We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bed Bug alert - stay away or you may be bitten” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marparaiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marparaiso
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Adelaide
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Bed Bug alert - stay away or you may be bitten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just stayed and both been bitten by bed bugs. I have photo evidence.
Sheets had urine stains on them.
They also have the distinct grey dots you will find with bed bugs.
Then of course there was some blood.
Both pillows and sheets were marked.
Breakfast is also 2 rolls and a coffee and juice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
22
35
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel offer free pick up from international Tocumen airport a $30-40 value. The hotel gets easily filled up so reservation early is a must, the price is very reasonable and straight forward for a basic hotel. Room are clean and spacious (double room at the back near elevator BUT lacks the view). A/C are in good working condition (old a/c at the back room near elevator but good working condition). Breakfast meal are small so my advise bring your own bread and that will suffice. Front desk staff speak little english so your little spanish goes a long way, the morning staff are much helpful and nice than the evening staff - do you inquiry by daytime staff. Wi-fi service get turned off from time to time there are days that its on and there are days that its off, when its off you just have to go to the front desk area and do your connection there (inconvenient). I stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of my trip and another 4 days at the end of my trip.

Room Tip: Ask the top floor 5 & 6 floor facing the ocean view room - spectacular view of the ocean and sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hotel has been renovated & well maintain that means all amenities are working properly. Cleanliness I would give it a 3 as I saw a half an inch cockroach in the toilet the very first night I check in. There's also a small ants coming out in the toilet door in the morning. Another thing is the noise level where I hear people chatting in the hallway and sometimes their footsteps in spite of my door is close. Maybe it lack insulation or simply the wood is thin, you be the judge. Other than that the room is spacious and location is near the park with stunning view of the city, sunset and pacific ocean. It's just walking distance and nearby to the hospital. This location is safe with street vendor crowding all over the street selling local foods & Mc Donald is the only fastfood that open late at night. Other than that most of their restaurant closes at 6PM and likewise with their supermarket. Buy your grocery & supply early in the day as the hotel is located in the business area. By the way they pick you up in the airport for free (a saving of $40). There's also a free continental breakfast for each guest.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0lange13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after a long flight from the Netherlands. It's a clean simple hotel with just everything you need. We had a free pickup from the airport and a kingsize bed room. In the room is a small fridge, TV and a good AC. The Breakfast which was included was ok but a bit poor...
To go into town is easy .. there are just so many taxi's stopping in front of the hotel!
It's a good hotel to stay a night or two, after or before you have to travel on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Definitely worth the price! My friend and I each paid $20/night to stay in a room with 2 double beds, good view, very clean, good wifi connection. We stayed 2 nights and got a free airport pickup. Nice TV and AC in the room. There was a fridge but it was broken. The breakfast was lame, but I didn't expect much anyway. The staff was moderately helpful and the location was ok. I would highly recommend to anyone on a budget.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Rooms are clean with AC and a fridge. There is secure parking on site. Continental Breakfast is included in the rates and comes with some really good Cafe Americanos

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margarita Island, Venezuela
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights at $36 and was pleased with the service. I had been approached at the bus terminal and was given a free ride to the hotel. Breakfast was included, rolls, jam and fresh pineapple juice and coffee. Computer was $1 per hour and it saved any extra time for a return visit. It is clean and quiet, located near hospitals and medical and dental facilities. A fridge was in the room but I had to request a bedside lamp that was promptly brought. AC and Cable TV, several channels in English. I booked a fantastic tour on a trolley-like air-conditioned bus. The guide spoke English and Spanish. For $30 we spent 4 hours out at the Canal. the fish market, the duty-free shops at the causeway, and the old town, very reminiscent of Cartegena, Colombia, and to the vendors plaza where hats, molas and baskets made by the Kuna Indians could be bought. One is not allowed guests in your room. Hot and cold water in the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel and staff to anyone on a budget. For $10 I was delivered to the airport when I left.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#74 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#63 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#70 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#61 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#72 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veracruz
Hotel Veracruz
#89 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marparaiso

Property: Hotel Marparaiso
Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena Calle 34, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marparaiso Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marparaiso Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing