We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop & Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #26 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shop & Stop”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Panama City is a shocker, even for someone who lives in New York. Skyscrapers are shooting up like grass, and wealth is pouring in from nearly every South American country (best not to question the source). In the midst of this financial expansion, the Courtyard Panama Multiplaza appears almost like a shy teenager huddled at the edge of the dance floor. The hotel clings to the side of a vast, surprisingly upscale shopping mall, which features many of the stores you would expect to see at a mall in the U.S., and a few luxury names that you would not expect, like Tiffany and Cartier.

Would you travel all the way to Panama City to go to a shopping mall? If the answer is yes, then this hotel may be for you. But if you're going to Panama for any other purpose (like to see the Canal), I am pretty sure you can find a better property. The hotel is relatively small, with a cramped and not very inviting lobby. The rooms are pleasantly appointed, but completely unmemorable. The first room offered to us smelled horribly of mold; the desk explained that this was a result of a problem the hotel was having with its central air conditioning system. With genuine concern and apologies, the desk manager moved us to another room that was fresh and clean. Sure enough, the room was not connected to the central air system; sadly, however, the through-the-wall unit was extremely noisy and prevented my wife and me from gaining much rest.

The food in the hotel was very satisfactory and offered an appetizing variety, especially at the buffet breakfast. Tables in the main restaurant were comfortably spaced, although I found the banquettes to be a little low for dining.

The hotel offers a small pool on the second floor. You will not be doing any Olympic training in this pool, but it did provide a nice respite from the city's heat in the late afternoon.

My wife and I enjoyed a drink in the lobby bar while reviewing our trip photos. The charming hostess offered an explanation of the local currency and gave me a few balboas as change for my twenty dollar bill--a nice souvenir, since most Panamanians deal only in U.S. dollars. Too bad the hotel's other features fall short of its very good service.

Room Tip: Until the hotel fixes the problem in the ventilation system, request a room that has a separate AC u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    359
    111
    33
    10
See reviews for
190
179
57
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washburn, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

While traveling with a CARAVAN tour, we stayed at the Courtyard Panama Multiplaza hotel for a total of four nights. The accomidations were great and the buffet was excelent. The servers were very cordial and friendly and front dest personnel very helpful.

Located next to the Multiplaza Pacific Mall was a great plus and provided a chance to observe the local Panamains and vistors shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while on a 5-day trip to Panama City on vacation. The hotel was recommended to us as centrally located and adjacent to a monstrous, upscale shopping mall. Since we are both walkers and wanted to avoid the hot Panamian sun, the mall was perfect for putting on some mileage. The hotel itself is very clean, well-maintained, and well-staffed. The check-in process was painless, and the front desk staff honored all our requests (quiet location, higher floor, two double beds). The guest room was a decent size; the beds comfy; and the bathroom very clean. Our room was located on the side of the hotel where the outside construction and car horn-honking wasn't a problem. The only complaint we had was that the maid didn't clean our room until 3:30 in the afternoon. The complimentary hot breakfast is absolutely top drawer--everything a person could want: pancakes, eggs, bacon, muffins, fruit, yogurt--you get the picture. All in all, we were quite pleased with this Courtyard, and therefore are happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel where construction and traffic are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had been to the Panama Courtyard twice and both times we have had a great experience. The hotel is very nice, the lobby is very modern and the bar is also very nice.
As with all Courtyards there is no actual restaurant, but that is not a problem in this particular hotel because the hotel is basically connected to the Multiplaza Shopping mall where you can find as many choices as you can imagine for a nice lunch or dinner.
If you go to panama and are planning some shopping this is the place to stay. One thing to keep in mind is that as of the end of 2012 there was a construction adjacent to the hotel and the noise from that construction might bother some part of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

stayed for a total of 4 nights before and after a caravan trip. Nice. Decent mall attached with restaurants and grocery store.
nice breakfast buffet included. Service in restaurant ok.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgal8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience during your last visit to our hotel.
Our location right in the heart of the business district and our intengration to Multiplaza Shooping Center, which recently opened a new area, with more than 400 shops, movie theaters and multiple dining options makes us the place to be in the city.

We are looking forward to have you in our hotel in your next visit to Panama


Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siletz, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff was wonderful - we stored our winter clothing here as we started and ended vacation at this hotel- temp was 91-97 each day. Great buffet meals, friendly staff..quiet clean rooms. Right next door to a BIG mall with a grocery store so you can buy all the things you forgot to bring for a tirp to hot Panama. There are only 2 elevators and one was broken while we were there - otherwise no complaints.

Room Tip: Higher up the better - I think there are 7 floors - we were on 6 - makes for better view of city at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate the time you spend in order to share your feedback. Our integration with the Multiplaza Shopping Center, the most exclusive mall in the city, wich offers our guests a colorful variety of shopping, dining options and entertainment.

We look after the needs of our guests offering extra services such as room service until 01:00am and a small grocery store open 24 hours

We hope to have the chance to have you with us in your next trip to the sunny Panama

Best regards,

Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I left Orlando, FL at 7:30 a.m. and arrived in Panama City, Panama by 10:45. After going through customs and a short ride from the airport, we were checked into our beautiful, clean room by noon for our two night stay. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is adjacent to the Multiplaza Pacific Mall where there are many restaurants and upscale stores to find any items that may have been left at home and a good, safe place to walk after being in the airplane for quite a while. There is a grocery store located within the mall. There are four computers and printers available for no charge in the hotel business area. The staff was very willing to assist when help was needed. There is a fitness center and a small outdoor pool. The decor of the hotel is outstanding. This hotel was the first one that we stayed in on our tour of Panama. We also stayed at this hotel on our last day of the tour.
The Pacific Grill Restaurant is located on the second floor of the Marriott and offers a delicious breakfast and dinner with much variety of fresh vegetables and fruit as well as varied entrees.
While we were in Panama City, we toured Panama Viejo (Old Panama) where a guided tour was given. Then we visited the ruins of Old Panama where we climbed the 115 steps up to the top of the tower and had a fantastic view of the city. Other ruins are present in the area and informative signs are posted. The 150 year Panama tree is within the area. Casco Viejo (second Panama) has the San Jose Church that contains the Gold Altar saved by Henry Morgan. On the tour of Panama City one can see both the modern skyscrapers and older parts of the city. A visit to the nearby Miraflores Visitor Center has the history, displays, film, interactive areas, a restaurant, and viewing decks to watch the many ships and other vessels going through the Panama Canal Lock.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the shopping center parking lot. Across the hall the view was a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19HappyTraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, General Manager at Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are pleased that the visit to our hotel greatly exceeded your expectations.
Thank you to let us know how much you enjoy your stay with us, comments like this motivate us to give the best of ourselves every day.

Our location in the business district, just 10 min walk from Panama´s seafront, plus the integration with the Multiplaza Mall, the most exclusive mall in the city, really means a difference in the overall experience to those who visit the city of Panama.

I am pleased to inform you that we have now added a new dining option in our hotel, through the inclusion of the selection of sushi that we currently offer in the Lobby Bar to our Room Service menu.

We await you in this home on your next visit to the city

Regards,

Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 114 in Panama City
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Panama
Aloft Panama
#33 of 114 in Panama City
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall

Property: Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall
Address: Via Israel Avenue | Multiplaza Pacific Mall, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Panama City
#5 Family Hotel in Panama City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard at Multiplaza Mall is the only hotel within Multiplaza complex. At Multiplaza Mall guests will find more than 350 venues such as department stores, boutiques, movie theaters, restaurants, coffee shops and the best nightlife in Panama. This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and business center of Panama City, next to Torre Las Americas corporate center and Punta Pacifica Hospital. Just a few minutes away from the hotel you will find Costa del Este Business Park and Tocumen Airport. Hotel amenities include room service, sushi bar, coffee shop, a fully equipped fitness center, outdoor pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or a la carte in our restaurant Pacific Grill which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 40" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. The Panama Canal, Causeway of Amador, Casco Antiguo and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Panama at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama City
Panama City Courtyard
Courtyard Panama At Multiplaza Mall Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing