We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Its the best hotel
the best part is that u can have fun with iran
edson alberto and more
they made me the best week ever
and the food is good 2
The rooms are too comfortable
and the sea and pools are great
and have nice views .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaiiLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear MaiiLam,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, have a good time and fun in all the activities that our recreation department offered (Iran, Edson, Alberto, more).
We hope to see you back in a future, thanks for you comments.
Greetings from Panama,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    440
    189
    113
    67
See reviews for
288
578
37
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great time at this resort. Very nice rooms..although we got upgraded to the suites! We met some of the nicest staff around...Concierge Francisco Aldeano - he is the key to navigating around the property. Also, Joseph - the bellman - was really nice. I lost a belt when we switched rooms with the upgrade and I swear he hunted it down like a pitbull dog. lol. And Sugey is the best! I met her in the Club Lounge one morning during breakfast. The staff is great. If you know Spanish, then you are great! But if you don't, then you may have some minor issues on the property...but it's nothing that Francisco or Sugey or Joseph can't assist you with. I will warn those travelers that are expecting a real beachy type of resort...this is not it! The beach at the hotel is not beach-friendly. Their are hermit crabs and a host of other little critters that run along the beach non-stop and enter the ocean at your own risk because there is probaly about 25-35 yards off coral or just rocks?? from near the shoreline to out to the sea. I was used to Sandals type of properties..where the beach is user friendly and they have Playmakers (those who have visited Sandal properties know what I'm talking about) onsite. This hotel is strictly for relaxing and that's what we did. I highly recommend the hotel for the relaxation factor and the nice staff and food.

Room Tip: Get a room above the first floor. We saw alot of iguanas on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rickjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear rickjr2000,
Thank you for choosing us, we appreciate you shared your review about your wonderful and relaxing stay in our hotel, with a nice suite and excellent service from our team, specially Francisco, Joseph and Sugey. We are happy to know that your stay was memorable.
We hope to see you back...
Greetings from Panama,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

For a relaxing stay close to Panama City, this is the right place to be. The staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. The layout is beautiful with its swimming pools, colorful gardens and views of the ocean. The rooms are every bit clean and comfortable. We intend to stay there again.

Room Tip: With an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vkelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear vkelowna,
Thanks for chose our hotel and your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us, enjoyed of a nice view, good service, colorful gardens and more. We hope to see you back and have the opportunity to serve you once again.
Greetings from Panama and best regards,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I did a lot of research before finally choosing the InterContinental Play Bonita for our familys 9 day stay. It was beautifully maintained, the gardens and pools were incredible. It had a nice, relaxed pace. We all enjoyed watching the ships enter the canal from the beach, especially at night with the ships all lit up! This was our first time to Panama, and we had planned lots of day tours. This hotel is quite a drive from most of the activities, but I think it was still worth it. The people at the resort were always helpful when you approached them. We did the all inclusive package, and found that the food was great. I was very impressed with the staff when my 8 year old son got sick, the chef prepared special food for him to help with his tummy! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErinIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ErinIdaho,
Thank you for chose our hotel and we appreciate your comments. It's really nice to know that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us, with an amazing view of the ships, the activities, the food, and more. We hope your son feels better, was our pleasure to assist you.
We hope to see you back in a future.
Greetings from Panama and best regards,
L.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We have chosen the hotel, because we didn't wanted to stay overnight in downtown or close to the business district. The hotel is a perfect hideaway after shopping or sightseeing tours. The hotel is right after crossing the bridge of the America's, so it's officially on the southern part of the American continent. It's nice and relaxing to watch the ocean and see all the ships lining up to enter the channel. The hotel has a beach but its not that nice. Normally you prefer to swim in the pool. But anyway, the beach is nice for a walk.
It's a great hotel to start day trips or to relax close to the big city.
Food, rooms, service .., everything nice.
The hotel put every night a big screen in the garden for open air cinema. Very nice !
Would choose the hotel again !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beitgugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear beitgugb,
Thank you for chose our hotel and your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay , nice view, good service, food and the outdoor cinema. Was our pleasure to serve you , we hope to see you back in the future.
Greetings from Panama!
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times.
Here are the pros: General manager is helpful (but not visible), deserts at buffets are awesome, rooms are comfortable. There are kids movies at night.
Here are the cons: Sand fleas on beach are very bad, drinks lack alcohol, managers do NOT help with any issues (you need to ask for general manager for anything to be resolved), it is noisy outside at night due to parties. The child pool was always dirty. The kids club was always even more dirty .The staff does not smile. If you have a stroller, they do not help by opening doors. The staff is not happy. Buffets were average. There are not enough vegetable options at meals. They spray a bug spray over entire property daily- run inside! Dead birds on property from the spray! Sometimes this is a white smoke that engulfs entire property and beach!
Here is some general info: You cannot swim at the beach here (too rocky). The daytime snacks on the pool menu were not in my all-inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hopewellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear hopewellgal,
Thank you for your comments and feedbacks.
Regards,
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first time in Panama and one of the most AMAZING and RELAXING places we have ever stayed at! The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We had and amazing dinner at the Lighthouse Bistro, Luis and Yanina help us have a truly exceptional dining experience. The General Manager is present and visible interacting with the guests. He was very nice, professional and personable. Special thanks to Sancheliano/Pool Bar, Luisa/Executive Club and Sugey/Concierge. Our room beautiful and neat always with excpectacular view. My husband and I had a wonderful time over at the Piano Bar, great music and BEST DIRTY MARTINIES. Congratulations to the hotel administration for running such a good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CARODRIGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear CARODRIGU,
Thank you for chose our hotel and share your comments about your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you had one of the most amazing and relaxing vacations, with good service from our team, food, drinks (specially the dirty martinies) and music. Was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again.
Once again , thank you for your review and we appreciate it.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
2.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
6.6 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#3 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#31 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa
Address: Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the unique destination of Panama, where you can experience beaches,rainforest, mountains and city-all from Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa. Located on Playa Bonita, the closest beach to Panama City and literally meaning "beautiful beach," Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa is perfect for special romantic getaways and memorable family vacations. Our 11 seaside towers offer 310 luxurious guest rooms and suites with jungle walkways and stunning views. Six dining options, including four ocean view gourmet á la carte restaurants, and four bars are all included in the Unlimited-Luxury(R) experience. Visit the Panama Canal or Panama City's colonial district, designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site, with our complimentary daily shuttle to the largest mall in the Americas - Albrook Mall. There's no shortage of pleasures here with an infinity pool, the Dreams Spa by Pevonia(R), supervised kids and teen's clubs and so much more. Everyone has their own idea of a Dream vacation, and it can all be found at Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Resort
Playa Bonita Panama
Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing