We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not very clean”
Review of Hotel Marparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marparaiso
Ranked #73 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed here while transiting through PC to Bocas. The rooms were cheap and I didn't find the area the hotel was located in too daunting after walking around there late in the afternoon. The rooms looked OK for $25/night and included the shuttle if you stayed 2 nights or an additional $10 if you only stayed 1 which was way cheaper than paying $25 for a taxi which is the going rate. My room was basic as I expected for the price but had dirty pillow cases that I wasn't all that keen on. Would I stay again - probably not.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Azza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marparaiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2007

I'm a budget traveler and I make frequent trips to Panama City. I used to love the Hotel Marparaiso. It's in a central location, the restaurant has decent food and reasonable hours, and best of all there's the free airport shuttle. I have stayed in this hotel every year since it first opened, watched it gain popularity, and have enjoyed interactions with the staff. I'm the very definition of a loyal customer! The free airport shuttle, in particular, led me to overlook the gradual disintegration of this hotel. But, sad to say, it's now in dire need of a renovation and it may have sunk too far to be rescued by a face-lift alone. A friend that I was traveling with was horrified by the threadbare sheets, prostitutes down the hall, and dismissive attitude of the front desk staff. At first I thought she was being overly sensitive, but on reflection I see that this is no longer the type of place that I'd be happy taking my mother to. On top of the cosmetic and comfort problems, the owners have taken to rebooking people from this hotel to their other hotels in the area (which have no elevator - a problem for some guests). I wish that I could keep going back there, but this year I'll probably switch to another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 387,712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

Airport pick up was good and the bus they use is modern and rides well. The hotel is a dump!. There is no maintenance on anything. The shower doors had no wheels - you had to pick them up and drop them where you wanted them. There was no shower head, just a pipe. The bed was good but the lamps coming out of the wall was doing just that-coming out of the wall. Front desk was accommodating but the owner/manager was a bit of a sleeze. I would be most concerned if a single woman stayed here. It is not in the best part of town.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank BoqueteChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

hotel marparaiso is less of a hotel for sleeping and more of a hotel for taking one of the hookers hanging out downstairs up to your room and not sleeping on the crappy nasty old beds. it is on an extremely busy noisy street and once you come to panama city you will realize that everyone honks their horns here constantly sooo... when you are trying to sleep this hotel is poorly located.
the lighting is dim so everything looks like it might or might not be dirty. the curtains are kind of falling off of the windows. there were good a/c and cable though.
i had to leave the next day because i was afraid to touch anything.
i would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank desertpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma City, OK
25
Reviewed April 3, 2006

The best value anywhere in Panama. Pickup from airport is free, return is about $8.00. The hotel is clean, safe, hot water showers, air conditioned and very reasonably priced. The restaurant is good but cheaper meals can be had within walking distance or take taxis to via Espana for $1.25.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tennessee
14
Reviewed December 31, 2005

They pick me up at the airport and took the express route to the hotel and passpast all the traffic. Rooms were clean, food good and all the desk clerks spoke english. Not the Hyatt but I wasn't paying for the Hyatt

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2005


I booked a room at this hotel because I ran across a positive review on another site, and the hotel's web site looked good. They also were the only budget hotel that offered free airport pickup (worth at least US$20). Well, I waited around the airport around 20 minutes before calling the hotel to find out when they would be there (after finding change, and figuring out how to use the public phones). I finally found their guy and we were off to the hotel. The first night I had room 310. The air conditioner was noisy and full of condensation. The bathroom was tiny, there was almost no water pressure for taking a shower. The dim flourescent light in the room made everything look dirty, and perhaps it was. "Clean" is not a word I would use to describe the room. The sheets were paper thin, plus the pillows and bedspread were very old. The mattress was very comfortable, however. They have cable TV with probably 100 channels, including one that is XXX. The next night I changed to room 212, which was in better condition, although the same size. This seems to be a place that is for couples to spend a couple of hours, more than a hotel for tourists. The neighborhood doesn't seem very safe at night, and I don't think any woman traveling alone (and most men) wouldn't feel really secure here. On the positive side, the hotel restaurant had good food and it was cheap. Hot sandwiches for less than US$2, and milkshakes for US$1.25. Also, there are 6 free internet terminals on the first floor for hotel guests. The price for rooms the size of mine was US$22 including tax in Nov 2005. By going up to only $27.50, you can stay at the Hotel Milan or Hotel Marbella, both in the much nicer El Cangrejo district, which is about 1km away. It's much prettier there, and more suitable for tourists. Also, the Costa Inn and Hotel Montreal are in the same general area and cost about US$30 per night. If you're only staying one night in Panama City and would value the free airport pickup, this might work for you, but there are much better values out there for only a little more money.

39  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#76 of 115 in Panama City
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#77 of 115 in Panama City
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#79 of 115 in Panama City
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#78 of 115 in Panama City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marparaiso

Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena Calle 34, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $38 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marparaiso Hotel Panama City
Hotel Marparaiso Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing