We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming; good birding on site!”
Review of Albrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albrook Inn
Ranked #36 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming; good birding on site!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for several nights recently while with Birding Panama and we're pleased with our experience. The rooms and food (at the on-site) restaurant were nothing fancy but worked well for us. The customer service was very good. We especially loved the fact we could wake up, walk out the door, and bird the property. There's a pond within very close walking distance in the back that we birded many times during our stay. The rooms were clean an sufficient and the restaurant/outdoor patio was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room on the backside of the building if you don't mind the steps. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitterbugjamey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    78
    42
    27
    22
See reviews for
51
73
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This year was my second stay at the albrook inn hotel. After we changed the room (for more money), I was very confident (the first room hadn´t a window). There was a woman working at the reception and I think she was still getting used to her maybe "new" work, but still very friendly. I really liked the food at the hotel´s restaurant, I often had the pepper steak, really good! The service depended on the people who were working. The guy was very attentive, but the women not so much..There also was one guy working, helping with the luggage and garden, he was very very friendly! There is a small pool in the backyard of the hotel and it is very nice to have your breakfast or diner sitting outside in the garden. The hotel is just 5 minutes (by taxi) away from Albrook Mall, which is one of the biggest shopping malls in Panama, where you can get everything. Also the domestic Albrook airport ist closed by, so if you have your flights to san blas or bocas del toro early in the morning, this hotel is a very good choice. Because in panama you never know how long the traffic takes.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room with a window looking at the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frannziskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I am currently staying at the Albrook with the tour group Birding Panama and over the last two weeks I've stayed five days at the Albrook Inn in Panama City, Panama. The first 3 days I had no hot water and brought it to the attention of management and they couldn't fix it in the three days that I stayed here. I came back to Albrook 4 days later and had a room with hot water but when I ordered steak and potatoes for dinner they substituted zucchini for spuds without informing me and I don't like zucchini. I returned here last night and the internet was not working as was the case on the first night that I stayed here. Ten minutes ago I tried to leave my room to take a stroll before bedtime and found that I was locked IN my room and had to call the front desk to let me OUT of my room. I am currently in a new room with a door that appears to function correctly. I was planning to stay here another 2 days after the end of my bird watching tour but I am cancelling my reservations and staying at a Hostel that I've stayed in before. I stayed for a few days in 2010 and was not impressed with the Inn at that time but had no choice but to stay here this time since I was with a tour group. Since I am an avid birder I was disappointed to see dry hummingbird feeders and an absence of fruit feeders but the piles of festering trash by the dumpsters did attract quite a few Yellow-headed Caracaras and several Black Vultures which were of some consolation. I will say that the reception/maintenance staff was courteous and the grounds were attractive and the rooms were clean.

Room Tip: Room 120 had No hot water. I was locked IN room 105. The restaurant excels in mediocrity both in foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berdnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Owensboro
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Ten of us were booked at the Albrook Inn as part of a package offered by Birding Panama. we were pleasantly surprised by the clean and modern bathroom and lovely grounds. Although the room was small, we are used to that from European travel. The grounds include ample birding opportunities. We saw egrets and heron on the small pond, as well as a variety of other birds in the surrounding area. The staff (other than the receptionist) spoke minimal English, but we managed well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy11Owensboro_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

If a dirty bathroom, hair on your sheet, and loud 'boom boom' music from neighboring properties are your cup of tea, you'll love this place. Otherwise, I'd avoid it. We asked the receptionist if we could change rooms, and she replied that the hotel was booked. There wasn't a light on anywhere else in the hotel, and no cars in the parking lot. We had an early flight out of Albrook Airport, so I thought this would be a good idea to be close to the airport. Bad idea. I'll stay in Panama City next time.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, stay opposite the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelzlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night because my husband lived on Albrook AFB as a kid & wanted to revisit the area. Our room was sparse but it was clean with a comfortable bed. AC worked very well. Small pool. Very nice complementary breakfast. If it weren't for all the Albrook connection, we wouldn't have stayed here. That said, it's very close to Miraflores Locks and to Gamboa.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rwoehst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This small and quaint hotel was a pleasant stay. The bedding and mattresses are among the best in all of Panama. Fixtures in bath are modern and clean. Large screen tv very nice and had good reception. Something not always at a panama hotel. No hangers in closet and closet smelled musty. Most likely due to a concrete floor in closet.

Breakfast was ok typical panama buffett. Prices was a bit high. I would suggest around $75 max price but things are going up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalmike63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
#51 of 114 in Panama City
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AC Hotel Panama City
AC Hotel Panama City
#62 of 114 in Panama City
16 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#99 of 114 in Panama City
289 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albrook Inn

Property: Albrook Inn
Address: Calle Las Magnolias No. 14 | Albrook, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albrook Hotel Panama City
Albrook Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing