We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice as a hideaway from the big city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Regensburg
Level Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice as a hideaway from the big city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We have chosen the hotel, because we didn't wanted to stay overnight in downtown or close to the business district. The hotel is a perfect hideaway after shopping or sightseeing tours. The hotel is right after crossing the bridge of the America's, so it's officially on the southern part of the American continent. It's nice and relaxing to watch the ocean and see all the ships lining up to enter the channel. The hotel has a beach but its not that nice. Normally you prefer to swim in the pool. But anyway, the beach is nice for a walk.
It's a great hotel to start day trips or to relax close to the big city.
Food, rooms, service .., everything nice.
The hotel put every night a big screen in the garden for open air cinema. Very nice !
Would choose the hotel again !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beitgugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear beitgugb,
Thank you for chose our hotel and your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay , nice view, good service, food and the outdoor cinema. Was our pleasure to serve you , we hope to see you back in the future.
Greetings from Panama!
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    442
    190
    113
    69
See reviews for
289
582
37
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times.
Here are the pros: General manager is helpful (but not visible), deserts at buffets are awesome, rooms are comfortable. There are kids movies at night.
Here are the cons: Sand fleas on beach are very bad, drinks lack alcohol, managers do NOT help with any issues (you need to ask for general manager for anything to be resolved), it is noisy outside at night due to parties. The child pool was always dirty. The kids club was always even more dirty .The staff does not smile. If you have a stroller, they do not help by opening doors. The staff is not happy. Buffets were average. There are not enough vegetable options at meals. They spray a bug spray over entire property daily- run inside! Dead birds on property from the spray! Sometimes this is a white smoke that engulfs entire property and beach!
Here is some general info: You cannot swim at the beach here (too rocky). The daytime snacks on the pool menu were not in my all-inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hopewellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear hopewellgal,
Thank you for your comments and feedbacks.
Regards,
LM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first time in Panama and one of the most AMAZING and RELAXING places we have ever stayed at! The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We had and amazing dinner at the Lighthouse Bistro, Luis and Yanina help us have a truly exceptional dining experience. The General Manager is present and visible interacting with the guests. He was very nice, professional and personable. Special thanks to Sancheliano/Pool Bar, Luisa/Executive Club and Sugey/Concierge. Our room beautiful and neat always with excpectacular view. My husband and I had a wonderful time over at the Piano Bar, great music and BEST DIRTY MARTINIES. Congratulations to the hotel administration for running such a good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CARODRIGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear CARODRIGU,
Thank you for chose our hotel and share your comments about your recently stay with us. We are glad to know that you had one of the most amazing and relaxing vacations, with good service from our team, food, drinks (specially the dirty martinies) and music. Was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again.
Once again , thank you for your review and we appreciate it.
We hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice resort hotel right on the Pacific Ocean, overlooking the entrance to the Panama Canal. They upgraded us to a very nice suite on a very quiet part of the grounds which was very nice, because the other end of the hotel has weddings and parties. Very nice service, especially at the front desk. Be careful of sand fleas (chitras) which will bite even with deet applied. Beautiful and well manicured gardens and pools. We had concierge priviledges which offered a great breakfast and wonderful happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Cachirulatravels,
Thank you for chose our hotel and share your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, with a very nice service from all our staff, good view from your room and beautiful gardens. Was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to have the opportunity to do it again.
Once again , thank you and we hope to see soon.
Regards,
SLSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

3 day stay for business in late March 2013. The hotel is very nice, large, clean and somehow modern. Rooms are big with nice views. Beds are very good also. Price/Quality is OK. Gardens are nice and extensive.

BUT:

There is NO useful beach. Remember that the Pacific Ocean in Panama City has a significant tidal variation, and the bottom of it is no soft sand, so the beach is no nice. And all the big ships waiting for their Canal transit are sitting just across the water. That said they have a couple of nice pools, with wet bar and even their own beach volley court.

Location. This hotel is far away from everything. You will spend USD 25 on a cab just to get to Panama City, and you cannot walk anywhere neither.

Internet. SUCKS big time. Very unreliable, slow, and with so many access points per floor that they interfere with each other.

Food. What a disappointing experience. Both outside restaurants and inside bars were not good. Food was not the memory I will take home from this hotel.

Noise. Beware of huge transformers sitting 5 yards from the room doors on the ground floor. Look for a room on a higher floor.

AC Adaptors. I forgot mine and I couldn't get one here neither.

Room Tip: Beware of huge transformers sitting 5 yards from the room doors on the ground floor. Look for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear RoamingSouth,
Thank you for chose our hotel, we appreciate you took the time to share your experienced about your recently stay with us. It´s nice to know that you enjoyed a nice , large and clean room, with a good view., but at the same time we will like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We are taking notes about each item that you mentioned so we can improve our service and be betters. Thank you for all your feedbacks.
Greetings from Panama,
SLSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were there from February 22nd to the 27th, 2013 . The location is beautiful with its gorgeous gardens, waterfalls, several fancy pools, including a wading pool for children, lovely canvas topped gazebos for shade, and to top it off the beach facing the Pacific Ocean. In the distance you can see, along the horizon, ships and barges lined up waiting their turns to cross the world famous Panama Canal . The staff and front desk were very friendly, helpful and courteous. We ended up eating most of our meals at one of the three restaurants in the hotel and the food was quite delicious. If there was any difficulty with the servers understanding us, we tried out our Spanish and with smiles all round we made ourselves understood. The only "downer" was that my husband did get those little sandfly bites... But that was because he didn't use any insect repellant when he went into the Pacific around 5 and 6 p.m. which is when these little "critters" are out!!
We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a really relaxing vacation, instead of taking a hotel in downtown Panama City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lori706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lori706,
Thank you for chose our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, with nice view and facilities, and friendly staff. We hope to see you back in a future, will be our pleasure to serve once again.
Greetings from Panama!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Vacationed for one week all-inclusive, nice hotel.The food was good considering where you are. Staff was nice and friendly but need to speak more English if they want more tourist, some of the bartenders have to go, you ask for a drink and they make something else LOL. The maids " FORGET TO CLOSE YOUR DOOR".
Please be super careful when visiting the "CAUSEWAY" DO NOT GO TO BARKO RESTURANT"
Me personally would not go back Panama,

Room Tip: end suits on the 5th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPB Guest R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear NH,
Thank you for chose our hotel, nice view and friendly staff. We appreciate that you are taking the time for bring this matter to our attention, and shared your comments about your stay in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
6.5 mi away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#31 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa

Property: Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa
Address: Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the unique destination of Panama, where you can experience beaches,rainforest, mountains and city-all from Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa. Located on Playa Bonita, the closest beach to Panama City and literally meaning "beautiful beach," Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa is perfect for special romantic getaways and memorable family vacations. Our 11 seaside towers offer 310 luxurious guest rooms and suites with jungle walkways and stunning views. Six dining options, including four ocean view gourmet á la carte restaurants, and four bars are all included in the Unlimited-Luxury(R) experience. Visit the Panama Canal or Panama City's colonial district, designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site, with our complimentary daily shuttle to the largest mall in the Americas - Albrook Mall. There's no shortage of pleasures here with an infinity pool, the Dreams Spa by Pevonia(R), supervised kids and teen's clubs and so much more. Everyone has their own idea of a Dream vacation, and it can all be found at Dreams Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Resort
Playa Bonita Panama
Secrets Playa Bonita Panama Resort & Spa Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing