We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not so good!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marparaiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marparaiso
Ranked #74 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Marbleton, Quebec
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not so good!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The best reason to stay in this hotel is the location. But for the rest, not so good at all! To start with, we asked to see the room beforehand, our request was met with some rudeness and we had just a few seconds to inspect it! Breakfeast was poor with very dry bread and tastless coffee. We had a problem with the A/C unit, so they had to change us to another room; the annoying point about this is that the technician who came to the room told us that the A/C unit was not in order to function for some weeks before we occupied the room! Personnel was not friendly, no smiling faces here...The rooms were very basic but clean enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    37
    15
    15
See reviews for
22
39
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I spent 2 nights here. My room cost $36/night for a single. My room was quiet, on the 4th floor, and was air conditioned, with a decent bathroom. I'm not too crazy about the neighborhood. Seems like no one picks up the trash anymore in Panama City?!
The breakfast that is included with the room consists of 2 yucky while rolls, some watered down OJ, and a cup of coffee. You can find fruit salad around the corner for $1.25 which is what I ended up doing. I had to catch a cab at 1:00 am to get the airport, and a staff member walked me down 2 blocks to get me a good cab. The front desk personnel are friendly and helpful. There are 2 computers that you insert dollar bills to get one hour of online time. The hostel I was going to stay in charges about the same for a single room without a bath...so I do believe the value is worthwhile. It's my 2nd trip to Panama City, and frankly, I hope it's the last. Not my favorite place on the planet!

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the street are quieter. Panamanian drivers use a lot of horn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Sheets weren't changed on bed, as evidenced by hairs between sheets. AC didn't work in some rooms, staff was very curt and not helpful. Information re: shuttles was not reliable. Very poor place to stay; I would not recommend it unless you're desperate.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Damp, smelly, dirty, noisy rooms with leaking showers and hairs in the bed. If that sounds like your cup of tea, you'll be right at home here, if not, avoid this hotel and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

The airport pickup was convenient although we had to wait about 30 minutes for another party to arrive and ride in a van without air condiitoning. The room did indeed have AC, a TV, and hot water but it was dark, dank, worn, and noisy. Also, there was a leak in the bathroom so there was a puddle of water in the bathroom and part of the room. The area in which this hotel is located is very sketchy at night. There is virtually no place to have dinner if you set out by foot. However, for a few dollars you can take a taxi to the Casco Viejo district which is very nice and has a ton of dining options. The breakfast was pitiful - two COLD rolls, coffee and juice. The service is terrible - breakfast is served to you whenever they get around to it. The front desk people don't know one word of English and will not call a taxi for you. Yes, it's cheap - but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The rooms had air con and cable TV, and free (very small) breakfast.

The rooms smelt a bit like mould from the humidity.

The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

a single 40 watt bulb in the room, I guess so we couldn't see the dirt.... arrived late, left early to find another hotel, the Venetian, much better for the same price

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#76 of 115 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#66 of 115 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#80 of 115 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#63 of 115 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#85 of 115 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#75 of 115 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marparaiso

Property: Hotel Marparaiso
Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena Calle 34, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marparaiso Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marparaiso Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing