham hotel ( high rise ) and is quite nice. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. There are restaurants, bars, and a casino in the hotel for entertainment or you can walk to many other places or easily catch a cab out front. They also have a nice rooftop pool, an adequate gym, and a spa. Every room has wi-fi that works well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejmannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene V, Manager at Veneto Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear EJMAnnArbor:
Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeingyou again in the future!

Cheers
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#39 of 115 in Panama City
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#57 of 115 in Panama City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.3 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Hotel & Casino

Address: Avenido Eusebio A. Morales y Via Veneto, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#25 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $45 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veneto Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto Hotel & Casino, features 301 luxuriously appointed rooms, 10,000 square feet of newly refurbished meeting and event space, a full service spa and beauty salon, five restaurants including the famed New York Steakhouse, a Sushi Bar, a pool bar, 24/7 Casino Bar/Restaurant. Las Vegas style casino with nightly entertainment, all in the heart of Panama City’s renown banking district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veneto Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Veneto Panama
Veneto Hotel Panama
Casino Panama City
Wyndham Panama City
Veneto Panama
Panama City Wyndham
Veneto Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing