We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish tacos anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #13 of 974 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“best fish tacos anywhere!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

this little truck parked inside of a ruined building was a highlight of our stay in Panama city. Not only great tacos but also the Thai green curry was delicious, the wait staff and owner super friendly and fast. We left before the music started as the musicians were on Latin time and late but I would bet it was as good as the rest of the evening...Don't miss it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panamama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    230
    45
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing and Cheap”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a must visit for delicious, fresh seafood. We were advised to stick to the ceviche stands on the outside instead of the restaurant. Most of the stands have similar selection, all that we tried were delicious and very affordable ($2 for cup of ceviche, $7 for a whole fish + sides, $1 beers).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contadora Island, Panama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“There is the Fish Market and then there is the Fish Market Restaurant in Casco Viejo”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Although I am vegan I visit the Fish Market restaurant with my husband, who is not vegan, and with friends, and we all love the place. Our family and friends love the food, and I love the ambiance. It is under the stars with numerous tables and live music over the weekends. It is next to the American Trade Hotel and is certainly one of "the" places to visit. Great location to hold a party with food and drink. We have had some of the best parties there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“all fisherman and seafood lovers need to visit here”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Extremely enjoyed the visit here. I think we may have come at the busiest time of year, two days before New Year’s. All local families bought seafood for their New Year feast at this time. It was bustling with shoppers, vendors and children alike. It was not easy to find a parking spot. The market is located in a decent size indoor area. Most of the fish is from local bay. Yes, it does smell like fish here, duh, but if you are visiting here, the chances are you are not fazed by it because you like fish lol. The choices and variety of fish is amazing here, the prices cheap. From salmon, tuna, octopus, through shrimp, scallops and all other exotic sea life that I cannot even name. The stalls outside sell all varieties of ceviche for $2-$2.50 a cup. You can choose your own topics. It was delicious. I had a shrimp and octopus ceviche – outstanding. My son had shaved water ice for $1. You can also buy here scratch-off lottery tickets and other items as well. Right behind the fish market you can see the China Town with the ornate gate. I was told that it’s not the safest neighborhood and saw that is extremely deteriorated therefore we did not venture in. Visit in the morning to see most activity and to avoid later heat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is the Real Deal”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Downstairs is where you can buy fish to take home or choose your lunch or dinner to be cooked upstairs. We ate upstairs for lunch with delicious, extremely fresh shrimp and sea bass choices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing