We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Great Time Veneto, we had so much fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veneto Hotel & Casino
Ranked #101 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed April 3, 2012

just stayed at the Veneto over the weekend with my girlfriend and if you like Latin music, good food, and a comfortable place to stay this is it. Casinos of course are for adults and this place is like Las Vegas. Great low limit tables are available for us amateurs with the dealers helping us on how to place bets. Try the steak house if you get lonesome for a good steak. Breakfast is a deal with amble all you can eat breakfast foods with eggs cooked to order. I got a great deal on the room rate with Expedia. The location is walking distance to a lot of different restaurants. Not like the experience I had some time back at the Wyndham in Richmond, Virginia that was horrible. Should be called Great Time Veneto, we had so much fun..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 747 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Wyndham should congratulate the ownership. Probably the best run hotel in Latin America. Being American I felt right at home!!

From check in to check out really professional. I would try the NY steak house as good as Sparks in Manhattan.

My only complaint is the spa is a little dated. Overall all good hotel. I knew nothing and was there for few days and loved it all.

Always ask about airport transfer. front desk has many options

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

stayed two nights; wonder where got the Veneto its star rating
1. Asked reception for extended electrical cord (for medical equipment) -
Response: go to a store and buy one!
2. Food: the sancocho was at par; the Chinese dumplings ordered had to
be rejected; they served different ones to substitute. Result: two were
warm and edible, the third one was solidly cold
3. Hot water on the 12 floor - forget it. Be happy with lukewarm for your bath
4. Aircon: Piso # 12 is like Alaska in Winter - inside the room not very different

Clearly, this hotel lacks Managment comittment; they have to decide whether they
want to be a Casino or a real hotel. The Veneto destroys Wyndham hotel reputation
in other locations.
In summation: not worth the money. There is better value nearby

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank wanneeickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVecchi, Manager at Veneto Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Wanneeickel:
We apologize that your stay at the Veneto did not meet your expectations or our standards. I have personally addressed each of the issues listed in your comments with the managers responsible and will follow through to make sure that they are resolved. We have added an electrical extension cord to our front desk convenience items. It was a reasonable request and we apologize that the front desk associate did not respond appropriately.
We ask that you contact us when you are next in Panama and give us an opportunity to change prove our commitment to customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was advised about this hotel from a person on the airplane as Veneto is being the place to be. It is the place to be since every taxi driver knows about it. But not for the families.
This hotel houses the casino and live music entertainment starting at 9 p.m. it has a gentelmen's club next door and few massage parlours within walking distance. You want private entertainment, well, you get it. "Working ladies" will be glad to make your life interesting.
Hotel is great. There are free parking included. Sushi bar at the lobby as well as New York steakhouse. Check out times at 12:00 hrs and check in at 15:00 hrs. Second floor houses the casino and social area with gym and swimming pool on the 7th floor.
Floors from 8 to 17 reserved for guests only, meaning you cannot access them without your room card. Stick the card in the reader at the elevator and press your floor, otherwise it will not go.
I had a Deluxe room. Comfy room, not really audio isolated as at night time i could hear the TV in the room next to me. Shower area is great, lights operated by inserting your room card in the electrical reader by the door, thats why they give you one extra card. Wi-fi throughout the hotel is free of charge and no password needed to access the network. The signal does starts to fade out as you get higher floors, away from the lobby.
Refrigerator was way too loud though, i had to unplug it for the night time as it was making loud noices. Tv, air conditioner, lights worked fine.
Your dining options if you dont want the options in the hotel are pizza restaraunt right across from the hotel. Few smaller places offering choices of esplanadas for 60 cents a piece. Not too far is a big supermarket chain, called Rey. Prices there are of the same nature as Canadian supermarkets. They hace a choice of ready to go, cooked food if you want to take it back to your room.
Also, in the lobby of the hotel you xan purchase 24 or 48 hours tickets for Panama City sightseeing double decker bus which runs every twenty minutes by different stops throughout the city including the Causeway, Milaflores canal locks, Albrooke mall and Colonial town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guamokolatoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVecchi, Manager at Veneto Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to hear from you and we thank you for the time you have taken to share your opinions with us. We hope you will consider us on your return trips to Panama!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you are after a cheap bachellor party destination, this is the place to go.
I think it great for a groups of firends which are looking to drink a lot for cents and have some action with working ladies, while enjoying a nice swimming pool or gambling at the casino.
If you are into that plan then, this is the perfect place.

If you are in Panama for business or with the family please avoid this place!!

Room Tip: 9th floor has been recently re-decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place was terrible: AC on a tear...room was 50 degrees. No hot water in shower. Internet did not work at all. Tried to talk to manager but there was non, nor was there one at check out. Minor issues with the room too...clock radio broken, phone ringer too, towel rack and soap dish loose, wall paper buckled etc. Could not get any satisfaction, all I (and my friend who had issues in his room too) could do is leave a note. No one has contacted us. This hotel is an all adult hotel with many call girls hanging out around the second floor bar casino. You can hire one and take them to your room. Do not bring your wife or kids here!!!! stay away, it is falling apart. They offer good security guards and very comfortable beds to go along with the the hooker setup. A much better choice was the Riu which offered a fantastic free breakfast, modern rooms with view, great internet and a new modern hotel room.

Room Tip: Personally I would go elsewhere but if you must go there the high floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham Grand Veneto in Panama City for three days earlier this week. I was there for the first time early last September, and except for one small thing, it was even nicer this time around and I am again giving it an "Excellent" rating. I have read some of the other recent reviews and will say I saw things differently. This hotel has a major casino. There are, indeed, what appear to be "working women" in the casino, but I have never been in a casino where they weren't present, and these were not obnoxious. I agree that the hotel could use refurbishing, but the rooms and bathrooms are large and clean and the maids, as I observed them, do a good job keeping them that way, and the bed was very comfortable. There is a nice Italian restaurant (and a steak house, not sampled) where the food is good and the low-priced portions are enough for two, and a pool/deck area with great views adjoining a nice bar, a gym and a spa. The "small thing" was that the bartender did not know how to make the mojito listed on the menu. But this is one reason I like this hotel so much: Irene Veechi, the manager, springs into action when she learns that anything is amiss. I happened to see her in the lobby and mentioned the "mojito problem" to her. She immediately got out her cell phone and started to make sure it didn't happen again. Hard to beat - except that the hotel also has free valet parking, is one block from the Via Espana (one of the major roads in the commercial heart of the city), I found that the best driver/interpreter in Panama, Alberto ("Archie") Archibald, is still working with the Veneto, and when I made reservations, Irene pointed me to a 30% discount that Wyndham was offering. There are perhaps "nicer" hotels in Panama City; the Riu on Calle 50 is about a mile away - and costs twice as much. Furthermore, while the construction of the new subway system creates a little chaos in the area, the Veneto is within walking distance of many stores, large and small, and also residential areas and small businesses. The first time I was there I discovered that the law firm at which I had an appointment was a block away (I did not know it until I asked the concierge for directions). I will go back to Panama City, and when I do, I'll stay at the Veneto (at least as long as Irene is the manager).

Room Tip: All rooms are above the seventh level (lobby, casino, parking, pool/bar/gym/spa are below) so are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPhil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel & Casino
Continental Hotel & Casino
#45 of 116 in Panama City
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Panama City
Eurostars Panama City
#47 of 116 in Panama City
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#69 of 116 in Panama City
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#38 of 116 in Panama City
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#56 of 116 in Panama City
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Hotel & Casino

Address: Avenido Eusebio A. Morales y Via Veneto, El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#24 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $40 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Veneto Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto Hotel & Casino, features 301 luxuriously appointed rooms, 10,000 square feet of newly refurbished meeting and event space, a full service spa and beauty salon, five restaurants including the famed New York Steakhouse, a Sushi Bar, a pool bar, 24/7 Casino Bar/Restaurant. Las Vegas style casino with nightly entertainment, all in the heart of Panama City’s renown banking district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Veneto Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Veneto Panama
Veneto Hotel Panama
Casino Panama City
Wyndham Panama City
Veneto Panama
Panama City Wyndham
Veneto Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing