We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of Hotel Coral Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Coral Suites
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay while looking for a permanent accommodation in panama city. We had heard horror stories about the "aparthotels" in Panama. But, Coral Suites is a really nice, decent, friendly and clean place to stay. The staff downstairs - from the "bellboy" to the manageress are amazing. If we had any queries or requests (and we are a bit picky), they answered it with a smile. They shouldn't say they offer "continental" breakfast. It is actually a full-ish breakfast, that shows what a panamanian desayuno is all about. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PWTPWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    116
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
107
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Unfortunately, our check in experience was so poor, we left to find another hotel... Never done that before. Location would have been perfect for family, friends & business guests visiting us once we complete our move to Panama.

Although, we did not end up staying, here is what we experienced:

1. Inaccurate/inconsistent description of what was offered online and what we were told when we arrived. In addition, they are completely out of whack with the industry standard with respect to children. They advertise up to four guests in room (we were 2 adults & 2 children), but when we arrived were told our children would be an extra charge. They are both under 12 years old.

2. Terrible customer service and reception, compounded by the unwillingness of the hotel manager to emerge from her office to handle our dispute/complaint.

During our failed attempt to check in, we were repeatedly told that the manager would not come out to speak with us because she did not speak English. Considering both my wife and the reception desk employee are bi-lingual and either one could have translated, this is not an excuse!

Unfortunately, an Expedia follow up with the hotel has yielded a telling response...
First, the hotel conveniently changed their story and the facts. Apparently, their new excuse as to why the manager would not come out is because she was on the phone. We were calm and asked three times to speak with her and at no time were we told this. We would have waited.
Second, the hotel written response to our complaint came from the same rude reception desk employee. One would think an opportunity to apologize or explain would be handled by, uh, the manager!?

Obviously, this hotel is not a big operation. Sadly, management and reception staff are arrogant. Bell boy was very polite -- even he was surprised by how we were treated. It's a shame he isn't in charge. Hotel manager and reception staff need to learn customer service, courtesy and respect.

Anyway, we ended in a nicer hotel and will never go back... nor will be recommend it to anyone visiting us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed five night and really have no complaints. The room was as king-sized as rooms get. There was a kitchenette (we only used the fridge, though) an nice bathroom and sitting area. Breakfast was pretty good and the rooftop pool was fabulous after a long, hot day walking and touring. I would recommend The Coral Suites for anyone who plans to be in Panama City for a few days and doesn't want to spend their life savings. The staff were also very good and the place was spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights in February. The rooms are very nice and the bed was comfortable. We did not use the kitchenette but it is a nice feature. The location is great. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast buffet is good and you can help yourself to as much as you want. The pool on the roof is nice and the chairs and tables give you a good place to relax. I thought the people ate the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I don't have a lot to add to the many positive reviews already posted. We stayed here for a week the last week of February. It is a great location, within walking distance of many restaurants. The staff were not effusively friendly but ready with a smile and as helpful as their command of English would allow. I was surprised that English wasn't more widely spoken/understood in Panama in general, but we got along fine. The front desk arranged our taxi back to the airport and made reservations for dinner for us one night, so don't let the language issue stop you from asking for help. There are two ladies on the front desk who speak English quite well.

We had a king-size room, very spacious, spotlessly clean with excellent maid service all week. If you want extra towels for the pool, just ask at the front desk. Someone had posted a TA review that said the hotel didn't supply bath soap, but they supply bath and hand soap, shampoo and conditioner. They don't supply facecloths, so take your own if you like using one. Others commented on the breakfast -- there was nothing wrong with it, just a bit repetitive if you're there for more than a day or two. The quality was fine. There were scrambled eggs, pancakes, empanadas, sausage, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, etc. every day and the attendant was constantly replenishing the buffet so you never missed out on your favourite.

Our room was exactly as represented on the web-site and that was also where we got the best price when booking. We had read that the fifth floor was quieter, so asked for a fifth floor room at check-in, they had originally booked us into a 4th floor room but were able to switch us to 506. It was very quiet, never noticed much street noise there at all.

Our favourite restaurant was The Wine Bar (great sangria!) in Hotel Las Vegas -- we ate here three times, the best pizza (and quickest service) we had was at Okey Italiano across the street from The Wine Bar. Other good spots are Del Prado on Via Argentina, Las Tinajas for the folk dancing show (food was good as well), and 1985. Manolo's is closest to the hotel, but unless you like sullen wait staff and average food, you can skip them altogether.

We didn't take any tech with us and others say the free WiFi at the hotel is spotty. If you want internet access, there are Internet Y Copias locations about every half block where you can get on the internet using their computers for 75 cents for 30 minutes.

All in all, Hotel Coral Suites was a good spot and we would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Panama.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our stay in Room 506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kunda Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week. We enjoyed our time there and it is a very convenient location in Panama City. The location on calle D is between 2 major Avenues, Via Argentina and Via Espana. There are many shops and restaurants found in either direction, including mini-marts and grocery stores.
The suite was large, but the bathroom was a bit small. Plenty of towels, but no face cloths. The kitchenette is very nicely equipped with a full sized fridge. Very comfortable king size bed.
The rooms either face the street, or look out onto an alley. Our room was at the back and our one window directly faced the window of the room across the alley. These rooms can be a bit dark, especially if you close the drapes for privacy. The crown moldings were a nice touch.
Roof top pool was very relaxing and a provided a nice break
The Wi-Fi seemed to work well, most of the time, if you stayed near the desk. No problem with wi-fi in the lobby or at the pool area.
Breakfast was great and there were small changes made each day so you could try different food and not have the exact same each morning. Great Panamanian coffee.
The only complaint was that the room smelled musty; it might be from the air conditioning unit and general humidity. Common areas were clean and well maintained, but our room never seemed to smell fresh, in spite of daily cleaning by housekeeping.
All the hotel staff were helpful and professional. The price was reasonable and an excellent value.
If visiting Panama City in the future, I would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moirabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I just stayed here two nights ago. We had a really large room with a full kitchen. The place was nice, good breakfast and the pool was on the roof which was fun. The area around the hotel was great. Lots of tasty restaurants and taxis everywhere.
I didn't think it was very clean. There were piles of hair in the corners and dirt. Not horrible but not great. Also, they didn't let us check in until after 2pm. The people at the front desk were "friendly" but not overly helpful.
Overall I would stay there again, but I think it's not much to talk about.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank planetWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 113 in Panama City
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#19 of 113 in Panama City
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#29 of 113 in Panama City
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.1 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Suites

Property: Hotel Coral Suites
Address: Apdo. 89-7736, Zona 9 | Calle D. El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Coral Suites Apart Hotel)
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Coral Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Coral Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Apart
Hotel Coral Suites Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing