We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting wonder, but ruined by taxi ride back!!”

Miraflores Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Panama City Tour And The Canal
Ranked #3 of 169 things to do in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting wonder, but ruined by taxi ride back!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Miraflores are an amazing site, but one does need to go at the right time and it is NOT at three in the afternoon UNLESS you drive there yourself OR have a driver already lined up. The entire event was ruined for my family because of the taxi service that is even connected with the Miraflores business itself!!! I was most upset and will forever advise against going to this place alone if you are a foreigner..plan ahead with a driver. They will take major advantage of you because at closing, they are the only ride out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,540
    2,048
    577
    87
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton TX
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so interesting...”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

loved watching the ships come through the locks and walking around the visitor center. it's a super nice place to visit and such an interesting part of history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see the canal”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reasonable and museum is excellent. For return taxi or bus to city, walk out to the main highway from the museum. It is much cheaper.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not super exciting but still a must do”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I don't have a lot to say about this one because I can't imagine anyone going to Panama and not making a stop at the Panama Canal. While it wasn’t the most exciting tourist attraction I’ve ever seen, it was fun and worthwhile and something you should definitely do if you make it to Panama City.

If you have a rental car you can just drive yourself there (it's out by the City of Knowledge). If not, you can get there by public bus (I’m not sure which bus, I just saw the bus stop), the Hop-on-Hop-off bus, or in a taxi.

It was unclear what the prices are because each sign I saw showed different prices and when we actually purchased our tickets the total price didn’t match any of the signs. My friend and I paid a total of $5 for one Panamanian and one foreigner entry to the observation deck only (you can also purchase to visit the observation deck plus the museum where you can see a movie about the Canal's history and construction).

If you get lucky and are there while a ship is passing through it's cool to see how the whole process works with the little tug engines on the sides of the canal, the change in water levels, and the opening of the various gates.

Very enjoyable and only takes a couple of hours - that long only if there is a ship passing through and you wait to watch the process.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CateLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Start the tour with a short movie about the history and basic Information on Panama and its canal, than enjoy the great view on the impressive locks with ships being handled all day and in the end, have a walk through the Museum with a lot of models, images and figures about one of the most gigantic construtions. definitely worth those 8 bugs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank unamLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miraflores Visitor Center also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Miraflores Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing