We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Albrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albrook Inn
Ranked #35 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Beaconsfield
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I booked our room for our family (3 young children between ages 1 and 7) as we planned our stay in Panama. Due to having several legs to our trip, we had questions about what to do with luggage we did not need for certain parts of the trip, among other things. Miguel and Jenny were very obliging and very helpful. Above all, they went out of their way to be helpful. They booked a van for us from Tocumen airport to their inn (which is 5 minutes away from the Albrook airport, where our flight would be the day after we would arrive). Their van charged us half as much as other vans would have charged us on the internet!! Albrook Inn was simple but clean, and is in a quiet little area with a quaint pool and pretty vegetation on the grounds. Miguel made a note that we needed a playpen, and all was in place when we arrived late on the day of arrival. The night janitor heated water for the baby's bottle in his quarters after we got there late and the restaurant was closed. The restaurant staff was very accommodating and friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful, plentiful and meals were generally very well priced. Since the Inn was but an overnight stop, we only stayed briefly but with the experience we had, we would gladly stay longer for a few days of relaxation after a very long trip from Canada with 3 young kids! They could have stayed the whole week in that little pool and been just as happy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    78
    42
    27
    22
See reviews for
51
73
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have stayed several times now at the Albrook Inn and have always been pleased. Accessible yet quiet, good and clean rooms, lovely garden, good breakfast and above all fantastic staff! We ran into issues of delayed flights therefore arrivals and the front desk has always been really responsive, helpful and efficient in helping us sort the logistical changes. Courteous, helpful and handling their job and the hotel with great care. It's the only hotel we choose now when we visit Panama City. We highly recommend it. (last stayed there this month, but have been using them since Feb.2011).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma11222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel has good customer service, is near Metro Park (great birding and wildlife viewing in the City!). If you have an early or late in country flight, this is a great location. Breakfast is included and a not bad. The back deck where breakfast is served is nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the old USAF Visiting Officers' Quarters. Food & rooms are good, just isolated from the city & shopping. A car is suggested.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms so you can determine a location you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I'm surprised I didn't write my review from October 2011.
After a particularly harrowing trip from PDX with my poor cats in tow, the Albrook was a very nice surprise. And a relief.
They allow pets in some rooms and that is the main reason we stayed there. Not really looking for luxury or any fancy amenities. We just wanted a bed and a place for the kitties.
What we found was a very pretty, little property on a small hill, surrounded by lush plants. There is a nice modest pool, a good restaurant and very friendly, helpful people. Our dinner and breakfast was better then most of the other places we've stayed at in Panama City.
Our room was simple and clean. Being a "pet" room I'm sure it was not as nicely appointed as the others. There was a large open closet like area that was perfect for their carriers.
It's very near the bus station, airport and mall in Albrook. Cab fair was about $38 USD from Tucomen.
I recommend it for being quiet, simple, friendly and pretty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klcameow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Albrook In is a small inn located about 20 minutes north from the international airport and 5 minutes from the national airport. It is difficult to get to if you are driving yourself, and have not navigated the streets of Panama before. We purchased a set of Panama maps (http://www.ptygps.com/) which we loaded onto our GPS Garmin Nuvi 2350.
Before we got to Panama we studied the roads on Google maps, and printed some maps of the areas we thought would be most challenging. Although the maps we purchased were very close in their directions to get us to Albrook In, it was most helpful to have an understanding of the difficult areas of our route. We needed both to get to our destination.

I had contacted The Albrook Inn staff and communicated with them in Spanish (I am a fluent and native speaker), and had written to them and spoken over the phone. I had also confirmed our arrival and information the day before our arrival. I had confirmed the number of guest to expect and our preferences which they readily agreed to. However, when we arrived at 1:00 A.M. on December 19th, 2011 those accommodations where not available, we did not have the number of beds available to us and we were forced to have our teen daughter sleep on a very uncomfortable couch for that first night. They had difficulty getting bedding for her to cover the couch with. It took them an extra hour to make bedding available. By then, we had stripped the bed and tried to make do with what we had.
No explanations where offered, and no apologies were extended by the Albrook Inn. We woke up early the first morning to have breakfast. We arrived at the dining room at 8:30, with 30 minutes to spare. There was nothing left for breakfast. We were told that they had to prepare for an event early that morning and the management had decided to close the restaurant so they could prepare (with no warning to the Inn’s guests). No apologies where made and I requested that at least some scrambled eggs would be made available; a request to which they agreed (grumbling). Since we did not know how easy it would be to get to breakfast that morning we ate the scrambled eggs and left. A charge for a full breakfast appeared on our check out. Breakfast on the second day was barely better than on the first day. The evening of the 20th we were served by a nice bartender who was courteous and was tipped accordingly.
We stayed at the Albrook two days, the stay was uncomfortable and the service was poor. The problem with the Albrook is not the building (although not completely comfortable for a decent stay. barracks style rooms). The problem is the staff, especially the staff at the restaurant. They are uncaring, it is obvious (in their gaze) that they resent serving people, and make it very obvious in their lack of manners.

Electricity was lost the last morning before check out, and the amount that was given to me at check out was not the amount they charged to my credit card. They charged my credit card 1 50.00 dollars more than the tally they made available to me.
If wanting to stay in the same area as the Albrook Inn (it is close to the Miraflores Locks) I highly recommend La Estancia. The food they serve is better, the rooms although simpler are more comfortable, and they care and show that they care. I do not recommend the Albrook In at all; they are uncaring, display an incredible case of attention deficit, and will be quick to charge you for services that they did not provide.
The Albrook is due for new management and new staff (with the exception of the bartender).

Room Tip: Even if you make a choice, they give you what they want not what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldhopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The rooms are pretty average but clean and good value. We paid about $100 for a double bed (European style). It has a restaurant on site and is located in an upscale Panamanian neighborhood. The best part about Albrook Inn for us was its location. It's 5 minutes by taxi from the domestic airport and a huge shopping mall. But most important, it's only 30 minutes to the best birding near Panama City. We saw great birds right in the Inn's back yard!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 215Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Panama
Hotel El Panama
#51 of 114 in Panama City
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 114 in Panama City
1,508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AC Hotel Panama City
AC Hotel Panama City
#61 of 114 in Panama City
16 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#99 of 114 in Panama City
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albrook Inn

Property: Albrook Inn
Address: Calle Las Magnolias No. 14 | Albrook, Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albrook Hotel Panama City
Albrook Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing