We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Trade Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gatto Blanco(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Casa Panama(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Republica(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Benidorm(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
361
114
35
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
114
35
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz clubold citycasco viejoace hotelchurch bellspanorama roomaesop toiletriesoverlooking the squarebeautiful hotelcolonial styleclassic hotelsmall balconyrooftop poolthird floorlight sleeperturn down servicethe location is perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 534 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for the first half of our two week holiday in Panama. The hotel itself has been renovated well and fits in with its surroundings. The staff were very approachable and helpful. We had a potential problem with a tour we had pre-booked before we arrived and they did their best to sort it out for us. The room itself was huge and we had a balcony that we used to sit out on and watch the world go by! The courtyard, library and the sun lounger/small pool deck were nice additions to the hotel. A unique and fantastic touch was being brought different miniature desserts each night! The hotel is just a short walk from the main shops, bars and restaurants in Casco Antiguo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainee_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel during the second week of February. At this point, the hotel had only been opened for six weeks, so admittedly, they were still working out some kinks, such as ensuring that our requested and confirmed cot was in the room when we arrived (it wasn't). But regardless of the kinks, this place is an absolute gem and will no doubt be on the map for years to come. The building itself is just gorgeous - fine attention to detail with the restoration that emanates in the lobby and rooms. It's exquisite. The staff is more than helpful - from the warm greeting upon arrival to suggestions on what to check out in the Casco Viejo. We felt very welcome. I feel lucky to be one of the first people to review this fine hotel and look forward to recommending it to many future travelers. The area itself, is, of course, something quite special. An interesting mix of newly restored and severely dilapidated. I do hope that the charm continues in the years to come. With places like the ATC, I hope that possibility is a reality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaunaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, ShaunaJ. As one of our first guests you will undoubtedly go into the history books, especially as you help us getting our service up to speed. I apologize we didn't fulfill your request of having a cot setup in the room. Would you please let us know the name your reservation was under, so we can dig deeper and find-out what happened (and why). I appreciate if you could e-mail me at philipp.real@americantradehotel.com. Saludos from Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at ATH for 4 nights this past week and loved every aspect of it. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous- it seems the proprietor has taken great care to ensure the space reflects the history and feel of the surrounding neighbourhood. It's elegant without being stuffy.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is perfect. They stock Aesop toiletries and the beds and linens are very luxurious. We had rooms facing both the front and the back and the room at the front was louder as there is always something happening at the square. The balconies are a great way to take in the action.

All of the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful and in particular, Moroni and Alexis went above and beyond in making us feel welcome. Every staff member, whether they were from the restaurant, bar, housekeeping, the front desk or management was always approachable, pleasant and fantastic to deal with.

The jazz bar next door to the hotel was opening the day after we were leaving but Philipp, the General Manager of the ATH, invited us to listen to a soundcheck of some world class musicians for the following night's performance. The jazz bar is sure to be a destination in itself.

We didn't get to use the gym or the pool. The gym is small, but looked to offer the necessary equipment. The pool isn't big but the pool area has great views of the neighbourhood and never seemed to be too busy.

We has several meals at the restaurant and bar and all were excellent and good value. We especially liked the empanadas and the cauliflower dish.

We have stayed in hotels all over the world and can wholeheartedly say that this is one of the best. We would rebook at ATH in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The front rooms are more lively.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neena_Karm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As someone else stated, this hotel truly is a game-changer for the area. I stayed here Feb 15-18 and had an absolutely wonderful time.

I certainly hope the designers of the hotel are reading this, because they absolutely nailed it. The decor and overall vibe is perfect. It's not overdone and has this low-key "world trade glamour" kinda feel -- lots of brass, fiddle-leaf figs, and tropical prints as some faint jazz music plays in the background. Perfect.

I've stayed at most of the Ace hotels in the USA, but this hotel is different and definitely raises the bar. It also doesn't have the party atmosphere that the other hotels have (which is a good thing in this instance). The crowd is very international - when I was there there were businessmen in the lobby having wine in their shorts, a group of young Japanese travelers eating lunch, and a gay couple at the bar. Very cosmopolitain.

I ate food at the hotel restaurant almost every day, and it was always great and fairly priced. The service everywhere else was always amazing, especially Moroni the bellman, who was always helpful and genuinely friendly.

The pool on the roof is small and private. Perfect to relax.

I almost don't want to write this review because I don't want people to know about the hotel -- I feel like I found a little secret! If you're looking for a trip that's kinda glamourous, kinda adventurous, and above all -- DIFFERENT, then Casco Viejo is where it's at.

Room Tip: Others have complained about noise from Herrera Square. My room faced the square but I didn't have any noise issues.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear CJPowers. Thank you for sharing your secret with the rest of the world. Rest assure, we will always give you an amazing experience when you return to your new home in Casco Viejo. From your friends at ATH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Casco Viejo has turned a major corner with this addition. We've been coming to Panama for years and have been more than excited to witness the explosive changes in this charming section of the city. By and large the streets have been beautifully relayed with new utilities under ground, side walks repaired, more and more renovations completed with new restaurants bars and shops. But I don't think anything can quite compare to this fantastic introduction.

It is large by CV standards, it is very chic and fresh in its presentation, it feels authentic, also eccentric but luxurious as can be. The gathering areas range from intimate indoor (library) and outdoor spaces with a lovely pool. Views everywhere, large airy lobby and restaurant and great location. Any world traveler will feel instantly at home here where as some of the other hotels feel a bit more on the fringe. EXCELLENT!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequentflyer98121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, General Manager at American Trade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Yes, frequentflier, you are 100% right. We are indeed trying to change the game and raise the bar. Our developers and designers have done their magic work, and now it's on our amazing people to do their magic, too. Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews