We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centroamericano Hotel
Ranked #70 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

First day at the hotel, sheets were a little stained and there were hairs (probably from the previous guest) everywhere. On the sheets, pillows, the floor. Luckily the next day the cleaning lady came in and changed all the sheets so I enjoyed that night. Breakfast was poor. Internet wifi very fast. Staff were kind even though they didn't speak much English.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for writing us, we appreciate your comments, both positive and negative, they help us to improve and correct mistakes.
I am sorry that the room has not been suitable at your arrival, this situation really bothers us, and we will see that this doesn’t happen again.
We're sorry that the included breakfast we offer wasn’t enough, we are just implementing this service, so we have a lot to learn and improve, but likewise the restaurant offers a variety of dishes that you could have chosen if you wish to have something else.
We are glad you had a good stay at the hotel, hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search bar).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Centroamericano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Decent budget hotel with basic accommodations. Good for a one or two night stay in the city. Conveniently located - just a quick taxi ride to the downtown area. The walls are very thin, however, you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to you. Restaurant serves a good breakfast. Staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribbeanGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you, we appreciate all your comments, we work hard to provide the best service possible to our guest, and your criticism help us to improve every day, is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to serve you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Centroamericano during my first visit to Panama City in 2009. The Hotel staff is warm, friendly and helpful in all respects. I stayed at this Hotel for three weeks, and walked almost everywhere I went. What a way to REALLY visit Panama.

I want to add so much here, but space is at a premium. I enjoyed the Hotel so much, I returned a year later (2010) and stayed another three weeks. During this time much of the Hotel was under renovation, but the service and wonderful staff still made a great impression on me, and my stay was a tremendous experience.

The rooms were always cleaned everyday, seven days a week. The Hotel has it's own restaurant, with an adjacent bar on the ground floor. The food and drinks are reasonably priced and again, the staff was super friendly and excellent.

It's a sad note from here on, however. I am returning back to Panama City in September (2012). I found that due to the renovations (mentioned above), that the price had shot up from $33 a night to $55, with no discounts for lengthy stays. Since I will again be staying in Panama for three weeks, this price increased has forced me to find another hotel. I have booked the hotel across the street for one-half the price that Hotel Centroamericano now charges. Also, Hotel Centroamericano has a contract driver to shuttle guests to and from the airport, at about $40 a trip. The hotel across the street has free shuttle service 3 times a day to the airport.

I want to close this review on an up note! I loved staying at Hotel Centroamericano, for a total of six weeks over a two year period. The friendly staff and cleanliness of the Hotel speaks for itself. In all fairness, the current price of $55 is probably about right given the extensive renovations that have obviously taken place since my last visit two years ago.

I still highly recommend this hotel. It does depend upon what you are looking for, however. If price is a consideration, and if you are only staying for two or three nights, then Hotel Centroamericano is still a great value. For very lengthy stays, in excess of a few days, you might want to look around elsewhere if economy is your only consideration.

There is a leisurely atmosphere in this area of Panama, and Hotel Centroameriano is still in a prime location to get to know Panama in an older section of the city. Beautiful parks, shopping and other attractions are right there within walking distance from the Hotel. And, walking around this area is safe and relaxing, even during the evening hours.

On the bright side. I'll be staying just across the street in another hotel this time. But it will still be an opportunity to visit Hotel Centroamericano's restaurant and bar, and hopefully meet up again with the wonderful staff that operates these facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a frontal view room with balcony for the best view. Side rooms on the upper floors also hav...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hello, thank you very much for such positive comments, really, we are very pleased that we have caused such a good impression, that you has returned to stay with us, our mission is to provide the best treatment and service to our guests and we strive daily to achieve that, we are pleased that our clients appreciate it!.
Sorry to hear that you will no longer be staying with us because of rising prices, but as you mentioned we have made many improvements in facilities and services, and you will understand that as everyone we tried to move forward and improve, and appreciate your understanding.
As we mentioned also shuttle service to airport and back, this fee is standard in this type of service, because is a personal service at the time and date you want.
Again thank you for your good comments, and hopefully you can stay with us again, we would be delighted to see you, anyway we wish you a nice stay on your return to Panama City and hope you enjoy this beautiful country.
You can follow us on our facebook page (Hotel Centroamericano in the search).
Thank you very much and greetings!
Andrea Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not a bad deal for the price. Hotel is very basic.

+ Price
Location
Location
Price

- Thin door so you hear everything going on in hall with maids
Maids do not honor do not disturb request
Shower a bit moldy

All in all though for the price and the location, this is a good basic hotel. The central business district and board walk are nearby along scenic Ave Balboa.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalmity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, hope you had a good stay at the hotel. We regret the inconvenience with the maids, we try to give you the best attention possible to our guests, but we can not always control this, thanks to your comments we can improve.
You can follow us on our facebook page (Hotel Centroamericano in the search).
Thank you very much and greetings!
Andrea Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for just one night when arriving into panama. Just needed somewhere cheap-ish, but clean quiet and hospitable to get a good first nights sleep to mitigate the jetlag. This hotel was all of the above. The receptionists were helpful despite not speaking english and us not speaking spanish and managed to direct us to a taxi / explain the wifi password as needed. The room was large, clean and the bed comfy, large tv, safe etc. There was no bottle of water in the room which might've been nice. We had a cooked breakfast for $5 which was fine but could've been cheaper or had more too it. Taxi was $25 usd from the airport.

If you just need a good clean place for a night or two, don't need loads of facilities then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Hello, we are thrilled to receive such positive comments like yours, we always work on providing the best service to our guests and to provide them the best possible experience at the hotel.
Thank you very much for the critics, we usually have water bottles in the rooms, sorry for the inconvenience.
We also have private transport service for the next time you come back!
We hope you return soon, we will be happy to receive you.
You can follow us on our facebook page (Hotel centroamericano in the search).
Greetings!
Andrea Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

According to the other comments I read in tripadvisor the hotel has probably been renovated. It was a pleasant surprise to me. In this category the best Hotel I have stayed at in Panama regarding the rooms. Bathrooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Wardrobe, Safe And Tv are there. Staff mostly cannot speak english. Some understand what you want though.It is Possible to walk to the New town. For everything else, you will Need a Taxi which are only a few Dollars except for the Way to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MareikeW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you very much, we appreciate all your positive comments, we strive to provide the best service possible, and is very important to us that our customers recognize the work and be satisfied.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Panama, and come back soon we will be happy to serve you again.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I went to Panama city with my couple for around 4 days. This hotel is excellent, if only you're going to sleep. The room was comfortable, the hotel was very cleaner and quite.
If you want, you can pay to be picked up at the airport.
The Hotel have restaurant and you could ask service to the room.
The price is excellent. The place where is the hotel isn't the best but it's near to the Coastal Beltway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcpanama, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Centroamericano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you very much for all your positive comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that you liked our services, our mission is to provide the best possible service to all our guests.
We expect you to return soon, we will be happy to receive you.
You can follow us on our Facebook page, (HotelCentroamericano, in the search).
Thank you very much and regards!
Andrea Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 115 in Panama City
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Panama Princess
Sercotel Panama Princess
#57 of 115 in Panama City
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#98 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#81 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centroamericano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centroamericano Hotel

Address: Ave. Ecuador 4-24 Esq. Justo Arosemena | La Exposición, Panama City 16-03993, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $33 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centroamericano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On business or leisure trip, here you will find a warm atmosphere, with all the facilities you need, also has the best location just minutes from the most important commercial areas of Panama, with easy transportation 24 hours. We are a Pet Friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centroamericano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centroamericano Hotel Panama City
Centroamericano Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing